Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Best Spam Ever


AH-Tina
03-30-2002, 10:03 AM
This just in...

Dear colleagues,

We are a Russian company based in Moscow www.kotik.ru, that sell data bases of companies' e-mail adresses. We also send mass advertisement e-mails via telephone lines and through different companies' internet access cards. Currently, we have problems with the hosting of our site in Moscow. We used to pay $15 a month for hosting in Moscow.
Now we are ready to pay double the price or even more for a reliable hosting abroad. So that our irritated clients' letters won't be able to close down our hosting.
If you are ready to provide us with a hosting please inform us about additional conditions and send us your IP address, so that we can upload our site (1-5 MB). We garantee monthly payments.

Sincerily,
Andrey Proshutinsky
The director of www.kotik.ru

diederik
03-30-2002, 10:51 AM
lol :D

mindboggle
03-30-2002, 11:06 AM
Originally posted by AffordableHost
Currently, we have problems with the hosting of our site in Moscow.
Hmm, I wonder why... :D

avara
03-30-2002, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by mindboggle

Hmm, I wonder why... :D

ROFLMAO. :rolleyes:

I guess they forgot to read the TOS/AUP.... ;)

cperciva
03-30-2002, 11:26 AM
Speaking of spam... I just got some html spam which had in the noframes tag "Please use Microsoft Outlook Express!".

Somehow I don't think many people are going to switch to LookOut! because they want to be able to read spam.

Martie
03-30-2002, 12:12 PM
We had a rash of those back in January :eek:

Hi, we are looking for an ISP that will host our websites that are promoted via spam mail.

We will pay very good money for the trouble of dealing with the spam complaints and keeping us online as long as possible.

Amazing isnt it....the lengths some people will go to?

avara
03-30-2002, 01:21 PM
I just remembered... I got about 3 copies of that email as well.

Jason Ellis
03-30-2002, 04:45 PM
On March 19, I received the funniest spam message I've ever received in my life. I saved it just in case:


From: webmaster@ocn.com <webmaster@ocn.com>
To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Date: Tuesday, March 19, 2002 2:31:38 PM
Subject: Aliens or Time Travelers PLEASE HELP!

If you are a time traveler or alien disguised as human, I need your help!

My entire life and health have been altered and messed with. I have suffered tremendously and am now dying! The type of time travel which I think is most suited to my situation is having my consciousness transferred to my younger self using either the carbon copy replica method, or brain snapshot device. Please explain your method and how safe it is. I am in great danger and need this immediately.

If you are in possession of the said technology please send a (SEPARATE) email to me at: IneedTimeTravel@aol.com

Thanks


Makes you wonder - did he ever get his help?

I received this at 4 separate addresses on 3 different domain names, so it was quite clearly spam.

Amazing.

insiderhosting
03-30-2002, 05:00 PM
Well I got some good spam as well

FROM: HAJIA MARIAM ABACHA


A CRY FOR HELP.

Following the sudden death of my husband, Late General

Sanni Abacha, the former head of state of the federal
republic of Nigeria in June 1998, I have been thrown
into a state of utter confusion, frustration and
hopelessness by the present civilian administration.
Security agents in Nigeria have subjected me to
physical and psychological tortures. One of my sons is

still under detention as well as arraigned before a
Federal High Court of Nigeria for an offence he did
not commit. As a widow, that is so traumatized, I have

lost hope and confidence in anybody within the
country.

You must have heard over the media and the Internet on

the recovery of various huge sums of money deposited
by my late husband in different security firms abroad.

Some willingly gave up their secrets and disclosed our

money confidently lodged with them and many
out-rightly declined lodgment. In fact the total sum
discovered by the Government so far is to the tune of
$700 million dollars. And the government has not
relented in its efforts to completely bring my
children and I back to square one. This is why I
deemed it necessary to act fast by contacting you for
assistance. Furthermore, due to the
security network placed on my daily activities I
cannot afford to visit any embassy for a possible
solution, hence I have decided to contact you and I do

hope you will be the person God is going to use to
rescue my family and I.

I have deposited the sum of $49,500,000.00(Forty Nine
Million Five Hundred Thousand United states Dollars) in a
security firm abroad whose name is withheld for
now for security reasons until we fully commence
communication. I shall be grateful if you could
receive this fund on my behalf for safekeeping.
Adequate arrangement has been made for receiving the
fund. It is totally risk free. This arrangement is
known to you, my son(MUSTAPHA ABACHA) and I
only. This means that my son will deal directly
with you as surveillance is on me.

You are entitled to 10%,negotiable though, of the total
sum. I hope to
invest a proportion of the balance in your country.

Please forward your private Telephone and Fax numbers
so that we can fully commence communication
immediately. I will quite appreciate, if you accept my

proposal in good faith. I look forward to receiving
your urgent reply to my plea.

Yours truly,
HAJIA MARIAM ABACHA.

akashik
03-30-2002, 05:00 PM
that's just plain weird... even from where I sit.

Regarding the spam guys though.. I remember that one. The thing people may have missed is that they thoughtfully request an IP and be allowed to upload their site before they actually pay for anything...

Greg Moore

AH-Tina
03-30-2002, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by akashik
that's just plain weird... even from where I sit.

Regarding the spam guys though.. I remember that one. The thing people may have missed is that they thoughtfully request an IP and be allowed to upload their site before they actually pay for anything...

Greg Moore


...but they 'garantee' payment! Are you saying a spammers word is no good??? :eek:

--Tina

avara
03-30-2002, 05:15 PM
More spam just in:

"Hello (Forward this email to related person)

We are extremely happy to announce that we http://webhostingdirectory.com is now fully functional and ready to compete our competitors, You should visit our web site at http://webhostingdirectory.com.

We have several features and several opportunities for advertisers you can read about our services on our web site http://webhostingdirectory.com.

Thank you.
Webhostingdirectory.com"

It was labelled with "ADV", and sent to 2 addresses of my hosting company. So I guess this is "friendly" spam... But still it's spam (IMHO).

mdrussell
03-30-2002, 05:51 PM
Originally posted by avara
More spam just in:

"Hello (Forward this email to related person)

We are extremely happy to announce that we http://webhostingdirectory.com is now fully functional and ready to compete our competitors, You should visit our web site at http://webhostingdirectory.com.

We have several features and several opportunities for advertisers you can read about our services on our web site http://webhostingdirectory.com.

Thank you.
Webhostingdirectory.com"

It was labelled with "ADV", and sent to 2 addresses of my hosting company. So I guess this is "friendly" spam... But still it's spam (IMHO).

We got this too. I sent them a witty reply.