Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : The Worst Host EVER!


UktopHost
03-28-2002, 07:39 PM
Just a little note for anyone thinking about 49 Pence.com & co.uk.

We had dealings last summer with them and had to threaten legal action PLEASE READ THIS ITS QUITE FUNNY!.

One of our accounts half uploaded a Green Day MP3 I spotted this and stopped the transfer of MP3.

Mr Butler the single employee of 49 Pence suspended the account said he would contact a "Paul Fuller QC" over copyrighted material. We telephoned Temple Bar in London and asked a solicitor friend to check the legal representatives register for details on "Paul Fuller" he told us he did not exist anywhere in the UK. We put this to 49 Pence and he told that Paul Fuller did exist and worked in his town of Sevenoaks in Kent. So we telephoned every solicitor within 5 miles on Sevenoaks and again they had never heard of any Paul Fuller QC. We then asked 49 Pence for this Paul Fuller’s office number, 49 Pence refused and he told us even if we rang the number and did not even say a work 49 PENCE WOULD HAVE TO PAY LEGAL FEES!! LOL!. Anyway we proved that his petty threat of legal action was false and we turned the tables on him because he was now breaking the law.

We then asked him about his "About Us" page which you can still read on www.49pence.co.uk. He states that 49 Pence has done work for BA. We asked him about this and he confirmed that yes 49 Pence had in fact done work for BA in 1996. So we telephoned BA and asked them to check records surprise surprise no record.

By this point we were getting sick of 49 Pence so we decided to telephone them. Whilst speaking on the phone we asked if the phone he was on was a Mobile "No" we were told. After an hour and a half call we spent £25 on a MOBILE PHONE CALL we later found out!.

With still nothing resolved and 49 Pence now deleting our account and KEEPING OUR PAID DOMAIN NAME we felt we should ring a telephone number we found on another one of Mr Butlers web-sites. We were shocked to find ourselves speaking to his MUM & DAD who told us "Ed works from his bedroom, he has a mobile phone and we keep out of his business he is 18 now and makes his own decisions". So if he worked for BA in 1996 he was only 13!!! LOL!

The next morning we get a very subdued E-Mail from 49 Pence confirming our domain would be released - We think mummy and daddy had a go to be honest ;).

We got no refund and are shocked to see them still trading under false pretences.

So if you were thinking of joining them and have managed to read all this I think we may have giving you something to think about.

OTG_Magus
03-28-2002, 07:49 PM
I don't think that site is up anymore =).

Kalamazoo
03-28-2002, 07:55 PM
it's up http://www.49pence.co.uk :)

OTG_Magus
03-28-2002, 08:05 PM
I still cant go to it

avara
03-28-2002, 08:56 PM
Originally posted by OTG_Magus
I still cant go to it

Hmm, it's working fine for me. Did you try clearing your browser chache just in case IE is messing up? Also note that vBulletin might have attached a , or . to the end of the URL in the first post. :)

NodeHost
03-29-2002, 04:25 AM
working for us.....

NumLock
03-29-2002, 04:44 AM
works

nmluan
03-29-2002, 04:52 AM
http://www.49pence.co.uk/equipment.asp

do you notice any thing funny on the upper picture's upper left corner? :D

ML

NodeHost
03-29-2002, 05:11 AM
LOL

Now that is classic! State of the art technology, but can't crop a picture. Oh well, I have made mistakes before also.....

acidHL
03-29-2002, 05:50 AM
I just went to this site and the first thing I saw was, and I quote:

Welcome to 49pence.com

Check this great web hosting offer out!
- UNLIMITED space
- UNLIMITED transfer
- UNLIMITED POP3s
- Control panel
- £74.99 per year
- Find out more on our packages page


That translates to about $9 US a month for the yanks on here...

Time to pay a visit to unlimband.com I think!

jimb
03-29-2002, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by acidHL

Time to pay a visit to unlimband.com I think!

LOL, this unlimited company is a joke. The next time we update he will be on the lists. Thanks to however sent me the link.


Jim

UktopHost
03-29-2002, 03:37 PM
One thing I forgot to mention was....

The about us page he uses with all the rubbish about him working for BA is in fact a direct copy from www.fasthosts.co.uk who he used to and may still do resell for.

We contacted Fast Hosts to tell them that one of their resellers we using false information and we got this answer:

"The information resellers use on their own web-sites have nothing to do with us".

Even though its copied from them!!.

49 Pence claimed that as they resold for Fast Hosts they could copy ANY information from fasthosts.com as they liked and use it.

So a little test for you all and be honest. If you were a little bit of a newbie looking for a web-host and you read 49 Pence.co.uk about us page would you think it was refering to 49 Pence and not someone else. I think everyone would and for this reason 49 Pence are breaking the law as they are falsely advertising.

When we phoned BA last year they were actually VERY! interested in what 49 Pence stated and were going to look into to it but thus far we have not heard.

MilkMan
03-29-2002, 03:50 PM
Nice pic :)

Anyone read those testimonials?

(We have changed the names of our customers for privacy reasons.)

LOL

sickof
03-29-2002, 04:30 PM
The worst host I have ever had is Aletia.
Their servers are so overloaded, and they completely ignore support and cancellation requests.
They even have Hosturbo beat for worst host.

Sickofaletia

.::Raymond::
03-29-2002, 10:56 PM
wow what an offer??
I think he's a joke:blush:

____________________________
http://www.tulinonline.com

Snakebite
03-29-2002, 11:05 PM
Originally posted by sickofaletia
The worst host I have ever had is Aletia.
Their servers are so overloaded, and they completely ignore support and cancellation requests.
They even have Hosturbo beat for worst host.

Sickofaletia


and how about over 16 hours of no email for everyone? nice. happy easter to them too!!!

bitserve
03-30-2002, 03:16 AM
Site seems to be down for me too.

H2
03-30-2002, 05:57 AM
Look at attachment - / 666 / bitserve / host is down /
:D

bitserve
03-31-2002, 04:34 AM
Originally posted by H2
Look at attachment - / 666 / bitserve / host is down /
:D

That's funny. :)

GordonH
03-31-2002, 08:39 AM
Hello
Just to point out a mistake made by 49 pence:

A QC is a senior barrister ( a special lawyer who represents clients in court only)

Barristers are not allowed to give legal advice.
They can be struck off if they do, so obviously this was an attempt to wow you into submission by using a heavyweight title.

Barristers cost lots of money and QC's even more (£1000 per day would be normal I think).

Gordon

UktopHost
04-01-2002, 07:07 PM
Gordon,

How right you are and its another stupid mistake on his behalf.

What really got us was the fact he still claimed that this Paul Fuller existed even when we rang TEMPLE BAR! at one point he in fact asked us "How would a pub know" !!! Come on now LOL we have all our conversations saved with him and we often read them for a chuckle.

TFD1
11-16-2009, 06:09 PM
I thought this thread deserved a bump.

Fair play to Ed for now making his fortune, but I remember the good old days when Ed was selling hosting from his mum's house.

You'd ring up with a problem and go "Hi Ed" and he'd pretend to be somebody else so the company looked bigger - "I'll ask Ed but he's in a meeting" etc.

Those were the days eh?

Schmitty
11-16-2009, 07:51 PM
What a joke

wies
11-16-2009, 07:52 PM
nice to be wasting time on something that does not work

Schmitty
11-16-2009, 07:55 PM
Hopefully they had no guarenteed downtime in their tos.