Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Anyone tried hosting24-7.com?


haru
12-27-2000, 03:48 AM
I found hosting24-7.com seems to have good services just by looking at their site, but I don't know the truth. Please tell me if you ever tried their services.

Rovis
12-30-2000, 01:55 AM
We recently tried this hosting co. and so far we are disatisfied. Doing some research on them, we found out that the owner/operator is a student in an Eastern US city, and the advertising on his site is greatly exagerated. No "live" tech support, the toll free nr. listed rings w/o anybody answering, other nr. listed are either directing to another business, or permanently busy. We tried to contact them with 3 emails, received one reply far from professional standards.

haru
12-30-2000, 03:45 AM
I got it. Thank you for your suggestion. Actually, I signed up with their 10 day trial and got poor support, too. Fortunately, I didn't pay for it though.

From my past experience, http://webaxxs.net or http://olm.net were good. They have real support team 24-7 and 2 of my sites are still on their server. ***** was horrible. Do you have other experience?

Rovis
12-30-2000, 04:03 AM
Thanks for your reply. We just signed up with veoweb.net

Try a search on hostsearch about them, lot's of good reviews.

What's interesting though, their own domain is hosted on a leased server from vdi.net, while our server is located on a alabanza.com server...
I think I read somewhere that they purchased/leased a new server... could be this alabanza.com server.

I wrote them about this, even if pinging the two servers gives me similar time results.

All the best,

BC
12-30-2000, 05:55 AM
Rovis, that's correct. Quite a few hosts (including VeoWeb) now have servers located at both Alabanza and VDI (mainly for business reasons, as well as diversification)

davidsmith
12-30-2000, 02:19 PM
Originally posted by haru
From my past experience, http://webaxxs.net or http://olm.net were good. They have real support team 24-7 and 2 of my sites are still on their server. [/B]

okay....I'll bite. If you had good experiences with these two hosts, why are you still looking?

haru
12-30-2000, 05:07 PM
This industry is moving so fast and I was just browsing through hosting companies to find out other option. You know there are tons of these companies and we really need to compare, right?

Then I found hosting24-7.com hosting fees are extremely low with 24 hour support(This is not true). You know if the services are same, lower price is better since that makes us earn more profit.

I'm in Japan planning to start web design services and the hosting fees in Japan is high.

But from this experience, I found the quality and support have priolity.

Rovis
12-30-2000, 08:46 PM
I asked veoweb about this issue with different servers, and per their reply, in less then 24 h., "they purchased a new server from vdi, (that's where their site is), and use some older alabanza server for some clients". Now, I'm sure there should be more of a business decision behind it, since I read that Alabanza raised their prices drastically recently.

From our testing, the speed on both servers is similar, and if veoweb continues with this kind of quick support/service, we have nothing to object to.

multipleimage
07-21-2001, 03:43 AM
i know of some guys who use them and they dont have that many problems.

AL-Benjamin
07-21-2001, 06:19 PM
they wouldn't let me sign up because i apparantly signed up with mis information.

And the mis information?

apparantly the city of sheffield in the UK doesn't exist. Strange. Where do i live then?;)

Jburnley
07-21-2001, 08:38 PM
thebyp2

I just checked and the reason why your aplication was not accepted was not because we do not know were sheffield is:confused: (side note: a cousin of mine actually attended the university there), but because you used a non-existent domain name and we could not register an IP address when you submitted your application.

It is unfortunate, but we do this checks as an attempt to weed out potential violators of the system (not saying you are one of them). We are an Equal Opportunity Webhost and do not discriminate on the basis of city or country:cool:

Just thought I'd clear up thee air

AL-Benjamin
07-21-2001, 08:49 PM
getting a bit confussed now.

sombody pm'd me saying this was why i was declined.

oh well no biggy. i think i'm going to plump for a ded server anyway so it probably saved us both a bit of time anyway:)

Go hosting24-7.com !