Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Any opinions on phpBBHacks.com hosting?


cbob
03-19-2002, 11:01 AM
I haven't found any comments here yet on this relatively new host. They offer hard-to-believe prices, lots of features and optional free installation of a phpBB2 forum.

What do you think -- too good to be true?

http://www.phpbbhacks.com/hosting/

I just ran a test on them at alertsite.com -- it repeatedly took their server more than 10 seconds to respond -- I hope for them that that's a temporary problem -- it takes my current host's servers less than 1/5 of a second to respond.

Mirage-ISP
03-19-2002, 12:19 PM
First time am hearing that froggy hosts. I'll go check them out. And do a test from here.

cbob
03-19-2002, 02:59 PM
I just received a private message from brand new user, VTideal (it was his very first message).

I find it extremely offensive that he would send me spam through WHT.

Ideal Hosting Ideas
Hello,

I noticed your message and might have a solution. Our company is www.ValueTech.com and we help our clients grow their business while providing quality web-hosting at an ideal price. How do you think it will help your business if you can talk to a real person at any time in both sales and technical department? What do we have to earn your business?

Darrick
Darrick, there is nothing that you can do to earn my business because I am not in the market for a new hosting company. And even if I were looking for a new hosting company, the last place I would want to do business with would be a company that has so little respect for me that it sends me spam. Please remove me from any mailing lists that you've created and stop harvesting email addresses from WHT.

SoftWareRevue
03-19-2002, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by cbob
. . . . . harvesting email addresses from WHT. :angry: I hate when that happens. :angry:

Chicken
03-19-2002, 08:15 PM
Well, to be honest, it sounds like you are looking for phpbb hosting, and you have to understand that this community is full of others looking for hosting or offering hosting. If you post an offer, you should expect (or at least not be surprised) if a members asks about the offer. Likewise, if you seem interested in hosting, you shouldn't be all that surprised if a comminty member offers you something or wants to tell you about their services.

If it is a problem, we ban them, but I'm not sure they were doing something other than trying to see if you were interested in something you (they thought) were asking about.

cbob
03-19-2002, 08:41 PM
Originally posted by Chicken
If it is a problem, we ban them, but I'm not sure they were doing something other than trying to see if you were interested in something you (they thought) were asking about.
Thanks, but all I did was ask if someone here had any experience with a specific new hosting company. I didn't post any offers or say that I was shopping for any offers. I'm sure I'm not the only one here who likes to learn about new Web hosts just for future reference.

Anyway, I asked a specific question about one specific new Web host. The private message that ValueTech.com sent me completely ignored the question that I had asked about that other host. In fact, ValueTech.com's message sounded like the person who wrote it hadn't even bothered to read my question. Honestly, if you re-read the PM that I received, it doesn't even make me any offers -- it is so generic that ValueTech.com could send it to anyone, in response to any message left in any of these forums, and they could later claim that they were just trying to be helpful.

You probably disagree, but to me, when a company totally ignores the question that I posted and instead sends me a generic PM, totally unsolicited, to push their own services on me, that's spam.