Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : AIT Class Action Lawsuit???


Urantian
03-18-2002, 05:11 PM
I received an email message from an account at Lawyer.com (apparently) today, informing me of a class action lawsuit in the works for AIT. It warned me that I had two weeks to move all my business and domains off AIT, to prevent me from experiencing a lot of trouble with them.

The sender claims that AIT is blocking traffic between Lawyer.com and AITs system, as an attempt to block communications. The only contact method given in the message is a fax number.

The web site for Lawyer.com is unreachable, even though the domain name is registered. I'm attempting to verify whether this is a valid message. The return-path shows Lawyer.com, but I know this can be hacked, too, by someone wanting to cause a huge inconvenience, and lost revenue.

Can someone confirm or whether this is real or a hoax?? In case there really is a problem, I don't want to ask AIT about it now.

Thanks!

ebo
03-18-2002, 05:26 PM
Did it 'recommend' another company to move the accounts to?

If so...

DanielP
03-18-2002, 05:26 PM
I highly and seriously doubt its real, sending out something like that would be means to have a case thrown out of court, espically if lawyer.com is the one sueing them.

decebal
03-18-2002, 05:45 PM
I don't think so either that it's a real message. Also if it is it could be a very interesting case.

An advice. Stand by in case ...

And please keep us informed !
:o

AlexNguyen
03-18-2002, 06:49 PM
If I remember correctly, lawyer.com is one of those vanity addresses you can use for free from mail.com. It's highly doubtful the message you got is legitimate.

Urantian
03-18-2002, 07:30 PM
A vanity address from mail.com?!?!? Sure enough... I checked there and see that someone must have set up a free mail box, making it appear that it was an actual notification from some law firm. I'm glad I asked here.

Now I wonder whether I should make sure AIT knows about it. Since this spammer managed to get my administrative email address, they probably got others, too... probably many of AIT's customers. This stuff really makes me sick. :angry:

AcuNett
03-19-2002, 12:12 AM
If ATI had really blocked lawyer.com, you would never have received that email ;)

Neo3Net
03-20-2002, 10:40 PM
Its def. fake but make sure to send an email back with a threat. (Pretend your a lawyer) hehe :D :D

loribo
03-24-2002, 08:59 AM
I received the same fax/email.

I wouldn't take it to lightly though. Hoax or not, I think AIT has some serious problems coming there way. I have been with them for years and as soon as I get to my fax machine on Monday I will be faxing them a cancellation for my last account I have with them.

I have received other emails from individuals I don't even know talking about the same thing. None of them have been trying to sell me hosting elsewhere either. Just 'beware' type messages.

I can not wait to be free of AIT. Right now I am trying to sort out some email issues with them. Over the last 2 months I have moved 20 or so accounts I had with them to another host. At the moment, I can not send email from any of my new server accounts to my AIT account. It doesn't bounce back, but it never gets delivered either. I have had other customers where I host now that are on the same server try to send email to my AIT account as well and it never gets delivered. It seems to me that AIT has blocked incoming mail from my new host. I have tested this by sending mail to and from many accounts and the only ones that do not get through are mails from my new host to AIT.

Coincidence???

wolfdak
04-19-2004, 10:39 PM
I had a problem with AIT Domains November 2002. Their screwup cost me 10s of thousands of dollars when they claim I did not renew a domain name. I know of other folks that lost domain names due to AIT Domains. It would not surprise me if they are being sued.

To top this off the upper level management refused to return my phone calls. So they are more than willing to cowardly hide behind their electronics.

My suspicion is they use this type of action to sell domain names for a profit to companies offereing to buy domain names.

If this class action is just a nasty rumor it is something that needs to be considered against AIT Domains.

grace5
04-19-2004, 10:43 PM
Real lawyers use cert. mail for stuff like that not email
:)

Techark
04-19-2004, 10:53 PM
I only hope someone is suing them in a class action, if any company deserves it is them.

sawbuck
04-20-2004, 01:00 AM
Techark-
Would like to know the reason why you see AIT as a company that should be sued?

Techark
04-20-2004, 01:11 AM
Because I had dealings with them, I started in this business as an AIT reseller back in 1998, long story short I had to end up canceling my credit cards to stop them billing me long after I was gone from them. Do a search on here for AIT and you see many many other horror stories of this company and their shady dealings witn customers.

hostito
04-20-2004, 10:20 AM
It is so hard to trust what any email may say now a days ;) LOL

did they provide a valid phone number for you to call and find out more? Usually class action law suits announcements are sent by regular postal mail.

I agree with those here who think it is bogus :)