
|
View Full Version : Hosting Spam
Fiber 03-15-2002, 02:35 AM I got this in my e-mail, and it was worth a laugh.
Domains for only $30 / Year
24/7 LIVE Customer Support
FREE Domain Transfers
Ultra Fast Redundant Hosting
30 MB of Space
500 MB of Bandwidth / Month
5 POP Email Accounts
Email Aliasing and Forwarding
Unlimited FTP Access
CGI, FrontPage, PHP, SSI
Easy, Inexpensive Upgrades
Heh.
Yeah.. last week or so I've had a few morons try to sell me hosting and related stuff via spam..
I got several with this at the foot,
============================================
NOTE: Seanic-Promotions.Net does not send or support unsolicited email,
you are receiving this E-mail because you are either our customer,
our affiliate's customer or you have expressed interest on our
services in the past.
To be removed from our mailling list, please click on the link below
http://march.seanic-promotions.net/system/listremove?email=dns@telaserv.com&remove
============================================
***holes!
Then some web host directory I've never heard of says I have to receive this mail because my account must be updated [what account?]..
-----------------------------------------
You are receiving this Service Announcement to notify you of important
changes to your Web1001-powered e-mail account. You cannot unsubscribe
from Service Announcements, as they are necessary for keeping you informed
about changes to your account.
---------------------------------------------
that one you just posted offering us free web hosting.. <?>
and I got 11 of these to different aliases...
----------
To the attention of the Chief Executive Officer,
We are writing to you because you run a web hosting business and therefore may be interested in a partnership between our two companies.
-----------
There's more, I'm sure you all have them.. such a waste of time..
bitserve 03-15-2002, 06:36 AM Yesterday, I sent a spam complaint to a sender's ISP and to their web site host, and here's what I got back from the web site host:
---
I wish I could help you but we do not controll the Internet traffic on others network. As you may noticed the spam was sent by Internet Hellas network [62.1.146.127] which has no relation with our network, ******* ****. After all, I cannot prevent each individual from advertising its web site using spam. I hope in your understanding.
---
So of course, I forwarded the email to mail-abuse.org. It's so easy to have them added to the RBL, when they've sent you a nice email like that to submit.
I replied with:
---
In the US, it is common practice for a web hosting provider to have policies preventing their customers from advertising their web sites with spam.
What's to stop your web hosting customer from continuing to abuse other people's mail servers to send spam, unless the problem is stopped at the source?
Well, I have forwarded your email to mail-abuse.org so that your network can be added to the Realtime Blackhole List:
http://www.mail-abuse.org/rbl/
I would suggest that you add an abuse@internetq.net email address, as this is also common practice.
Thank you for your response.
freakysid 03-16-2002, 08:04 AM Originally posted by bitserve
I would suggest that you add an abuse@internetq.net email address, as this is also common practice.
RFC 2142 actually.
http://www.rfc.net/rfc2142.html
bitserve 03-17-2002, 04:17 AM Felix, we got that same spam from web1001 directory. We replied, asking them to remove us from their mailing list, even if it meant removing us from their stupid directory, that they added us to.
Got an autoresponse back:
Dear user,
Thank you for submitting your query. We have now launched a 'Contact Us' form
to enable customers greater control over their queries and enable web1001.com
to respond to you more efficiently and quickly.
Please submit all queries (including outstanding issues) at
So, I sent spam complaints to ISPs.
Roy@ENHOST 03-17-2002, 09:22 AM Same here I receive many emails from them too,including the hosting one too. The weird thing is they always send to aliases instead of your real email. Wonder why they did that.
Originally posted by bitserve
Felix, we got that same spam from web1001 directory. We replied, asking them to remove us from their mailing list, even if it meant removing us from their stupid directory, that they added us to.
Got an autoresponse back:
So, I sent spam complaints to ISPs.
murat 03-17-2002, 04:01 PM i allways get spam from www.lunarpages.com :mad:
Standard Hosting is as low as $7.95 per month, and includes:
* 100 MB Hosting
* 5 Pop Emails
* SSI
* FrontPage
* Content, Promo
* Your-Name.com
* Your own CGI-BIN
* 24/7 FTP Access
* Plus MUCH MORE!
sum1 was going on 'bout that at freewebspace.net
Then Max from lunarpages said it was they had subscribed to sumthing were they can send out offers:rolleyes:
akashik 03-17-2002, 10:02 PM Originally posted by felix220
Then some web host directory I've never heard of says I have to receive this mail because my account must be updated [what account?]..
-----------------------------------------
You are receiving this Service Announcement to notify you of important
changes to your Web1001-.......
Heh, got this one myself a few days ago. On occasion a webhost directory will contact us if the info is out of date (I don't remember half the dirs I submitted too that long ago). Anyway, went to check this out and saw a page with a login and a collection of 'advertise here' banner blanks. That looked fishy so I looked further into the site and saw those blanks all over the place. That's the point at which I canned the e-mail and didn't bother to 'update'
If they'd e-mailed about an opportunity to add our site to their new directory I might have gone for it, but lie to me, and you get no business.
Greg Moore
|