Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Spam from www-goto


jcwebii
05-02-2005, 02:40 PM
In the last few days I have been receiving several emails from "web's biggest directory" (www-goto.com) asking the domain owner to "update" their "free" listing. Several of our customers have also received these emails and asked us about them.

Just wanted to forewarn everyone, because I am pretty sure these are unsolicited emails and they are a little tricky for novice web site owners. They draw the person in on the first page to "update the listing" and then a series of questionable "options" appear on the next steps. One is a subscription to some sort of list, and the rest are all some type of paid services. I attempted this on one of my domains to test it, rejecting to select any list subscription or paid service. I then received another email reply stating my "listing has been updated" but please click the "update ok" link to proceed.

I am quite wary of the "update ok" link and am almost certain this type of thing would subscribe the domain owner to somethig they don't want. So forewarn your customers/domain owners.

Disgruntled
05-02-2005, 03:06 PM
Traceroute on www-goto.com (which is not the same as goto.com) shows DNS of 202.14.69.2. 202.14.69.2 is registered with APNIC:

inetnum: 202.14.69.0 - 202.14.69.255
netname: MADGENSITES
descr: Madgen Solutions Pvt. Ltd. provides collocation services, shared
descr: hosting services, private servers hosting, mailing solutions and
descr: mailservers and is located in Malviya Nagar, New Delhi, India
country: IN
admin-c: HM339-AP
tech-c: HM339-AP
remarks: send all spam and abuse reports to abuse@madgen.com

95 Degrees
05-17-2005, 12:19 AM
Same here. been getting a lot of unsolicited mail also from them. Major pain.

Disgruntled
05-18-2005, 05:25 PM
Traceroute shows they're still at 202.14.69.2 hosted by madgen.com.
Since that is obviously an unscrupulous host, you may want to include complaint to their upstream estelcom.com

FanCube
05-19-2005, 03:58 AM
I have been getting tons of "update your listing" mails from different so called webdirectories, this is spam and should be ignored.

gordypordy
05-20-2005, 01:44 PM
Every domain I registered and added on my server has been receiving junk from goto directory for almost a year now !!

Im not sure how they are harvesting the e-mails or the data, because they seem to be including genuine headers and meta information from other search companies, but are sending the 'renewals' out to generic e-mail addresses.

I've found headers and meta information in the e-mails from them which is identical with info I have given on genuine search engines, but the e-mails are the problem, which usually always are addressed to info@yourdomain .

Obviously the way to reduce such spam is NOT to use a 'catch-all' system for your mailbox, but use named mail accounts instead, and then set your mail to bounce everything that is not sent to a named account. When naming your accounts, try NOT to use the common generic terms like info, sales, webmaster, customerservice, etc ., but use less obvious terms.

I have found that this reduces spam !!

Disgruntled
05-20-2005, 02:10 PM
My whois data is privacy protected. I do not receive these spams.

Disgruntled
05-20-2005, 02:18 PM
When I had combined registry and hosting through Yahoo every domain had a core address of admin@domainname which forwarded to the Yahoo address. You could create and destroy other addresses, but admin was not disposible. So if a spammer decided to use admin, there was no getting away from the spam. Yahoo would normally put it into the Bulk folder, but it would never be a spam-free account again.