Dave Zan
04-28-2005, 11:22 AM
An old problem rears its ugly head once more:
http://news.com.com/2100-7349_3-5686764.html
http://news.com.com/2100-7349_3-5686764.html
![]() | View Full Version : Scheme preys on people who mistype 'Google.com' Dave Zan 04-28-2005, 11:22 AM An old problem rears its ugly head once more: http://news.com.com/2100-7349_3-5686764.html dmaven 04-28-2005, 12:03 PM Yep, I read the same article. Scammers everywhere DevilDog 04-28-2005, 05:30 PM What a bunch of dorks. If you're going to use a misspelling of a name you could come up with a better idea than messing up somebody's computer. Jeffreyw 04-28-2005, 09:52 PM The internet should be stopped. Scammers, cheaters, criminals are growing because of the presence of the internet. Even people who are not inclined to criminal activity are lured to become scammers...it's all because of the internet. Internet should be stopped. :D Disgruntled 04-30-2005, 04:58 AM Here is whois data on the domain that was downloading the worm. It looks like they were using Google to host the site: Whois-output DOMAIN googkle.com Registrar: JOKER.COM Status: lock Handle: 376303 Owner Name: Sergey Gridasov Organization: Email: umsoft@yahoo.com Address: Salnevostochny pr., d46, kv410 Postalcode/City: 193230 St.-Petersburg State: Spb Country: RU Administrative contact: umsoft@yahoo.com#1 Technical contact: umsoft@yahoo.com#1 Billing contact: umsoft@yahoo.com#3 Nameserver: ns2.google.com ns1.google.com created by core: 2000-12-30 09:29:18 modified by JORE-1: 2005-04-28 18:56:16 db-updated: 2005-04-30 08:21:02 expires: 2005-12-30 09:29:18 Disgruntled 04-30-2005, 05:36 AM Although it doesn't look like Google does webhosting. Maybe this was an arrangement between Joker.com and google.com to prevent the domain name owner from further misusing it. |