
|
View Full Version : SolutionRoad.com copied our site!
JustOneFee 03-11-2002, 05:05 AM Dear friends,
I would like to warn you all about SolutionRoad.com; they simply copied our sites design, and I'm sure they will continue to do so with other hosting companies as well.
This should not be accepted, and my company will take further steps if SolutionRoad.com does not remove its current site.
You can compare our site at www.justonefee.com with the site of www.solutionroad.com.
Thank you for your attention.
Sincerely yours,
David Heremans.
JustOneFee.com.
richy 03-11-2002, 05:07 AM whoa no kidding. thats beyond blatant. get onto their supplier and your lawyer and get a summons served.
Sainthax 03-11-2002, 05:27 AM © 2002 SolutionRoad.com. All Rights Reserved. :eek:
hahaha damn if your gonna cheat atleast put some effort into it
JustOneFee 03-11-2002, 05:30 AM JustOneFee.com has already been in contact with the abuse department of RackSpace.com, so they can terminate the account of SolutionRoad.com.
HostNutt 03-11-2002, 05:48 AM I hate to see blatant rip offs like this!!! On the bright side you know someone liked your site soo much that they just had to have it!! :)
I say do whatever you can to make them pay!! An idea might be to make them pay you for the design instead of suing or anything because that will offset the cost of your initial investment in getting the website made....
Just an idea!! Good luck!!
NexDog 03-11-2002, 10:04 AM Originally posted by JustOneFee
JustOneFee.com has already been in contact with the abuse department of RackSpace.com, so they can terminate the account of SolutionRoad.com.
Good move, I was going to suggest that. We are at RackSpace too and know they won't tolerate that. Just give Jennifer a shout. She'll sort em out.
Angel78 03-11-2002, 10:34 AM well their site is still up ?
NexDog 03-11-2002, 10:39 AM It's only been a few hours. There is a process that could take days.
Aralanthir 03-11-2002, 11:25 AM That's totally low of that other company to copy *that* blatantly.:angry:
On another note, though, just thought you might want to know, I encountered a 404 visiting your site with Netscape:
The requested URL /perldesk/style.css was not found on this server.
You might want to check up on that. The site can load in IE, but Netscape can't load it until you fix the stylesheet link.
What I like is when a company steals a design but has a link on the site saying that they offer "web design." In this case, though, there are still no examples in the portfolio. Haven't had the time yet to... uh... "make" any, I guess.
JustOneFee 04-02-2002, 01:52 PM Much to my own amazement, rackspace.com did NOT get back to me at all, even though I have sent them an email, called them afterwards, and got confirmation that they received all necessary information, and would look into it.
I'm convinced that Rackspace.com is a GREAT company, but at the same time disappointed that people such as the owner of SolutionRoad.com can do as he likes, stealing someone elses design...
Does anyone has any experience with this? What might I do against the ower of SolutionRoad.com?
BTW: check out his site: he tried customising it, and there he lost the lay-out :) Unbelievable - who is gonna host with them?????
If I compare both sites, they are both inspired fromPerlDesk (http://perldesk.com/demo.shtml)
JustOneFee 04-02-2002, 03:31 PM Originally posted by taz0
If I compare both sites, they are both inspired fromPerlDesk (http://perldesk.com/demo.shtml)
Correct! And that's not the main issue I'm discussing here... That lay-out is in fact GPL, and can be used. The problem I have with SolutionRoad.com however is that they simply copied our site contents, our sales text, our INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY!!!
That's sad, very sad. I don't know if there is much you can do. Have you registered your company? If so, then try sending them a lawyer's letter to scare them.
Their whois dump:
Jim Veritch hosting@solutionroad.com 877-955-1405
Solution Road Inc.
767 N.W. 4TH Street
Grants Pass,Oregon,United States 97526
I don't know how much legal juristictian you might actually have, but a threat to sue wouldn't hurt. :)
tazd9t9 04-02-2002, 05:55 PM the only thing that can be said is "oh god not another one" :bawling:
MGCJerry 04-02-2002, 06:18 PM Heh... Looks like its dead now... I'm getting forbidden :D
Well..... Another one bites the dust ;)
Originally posted by JimV
I hope everyone appreciate my sense of humor ( I'm American after all ) The greatest country on the Planet.:rolleyes:
circuit 04-02-2002, 07:29 PM Originally posted by JimV
( I'm American after all ) The greatest country on the Planet.
ugh.
JustOneFee 04-03-2002, 04:22 AM Originally posted by JimV
Hello All,
Let me defend myself quickly then we can all move on with life. I spend most of my time on the road ( I'm a frustrated Guitar Player ) and awhile back a few guy's who work for my hosting business borrowed some info from ( JustOneFee.com ) Not cool I know :(
JustOneFee.com contacted me and I said I would change my site but I have been really busy ( That fristrated guitar thing ) and while my guy's changed most of the stuff I guess there were a few more things that could have been changed.
I did get pissed at JustOne Fee.com because He did not start out Mad He started out trying to recruit me as a Re Seller and He only got pissed when I told him no ( Like 5 times )
The design is Perl Desks and the fact is that " Great Hosting" or "We are the best" are simply not Intellectual Properties ( Did I spell Intellectual right? )
Soo.. Sorry that every one is mad and I will be sorrier if this reply is pulled ( My solutionroad account was suspended so I had to create a new one )
I sent my guy packing and when I have a chance will dazzle you all with a great new design for Solution Road.
Go ahead and pound me on this ( I guess I deserve it )
Take me out flogg me, tar me, feather me, then let's all move on to bigger and better things.
Like my guitar playing if I could learn more than this A chord and I'm afraid Yes, I steal stuff all the time from other guitar players.
I hope everyone appreciate my sense of humor ( I'm American after all ) The greatest country on the Planet.
jim
Well - here's my short reply: I don't get your humour, so no: I do NOT appreciate it.
The fact that I offered you a deal in which you could act as a reseller is because you did not seem to comply with my requests to remove OUR contents from your site. Other people at these forums suggested me to try and get the most out of you, hence offering you the deal to become a reseller, enabling you to use our contents on your site as well. I offered this only ONCE - you did not want to, so that's your problem. I guess we are very kind to offer you this ability in stead of just hire a lwayer to get after you.
Gosh - did your account really got suspended? I feel sooo sorry... NOT!
I guess you must know by now that although you seem to have such good connections with Rackspace, they DO suspend your account anyway, unlike you told me in your previous email, and I quote: [...] 3). Rack Space - I know them well and they know me:) nuff said[...] unquote.
So if we find ANY information that comes from our site within 24 hours, we will contact rackspace AGAIN, and you will be at risk of having your account deleted AGAIN.
I hope that's "nuff said" as well!
NexDog 04-03-2002, 09:28 AM Hey,
He's saying his account at WHT got suspended and not his server at RackSpace....
JustOneFee 04-03-2002, 09:52 AM Originally posted by NexDog
Hey,
He's saying his account at WHT got suspended and not his server at RackSpace....
Hi - thanks for pointing that out - I misunderstood that indeed.
JustOneFee 04-04-2002, 01:43 AM It seems as if you finally got all contents from us removed from the site, so we don't have any further problems with you.
Furthermore, we DO wish you good luck with your hosting business, but will NEVER EVER accept that other companies compy our contents, of which I hope you DO understand the reasons. We do invest heavily in marketing material, of which our site is one of the most important aspects...
Thank you for your understanding.
David Heremans.
JustOneFee.com
TimPD 04-04-2002, 03:39 AM Send it in for violation of TOS they will take care of it :). :flamethr: COPIERS.
|