Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : addr.com --> affordablehosting.com ?


goodness0001
03-10-2002, 02:30 PM
Does anyone else think that affordablehosting.com's web site looks very similar to addr.com's web site. While they are not exactly the same, they both have the same color schemes, the themes etc...

am i wrong??

Relyc
03-10-2002, 02:31 PM
Well the style and theme is somewhat similar, but the design as a whole is quite different...And affordablehosting's looks much better :)

goodness0001
03-10-2002, 02:38 PM
I just thought the layouts where very similar, and also the left column is just about the same with the same effects...

eh, just an observation...

Chicken
03-10-2002, 04:21 PM
If I had to guess, I'd say there was a possibility that the same person/firm designed both sites. They both have a nice polished look, both very visually appealing.

goodness0001
03-10-2002, 04:55 PM
That was my assumption as well, that the same designer/company made the web sites. If that is the case, I think they should at least make some color differations...

I like both sites very much, just think they are similar.

affordablehosting's site is more to the point w/o as many frills, but both are good.

avara
03-10-2002, 04:59 PM
Even if AffordableHosting took some ideas from Addr, this isn't really a rip (no grahics or HTML was stolen, AFAIK).

klisis
03-10-2002, 06:31 PM
I think the basic idea is taken from Addr.com . Although it's not a copycat as no images were stolen but hmm, I don't feel nice.

JDF
03-10-2002, 08:22 PM
Hmm, ya, that's about as close as you can come to ripping it off without actually ripping it off. Both beautiful.. wish I had that kind of talent.

Incognito
03-10-2002, 09:14 PM
There are few truly unique designs in all aspects. In fact, we even direct our designers by giving examples of sites we like. However, there are only so many ways you can arrange a page and achieve the quality and functionality you want. The only truly unique concepts are generally pretty far out of the ordinary and may not, in fact, be that desirable although very showy.

So, we need to be careful when we say...A looks like B. And, I do think this thread has been responsible...just pointing out similar approaches. But the true examples of copying are generally very exact while the general concepts of designing are very much public domain.

Chicken
03-10-2002, 10:50 PM
...and I forgot to add in my last post that even if these are two different designers, *this* is what inspiration is suposed to be (IMHO). We all see the other kind of inspiration far too often. If you see something you like and are able to emulate those aspects without directly taking anything from it, and come out with something nearly as good, if not better, then you're a-ok in my book.

goodness0001
03-10-2002, 11:25 PM
I would like to commend incognito and chicken on their points as i would like to agree. All web sites are inspired and few web sites are completely original, we all have little things or "ideas" that others have used and manipulate them in our own fashion.

I just wish i had the talent to put together graphics like that....eh...

marksy
03-10-2002, 11:27 PM
hmmm...I don't know, they both use HTML as the underlying language..could be a rip in my opinion! If people are going to run around looking for something so slight, I'd suggest a sep. forum..that way all the rips can be thrown out in the open and the people who did them can be exposed for the obviously poor hosts they are..or you can write the people who got ripped and let them deal with it. My vote is option 2.

bitserve
03-11-2002, 10:33 AM
Hmm... I liked addr.com's site better than affordablehostin's. I agree that the graphics look like they were done by the same artist.

AH-Tina
03-11-2002, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by bitserve
Hmm... I liked addr.com's site better than affordablehost's. I agree that the graphics look like they were done by the same artist.


God, I get sick of saying this:


WE ARE AFFORDABLEHOST.com NOT AFFORDABLEHOSTING.com

:angry: :angry:

--Tina

akashik
03-11-2002, 12:40 PM
Is that a typo on their page (right hand side)

excelent

shouldn't it excellent?

Or is that a regional thing like color and colour?

Greg Moore

Aralanthir
03-11-2002, 12:46 PM
lol, I think that's a typo. I've never seen anyone spell "excellent" with only one l.

otherground
03-11-2002, 08:07 PM
Originally posted by akashik
Is that a typo on their page (right hand side)

excelent

shouldn't it excellent?

Or is that a regional thing like color and colour?

Greg Moore

people in glass houses ... :D

! JC

bitserve
03-12-2002, 01:22 AM
Originally posted by AffordableHost
God, I get sick of saying this:


WE ARE AFFORDABLEHOST.com NOT AFFORDABLEHOSTING.com

:angry: :angry:

Eek. I was of course referring to affordablehosting.com, as per the thread topic. I've edited my post to make that clear. Sorry.