Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Is this legit or a scam?


fuel1224
04-02-2005, 02:02 AM
I got an email recently titled "Important Notice: Please Verify Contact Data for your Domain Name(s)"

the body says this:

This message is a reminder to help you keep the contact data associated
with your domain registration up-to-date.

As of October 31, 2003 we are required by the Internet Corporation for
Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) to send you this reminder by the
Anniversary date of each registered Domain Name that is subject to the
terms and conditions of that organization.

Below is a list of domain names with your email address listed as the
registrant or administrative contact. The current contact information
associated with the domain may be verified by following the link
provided.
If any of the contact data is inaccurate, it must be corrected. If the
contact data is accurate, no further action is required to comply with
this notice.

Please remember that under the terms of your registration agreement,
the provision of false Whois (contact) information can be grounds for
cancellation of your domain name registration.

Domain Names with Anniversary Dates between April 1 and April 30

Name: Registration Date:
------ -----------------
mydomainname.com my registration date
View Contact Data:
<theres a link here starting with http://wdrp.name-services.com>



Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,

WDRP Compliance

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anyways im not sure if this is a legitimate thing i need to do or one of those spam type of emails trying to get information from you or give you a virus or something, so any help would be appreciated.

mdadnan
04-02-2005, 02:22 AM
This is legit appears from Enom if your domains are hosted with them. If you click on the links it will take you to a whois page and does not ask for any information.

Disgruntled
04-02-2005, 02:32 AM
I don't know. When you copy and paste the text it will make the link in the message board as displayed in the text.
In the original message, when you put the cursor over the link does the link displayed in the task bar match the link displayed in the text?

fuel1224
04-02-2005, 02:36 AM
it is the same thanks for the help. Im not with enom but im with namecheap which is a reseller of enom i believe so I should be good. Thanks for the help

Bashar
04-02-2005, 02:58 AM
i get many of them, they are from enom and their resellers sent to end users to make sure the whois info is accurate

kjnetworks
04-02-2005, 06:18 AM
I have names at enom and namecheap and I got the same thing yesterday. I checked it out and I am pertty sure it is OK.