
|
View Full Version : umm... How did they manage this
http://www.*****.com/?zone=press/2002/in_bbb_program
Thought the BBB was sueing them or something before. There was a thread about awhile back I know.
DigitalXWeb 03-05-2002, 03:57 PM Probably just another one of their bogus press releases, just like the sponsored Nascar one :D
avara 03-05-2002, 03:58 PM You beat me to it. I saw that earlier today, and was going to post it later.
With all the complaints the BBB has received about *****, I find this very strange. Especially as they used to be listed as not satisfactory. Maybe just about anyone can put that badge on their site, as long as they pay the BBB!? :angry:
avara 03-05-2002, 04:01 PM Originally posted by DigitalXWeb
Probably just another one of their bogus press releases, just like the sponsored Nascar one :D
Unfortunately it's true. Click on the link on *****'s press release (I think they have a banner there); it takes you to a BBB page which verifies that ***** meets all criteria, etc..
They also claim to have 149,000 hosted domains. Could be true with all the advertising they do, but wonder how long it will be before a number of that 149,000 contact the BBB.
avara 03-05-2002, 04:16 PM That figure also includes parked domain names, so really it isn't that high. They are also one of the most visible web hosts in the US, so that number sounds about right.
microsol 03-05-2002, 04:23 PM ***** is a scam company and everybody knows it. Just look here: http://www.*****.com/?zone=products/shared_unix_hosting_details
I wonder how they can offer unlimited bandwidth :eek:
avara 03-05-2002, 04:31 PM Originally posted by microsol
***** is a scam company and everybody knows it.
Unfortunately, there are still plenty of people who sign up with *****, many because they offer "unlimited bandwidth" (as you said, there is no such thing). And while we on WebHostingTalk may know that ***** is a scam (they are), a lot of ordinary people who find out about them via banners, hosting indexes and magazines do not.
In fact just yesterday I got an email from a potential client, saying that he really liked our hosting plans, but unfortunately if I was not able to offer unlimited bandwidth he would sign up with ***** instead. :rolleyes:
Scam company indeed, at least for what I have seen here (Not too many friends to ***** I have noticed)
If you look at there Terms of Service, you will see there catch on the Unlimited Bandwidth. The first 20GB come with the hosting fee, then you will get charged per 1GB afterwards. In reality, they do offer Unlimited Bandwidth, just not free of charge. Truly not the way to do business.
Thanks
Josh
UmBillyCord 03-05-2002, 05:23 PM These guys are the worst. Here is how their BBB scam is working. My company use to use the BBB of Southland (we use the real BBBonline now) so we know a little about the loop hole.
1) This page -http://www.*****.com/?zone=press/2002/nascar_race_car
shows the BBB reliability seal (handshake image). This is NOT the BBB online seal, as it looks like this -
http://bbbonline.com/Business/
Why is the seal different? Because the BBB and BBBonline are separate branches. The BBB of Southland (***** can use them since they have a DC in LA area) refused to pay the cost it takes to use the BBB online for its members. So they started there own - hence the "Business Reliability Report" with no BBB mention.
Here is the catch. ***** can now advertise BBBonline. They can then link to a "Satisfactory Report" that the BBB of Southland shows. While the *true* report is a total crap one with tons of unfulfilled responses and a bad rating, goes hidden in Texas except for those who do a search in Texas. So while tons of bad complaints roll in to Texas (as that is where the BBB will send them), their second membership will be squeaky clean and can be shown as satisfactory online to new customers. So unless someone does research, ***** shows up as a great BBB company.
I also noticed something else. Their BBBonline (which they just joined according to the release) has been altered. Click on that first link above, then click on the handshake image. A pop up will appear. The "BBB Background Information on *****" *should* link to the actual BBB report, instead, ***** points back to their web site. So even if I wanted to view their report online I can't.
Anyway, maybe ***** took the time to respond to the unbelievable amount of complaints to clear their record and really do want to be honest. Maybe the BBBonline repot just isn't finished yet. But from experience, I know that what they are advertising now is two separate deals.
***** press release:To be included in the program and allowed to use the BBBOnLine Reliability Program seal on its web site, companies are required to:
Become a member of the Better Business Bureau where company is headquartered;
Provide the BBB with information regarding company ownership and management, and the street address and telephone number at which they do business, which may be verified by the BBB in a visit to the company's physical premises;
Be in business a minimum of one year (an exception can be made if a new business is a spin-off or a division of an existing business, which is known to and has a positive track record with the BBB);
Have a satisfactory complaint-handling record with the BBB;
Agree to participate in the BBB's advertising self-regulation program, and correct or withdraw online advertising when challenged by the BBB and found not to be substantiated or not in compliance with our children's advertising guidelines;
Agree to abide by the BBB Code of Online Business Practices, and to cooperate with any BBB request for modification of a web site to bring it into accordance with the Code;
Respond promptly to all consumer complaints;
Agree to dispute resolution, at the consumer's request, for unresolved disputes involving consumer products or services.
Ft. Worth BBB:
*****
Report as of August 2001.
Company Address: 1851 Central Dr #110
BEDFORD, TX 76021
BBB Opened File: August 1998
Type of Business: INTERNET PROVIDER
Telephone #: (817) 868-6999
Local Business Start Date: Aug-2001
Company Management
JAMES MILLER JR
The report that follows has been obtained from sources deemed to be reliable and is not to be used for sales or promotional purposes. The Better Business Bureau reports on members and non-members. Membership in the BBB is voluntary and members must meet and maintain BBB standards. If a company is a member of the BBB it is stated in this report.
General Information
This firm first came to our attention in August 1998.
BBB Customer Experience
The BBB file opened 8/03/98. The firm offers internet provider services.
Complaints brought to the firms attention concern services performed and billing. Specifically, complaints allege that service was not connected or was unsatisfactory and billing errors. The firm has responded with explanations and/or adjustments.
Based on BBB files, this company has an unsatisfactory record with the Bureau due to unanswered complaints.
LA BBB:***** Corporation
3550 Wilshire Blvd Suite 705
Los Angeles CA 90010
Business Started: 05/05/95
File Open Date: 06/14/01
Last Report Date: 09/11/01
Principal Contact: Christopher Faulkner
Phone: (888) 868-9931
Fax: (888) 242-7554
EMail: sales@*****.com
Web Address: http://www.*****.com
Bureau ID: 13154781
Nature of Business
This company's business is providing management web hosting services.
Bureau File Experience
This company is located outside of our service area. According to the Fort Worth Better Business Bureau, this firm was first brought to their attention on August 1998. The company began business in 1997. The firm offers Internet Provider Services. Based on Better Business Bureau files, this company has an unsatisfactory record due to an unanswered complaint and unresolved complaints. The company has resolved some complaints presented by the Bureau; however, the Bureau did not receive a response to one complaint and other remain unresolved. Complaints processed by the Bureau in its three-year reporting period concern service issues, billing and refund practices. Specifically, complainants allege the company failed to provide promised services. Other complainants allege the company billed for services not provided and failed to make promised refunds in a timely manner. Complaints and inquiries are handled by the Better Business of Fort Worth. Written requests may be mailed to 1612 Summit Avenue, Suite 260, Fort Worth, TX 76102-5978 or information may be obtained by calling, (817) 332-7585. The Bureau's web address is www.fwbbb.org and the email is bbb@ftworthbbb.org. The Better Business Bureau does not endorse, recommend or disapprove of any company, product or service.
How the hell can ***** justify this press release?
Synergy 03-05-2002, 06:14 PM Maybe they got the money to cover everything up. As for the nascar issue, i think they really did sponsor a car with the money they have. And NOTE: 8 out of 10 peeps searching for webhosting do not read the BBB before they decide to use a company or not. A majority sees your advert, click, bookmarked, and comes back when they really need webhosting.
Timothy 03-05-2002, 06:41 PM LOL Does anyone know if the BBB has actually seen this?
El Nino 03-05-2002, 08:43 PM Didn't ***** already try to pull this BBB scam before?
Relyc 03-05-2002, 11:02 PM http://dell.hurdmanivr.com/ftworth/common.html?bureau=ftworth&location=/home/common/www/bips/report.php&compid=98080001&national=Y
Well there is some more proof they aren't part of it...
lyranv 03-07-2002, 02:13 AM hmmm
|