Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Another Scammer to watch out for


dmaven
03-04-2005, 07:38 PM
FYI, Received about 20 of these "official notices" today:

International Domain Name Registry (IDNR) has received an application for registration of the domain XXXXXX.XXX.
by a third party, that is almost identical to your domain name XXXXXX.XXX .
International Domain Name Registry was founded for registration, control and monitoring of domain names and trade marks that include copyright control, fair business regulations, legitimate usage and activity, dispute and claim consideration of property breach of the domain for transfer to the court.

Registration of the domain name similar to your own can be done for the reasons mentioned below:

1. The third party wants to use the domain name for any purposes, including business, distinct from your business activity.
2. The third party wants to register the domain name for creation of a business similar to yours.
3. The third party (that, probably, before registration of a domain name was your competitor also) wants to disrupt the business of a competitor, or intentionally attempt to lure the customers of another business by creating a confusingly similar Web address.

Consequently, it is our opinion that this application may have been submitted in bad faith.

You are required to submit to us your opposition to the third party domain name registration contemplated herein and expressly advise us of your intent to license this domain name (go to www.diregistry.com, choose 'register a domain' then 'block the application of the third party') prior to the expiration of this notice (which is one working day after it is sent) or licensing rights to the domain name would be assigned to any applicant. In this case IDNR WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR THE LOSS OF DOMAIN NAME LICENSE, IDENTICAL OR CONFUSINGLY SIMILAR USE OF YOUR COMPANY'S NAME; OR INTERRUPTION OF BUSINESS ACTIVITY OR BUSINESS LOSSES.
Also IDNR further will not consider your complaint to infringement of your rights for IDENTICAL OR CONFUSINGLY SIMILAR USE OF YOUR COMPANY'S NAME; OR INTERRUPTION OF BUSINESS ACTIVITY OR BUSINESS LOSSES.

Thank you.
International Domain Name Registry.

Lubeca
03-04-2005, 08:27 PM
And, sadly, lots of people are going to fall for this "company" and their scam....

This "company" being...:

Registrant:

J.D. Fisher

14 Bond Street, 417 Great Neck

NY, New York 11021

United States



Registered through: GoDaddy.com

Domain Name: DIREGISTRY.COM

Created on: 03-Mar-05

Expires on: 03-Mar-06

Last Updated on: 03-Mar-05



Administrative Contact:

-, - info@effect-aerosols.com

Effect Aerosols Ententerprises

p.o. box 2264

MA, Montana 02067

United States

+375 29 6609006

Technical Contact:

-, - info@effect-aerosols.com

Effect Aerosols Ententerprises

p.o. box 2264

MA, Montana 02067

United States

+375 29 6609006



Domain servers in listed order:

NS.MAJORDOMO.RU

GODZILLA.MAJORDOMO.RU

Disgruntled
03-04-2005, 08:55 PM
Have these been forwarded to Godaddy's abuse department?

othellotech
03-04-2005, 10:55 PM
Get paper version and email very similar on a weekly basis - sad that
( a ) these scams are still in operation
( b ) that people fall for them so they're profitable for the b@stards who operate them

rythm
03-05-2005, 12:21 AM
Less savvy folks can easily fall prey to this sort of scam, sad that people resort to these for profit.

dmaven
03-05-2005, 01:13 AM
It says

J.D. Fisher

It Should be

J.D. Pfhisher

Since you know that is what they are doing. I can only imagine what they would do with the credit card info if someone is stupid enough to try to fall for this.

kohashi
03-05-2005, 11:43 AM
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=372921

Looks to be the same guys.

Dave Zan
03-05-2005, 03:10 PM
And still at it. Damn it.

Can someone post a copy of such a notice?

dmaven
03-06-2005, 02:20 AM
Originally posted by davezan
And still at it. Damn it.

Can someone post a copy of such a notice?

I thought I did when I created the thread?

hostoodle
03-06-2005, 03:07 AM
I read this several times...what happens if you fall for this scam?

Please help a newbie

Disgruntled
03-06-2005, 04:16 AM
It's a good question, but I don't think anyone reading this thread would want to do the experiment of trusting DIREGISTRY.COM with a credit card number. If there's a problem, I guess one could just call them up at the whois listed phone numbers, which, if there is anyone to answer, would be in Belarus.
But seriously, is there any reader of this thread that has tried them? If so, what was the result?

dmaven
03-06-2005, 01:11 PM
The though of giving out your payment info to these people is scary enough. I am sure minutes after you pay them the numbers will be broadcast on the web

Domaineer
03-08-2005, 04:52 AM
Scams are everywhere on the net now!
Better beware!