mainarea
03-01-2005, 12:39 PM
65.54.188.89 - - [01/Mar/2005:02:23:05 -0500] "GET /robots.txt HTTP/1.0" 404 4 "-" "msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)"
65.54.188.89 - - [01/Mar/2005:02:23:06 -0500] "GET /cp/alaadmin/blockemail/index.cgi?exDomainPackageID=2671&exLanguage=english HTTP/1.0" 404 4 "-" "msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)"
65.54.188.89 - - [01/Mar/2005:07:35:01 -0500] "GET /robots.txt HTTP/1.0" 404 4 "-" "msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)"
65.54.188.89 - - [01/Mar/2005:07:35:01 -0500] "GET /cp/alaadmin/blockemail/index.cgi?exDomainPackageID=2671&exLanguage=english HTTP/1.0" 404 4 "-" "msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)"
Why is MSNBot attempting to access "/cp/alaadmin/blockemail/index.cgi?exDomainPackageID=2671&exLanguage=english" on my server? I have no clue where it would pick up a link like that to spider... that's part of the Alabanza control panel (you'd have to be logged in to use it), plus my server is a CPanel server, not Alabanza... Has anybody else seen odd requests from MSN's new bot?
- Matt
Hands-on Mark
03-01-2005, 05:01 PM
Do you have it linked anywhere? MSN bot will not just randomly enter that url. It had to be linked and it is attempting to archive it. I think :)
Project X
03-01-2005, 06:36 PM
i am getting stomped by both msn and google.
and i have no idea why.
when i log into my admin for one of my forums, it shows almost 100 google bots live at once. and it is constant.
something must be wrong...
nuthin
03-01-2005, 07:05 PM
I have seen most of the bots try to access pages that are not on our site/server.
I don't know where there pulling from.
I just let them do their thing though.
Lauren, there probably deep crawling your site. I know quite a few bots have trouble sometimes in forums, they go in a constant loop and can't get out :D
Project X
03-01-2005, 07:12 PM
i just pulled this off my admin... i dont know how it can be that google is "posting". how do i make this stop?
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:10 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:10 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:10 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:10 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:10 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:10 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm trent reznor and his life 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:09 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:08 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm trent reznor in general 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:07 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:06 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:05 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:05 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Guest 01 Mar 2005 05:05 pm 01 Mar 2005 05:05 pm Posting a message 66.249.66.176
Zubair1
03-01-2005, 11:38 PM
LaurenStephens.com
I think this because you have granted guest posting on your forum, the msn bot tryed to do that on my forum to
but i dont allow guest posting on my forums
you should disable such features for guest
trying doing that and it wont post :)
I think the bots are going crazy.
CyberAlien
03-02-2005, 11:52 AM
You are using phpBB and default phpBB is not very good with SEO. It adds session id to url if browser doesn't support cookies, and googlebot/msnbot don't support cookies so you get lots of urls like index.php?sid=123456789 or viewtopic.php?t=1&sid=123456 with different session ids.
I suggest to install one of SEO mods for phpBB. You'll find lots of such mods on phpbb.com