Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Is this a hoax?


myhken
02-26-2005, 03:49 AM
I got his e-mail from name-services.com, but I do not have any domains with them. Do anybody know something about this?

Dear Domain Holder,

This message is a reminder to help you keep the contact data associated with your domain registration up-to-date.

As of October 31, 2003 we are required by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) to send you this reminder by the Anniversary date of each registered Domain Name that is subject to the terms and conditions of that organization.

Below is a list of domain names with your email address listed as the registrant or administrative contact. The current contact information associated with the domain may be verified by following the link provided.
If any of the contact data is inaccurate, it must be corrected. If the contact data is accurate, no further action is required to comply with this notice.

Please remember that under the terms of your registration agreement, the provision of false Whois (contact) information can be grounds for cancellation of your domain name registration.

Domain Names with Anniversary Dates between March 1 and March 31

Name: Registration Date:
------ -----------------
myhken.com Mar 31, 1999
View Contact Data: <http://wdrp.name-services.com/whois.asp?key=xxxxxxxxxxxx>

(I have change the key to xxxxxxx )

Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,

WDRP Compliance

blockcipher
02-26-2005, 03:54 AM
name-services.com = enom.com. Have an account with ENOM? Then that would explain the email.

myhken
02-26-2005, 04:30 AM
Originally posted by blockcipher
name-services.com = enom.com. Have an account with ENOM? Then that would explain the email.

Yes, I see that my domain are with ENOM. I use hostdepartment.com as registrar, but they use ENOM I think?

DecentHost
02-26-2005, 06:18 AM
It's just a reminder mail that reminds you to keep your whois information updated.

Dave Zan
02-26-2005, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by myhken
Yes, I see that my domain are with ENOM. I use hostdepartment.com as registrar, but they use ENOM I think?

Yup.

Domain Name: HOSTDEPARTMENT.COM
Registrar: ENOM, INC.

camers
02-26-2005, 10:54 AM
I think hostdep baught it from name-services.

badhosts.org
02-26-2005, 11:22 AM
if your not sure, just log in via the site you bought the domain from and check your details (don't follow any links that dont have secure connections...phishing has gone majorly overboard)

myhken
02-26-2005, 07:21 PM
Originally posted by badhosts.org
if your not sure, just log in via the site you bought the domain from and check your details (don't follow any links that dont have secure connections...phishing has gone majorly overboard)

No, I dont like to follow any links I dont know is 100% safe. But i know my Whois info i up to date, so I don't yhink I have to do any more.

frattay22
02-27-2005, 03:31 PM
Usualy to make sure it is updated you are supose to click on the link than after you do it says "thanks for keeping your info updated" no info is passed along no sign in etc... just a email checker to make sure the info you have is correct, if it isn't they can easily just delete the domain name since you are not using correct info,