Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : OC CONNECTION- ADULT OR NON ADULT HOSTING, dEDICATED IP ADDRESS


JayOCHOSTING
02-15-2002, 01:18 PM
Hello Fellow WHT Members!

We have a special just for you:

Package OC50
No Setup Fee
10GB Bandwidth
50 MB Space
Dedicated IP Address
Unlimited POP3/IMAP Email Accounts
Unlimited Email Redirects
Unlimited Email Mailing Lists
Unlimited Sub Domains
Unlimited FTP Access
Unlimited Control Panel Access
Front Page 2002 Extensions
Custom Error Pages
Website Statistics
Sendmail
24/7 Server Monitoring
No Contracts
Web Mail Access
Catch All Forwarding
Web Users
Password Protected Directories
DNS Management
Technical Assistance Via Phone, Email, ICQ, AIM
PLESK 2 Control Panel Access

$10.95 Per Month
$0.00 Setup Fee

http://www.oc-hosting.net

If you have any questions, please let me know via PM or email me! Again, this is a WHT special only. You must contact me to order.

porcupine
02-15-2002, 01:20 PM
32 gb of bandwidth for $10/mo. :eek: typo? if not, im sure you'll get some fish to bite on that bait :D

SMERSH
02-16-2002, 05:46 PM
Hey Jay, did you know there is an ochosting.com? Are you a reseller? You both have "OC Hosting Inc." on your websites.

porcupine
02-16-2002, 05:55 PM
Jay: Have you been incorporated by the government or by a lawyer? Because if not, you can't use the "Inc.", you gotta pay your fare share of the $$$ to use the title, I believe it's actually illegal for people to use the title if they're not incorporated.

Rochen
02-16-2002, 06:09 PM
Just saw somthing very intresting. Take a look at: http://www.verisignwebsites.com/thumbnails/small/category/10/series/19/small_thumbnail.jpg

Now

go to: http://www.oc-hosting.net/

The first link is a preview screen shot of a site template you can BUY from Versign. The design/colors can be changed. If you put it in blue the color match to the OC site is 100%!

The OC site just doesn't look quite right. Go to the Versign website templates site and you will see what I mean.

Before you read any of the below I am just guessing.

It looks to me like the template could have been stolen from Versign then edited a bit and put on the OC site. I don't think Versign even let you edit the design of the templates to that extent even if you buy them - not sure though.

Chiasna
02-16-2002, 06:16 PM
Isn't that funny how

http://www.cyberwings.com/
and
http://www.oc-hosting.net/

Have that same blue thing at the top and look similar Im just wondering making sure its not my eyes.

Rochen
02-16-2002, 06:18 PM
Originally posted by Chiasna
Isn't that funny how

http://www.cyberwings.com/
and
http://www.oc-hosting.net/

Have that same blue thing at the top and look similar Im just wondering making sure its not my eyes.

Maybe they both stole them off Versign :o never :D

Plus the thing posted by porcupine about the Inc. has got my brain ticking :stickout

porcupine
02-16-2002, 06:23 PM
rochen: hahaha, if i've gotta pay my laywers like 2k for shareholders agreements and to get incorporated just to use the damn Inc., then so does everyone else! :D

Oh yeh, and cyberwings/ochosting websites are far too similar to be coincidence, right down to the funny little fade in the blue bar at the top (look closely, its like someone hit it with the darken tool for 1/10th of a second in paintshop and left that blotch)

Tazzman
02-16-2002, 06:26 PM
Go with ochosting.com
I hosted my site with them for about a year, very good, fast tech support, fast server, only small prob is the fact they use monstercontrols as their CP, which is a darn shame, but at least you know they're fully legit :D

porcupine
02-16-2002, 06:28 PM
Well then, i guess we know who the fraud/phoney is now dont we :)

Chiasna
02-16-2002, 06:28 PM
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tazman: Go with ochosting.com
I hosted my site with them for about a year, very good, fast tech support, fast server, only small prob is the fact they use monstercontrols as their CP, which is a darn shame, but at least you know they're fully legit
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lol Taz prob works for them

Rochen
02-16-2002, 06:29 PM
Originally posted by Tazzman
Go with ochosting.com
I hosted my site with them for about a year, very good, fast tech support, fast server, only small prob is the fact they use monstercontrols as their CP, which is a darn shame, but at least you know they're fully legit :D

How does that make them fully legit?

porcupine
02-16-2002, 06:33 PM
rochen:

I think he means because one of these providers is clearly mirroring the others by using their name, and they both claim to be incorporated, but obviously one of them is not (you will not find *ANY* lawyer/government office that will incorporate you if anyone else is using that name, or any name even remotely close to it. If ochosting.com has been around for a year, its a helluva lot less likely that they're "the mirror" company, usually hosts that steal other hosts names (intentionally or not) don't stay around for long, because they're either forced to chance their name, or they realise whats happening and do anyhow.

Rochen
02-16-2002, 06:36 PM
Originally posted by porcupine
rochen:

I think he means because one of these providers is clearly mirroring the others by using their name, and they both claim to be incorporated, but obviously one of them is not (you will not find *ANY* lawyer/government office that will incorporate you if anyone else is using that name, or any name even remotely close to it. If ochosting.com has been around for a year, its a helluva lot less likely that they're "the mirror" company, usually hosts that steal other hosts names (intentionally or not) don't stay around for long, because they're either forced to chance their name, or they realise whats happening and do anyhow.

Sorry stupid me. :bawling: I didn't look at the URL. I agree with the point the ochosti.... is legal but not oc-hosti.....

Cyberwings
02-16-2002, 10:07 PM
We purchased our website design from www.imagecafe.com 2-3 years ago. You can see their inventory of available templates at the address below. Lucky I save all of my business purchase receipts, including this one, just for little instances like this where I can use them to stop false accusations about THEFT.

http://www.imagecafe.com

Click on "See Sample Sites"

Then click on:

"Want to see more designs? Click here to view all of our designs and choose one that suits you."

I hope this settles this issue. No one copied anyone's design - they are readily available (even still today!) for purchase online!

But actually, we're tired of this old design anyway - we started a SITE DESIGN contest many weeks ago and it's coming to an end at the end of Feb 2002. By the end of March 2002 our new site should be online.

And... Cyberwings is complete legit too - currently hosting over 2,300 websites with a very comfortable and happy customer base.

Thanks.

Dourque
02-16-2002, 11:15 PM
check out another post of mine....kind of applies here (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=257606#post257606)