ASPCode.net
02-14-2002, 04:57 PM
Did anyone get this disguised valentine e-card from acrushonyou.com?
First of all , don't go to the site, pop-under ads ....
Dear xxxx@xxx.com ( my email address ),
Someone has sent you a valentine!
To find out who click here:
http://www.acrushonyou.com
I got it and my wife got it ( and now we did not send it to each other, and no we have no secret lovers AFAIK... )
Pretty sophisticated spam on a day like this, and as I said they have pop-under ads and regular 468*60 banners. Requires some kind of registration as well.
Chicken
02-14-2002, 06:10 PM
Yeah, I've gotten spam disguised as some sort of greeting card before, not lately though...
i had that a while back, it is a scam. They have you register with there affiliates so they earn some $'s and keep you in suspence (sp)
It had me suckered, i signed up filled out 5 forms before realising it was a scame! Playing on peoples weaknesses is low beyond belief. :angry:
catharsis
02-14-2002, 07:32 PM
Even spammers won't send me a valentine... :bawling:
Is that the one where you have to 'guess' who sent the crush to you by entering email addresses into a form, and then they send a crush from you to all the emails you give them?
ASPCode.net
02-15-2002, 11:30 AM
Originally posted by kmh
Is that the one where you have to 'guess' who sent the crush to you by entering email addresses into a form
Yes.
Originally posted by kmh
, and then they send a crush from you to all the emails you give them?
Oh, although I never registered I never figured that is how they spread it. Gotta say they are pretty smart...
bitserve
02-15-2002, 05:44 PM
You mean someone doesn't really have a crush on me? :bawling:
Actually, I didn't get that one, but awhile ago, no where near valentine's day I got an email from a similar service.
I wonder now if it was spam or if someone was actually using their service.
I guess it's one of them businesses where you might actually get away with spamming people.
akashik
02-16-2002, 12:58 PM
I used to get that one quite often. It's a pretty sneaky way of doing it and almost had me convinced it was a legit e-mail.
Seems to have dropped off lately though
Greg Moore