Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : AllForDomain.com New Tactic


myfogo
12-26-2004, 06:21 AM
That is one person call John Martin said want to buy my domain. And John ask for appraisal of the domain. And I must get the certificate from AllForDomain.com.

This guy indirectly point me to get the appraisal certificate from AllForDomain.com

Ask you to register. For USD60

Please be careful when someone ask you only accept certificate from AllForDomain.com

Dealideal
12-27-2004, 12:19 AM
Nothing new here.

frattay22
12-27-2004, 02:01 AM
Yep they say that they are interested in your name and they scam you to get the appriasal and they take the money and say no thanks or ignore you lol oh well as Dealideal said "Nothing new here"

But good warning for newbies

dmaven
12-28-2004, 09:50 AM
I have seen these people before, like others have warned stay away.

chupa
12-28-2004, 09:56 PM
Here is a heads up for an appraisal scam. Somebody e-mailed me that they were interested in one of my domains. I replied with a price, and here was his reply.




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for the response!

Do you sell a developed site or just domain name? If you have a
developed
site please send us traffic statistics. If you don't have a site it's
not a
problem. We are mostly interested in domain names without content.

We need an appraisal for domain priced in your range. In other words
we
need some kind of proof that your price is reasonable.

Our partners (webmasters and domain owners) always recommend us to
verify an
independent appraisal first. It would be fair for both of us.

Please note that we don't trust free or cheap appraisals. We were
burned
after accepting such appraisals in the past. So we cannot accept
appraisal
from each and every site.

Appraisal from www.Sedo.com is not acceptable because your name is
listed
with them and they are not independent in our case.

I asked about reputable appraisal companies in a well-known webmaster
forum

http://www.webmasterforum.com/showthread.php?t=53837
My nickname there is JMARTIN. Hope webmasters will recommend us
appraisal
companies with good reputation.

After we verify an appraisal from you we'll continue our negotiations.

How do you prefer to get paid: www.PayPal.com, www.escrow.com, check or
wire?

Looking forward to your reply.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



If you read the thread he linked to for an appraisal, all the posters have just registered, and only reply to that thread. The responses are carefully crafted to look non-biased, but really, they eliminate all choices but allfordomains.com. I found this thread (http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1188) which shines some light on allfordomains.com, and their business practices. Esentially, I think they are sending out fake offers, to get appraisals done, as mentioned in the above thread. The thread he originally referred me to has now been "fixed" ;)

dmaven
12-28-2004, 09:59 PM
already posted

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=357228

chupa
12-28-2004, 10:10 PM
Ah, I missed that. In my haste to spread the word, I didn't search. :( It is a new variation though. Now that I did search, I also found this thread (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=179325&highlight=allfordomains.com)

We should register allfordomains.net to shine light onto their scam.

dmaven
12-29-2004, 12:39 AM
These people are a disgrace

WWWhost
05-25-2005, 01:10 PM
chupa--- Incredible... I has recive the exactly same e-mail
I listed some domains for sale on afthernic and i was contacted from:
----
Sarah Murray
Ph. D. President
TNT Software Consulting
Custom software development using MS Access, MS SQL, Delphi and Oracle.
--------
He/she contact me not via afthernic (of course) but via e-mail listed on whois for my selling domains.

I think the copy/past the whole message. hehehe...
He insist to use allfodomains.com for appraisal...

Dont' trust them!!!

WWWhost
09-13-2005, 05:56 PM
they still doing this hehehe :
----------------------------
Hello,

I'm interested in your domain name listed for sale.

Can you drop me your desired price?

If I can afford it I'll reply.

By the way, did you receive offers from other buyers?

I run a software development company. Selling & buying names is not my main business. Just another way to invest money and make additional income.

Please keep our correspondence confidential.

Best regards,

Dwight Cheney

Ph. D. President

TCR Engineering
-----------------------

dmaven
09-13-2005, 11:33 PM
Dwight Cheney?

Any relation to Dick Cheney?

MrDutch
10-13-2005, 06:58 AM
I got the same email from another guy.
Paid my 60 bucks.
But i will find him one day.
Thanks to the forum for warning me.

Hello,

I'm interested in your domain name listed for sale.

Can you drop me your desired price?

If I can afford it I'll reply.

By the way, did you receive offers from other buyers?

I run a software development company. Selling & buying
names is not my
main business. Just another way to invest money and
make additional
income.

Please keep our correspondence confidential.

Best regards,

Michael Calagna, Ph. D.
President
RTP Engineering

dmaven
10-13-2005, 09:15 AM
This is an old scam

MrDutch
10-14-2005, 05:12 AM
Hi All
Which is a good and trusted site to sell Domain names?
Tnx

WWWhost
10-14-2005, 06:57 AM
afternic... but if you have not a really good domain name you will never sell it. For my personal experience peaple dont' like to but at so high prices...

dmaven
10-14-2005, 09:28 AM
sedo.com is another alternative

bigalkorfed
10-31-2005, 01:25 PM
I have been receiving these emails as well and have never believed his requests for appraisals from these websites that he has mentioned to me ie such as allfordomain.com.

They all looked dodgy and unreliable.

I am glad I cam across this forum and found that my instinct proved correct. :nzflag:

Thanks