
|
View Full Version : *****.com
Howdy Guys,
This is my first time posting in here so I hope you dont think this is spam.
I'm considering signing up for hosting with *****.com.
After looking at 1000's of hosts across the web they seem to come the closest to what I need.
I'm thinking about signing up to the following package: http://www.*****.com/order_ded3.htm
Is anyone able to either:
a) tell me anything about *****.com [ie. how reliable they are... good/bad stories etc]; OR
b) suggest a host that offers a similar package.
Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.
Feel free to contact me at orsm@ii.net.
Regards,
Orsm.
Didnt realise that the url was going to be automatically edited out...
As the whole point of my post was to find out about a particular company before I join for 12 months, i'll try again...
<<censored for a reason>>
Apologies if i've desperately broken the rules.
Regards,
Orsm.
SoftWareRevue 02-11-2002, 02:38 PM Originally posted by orsm
Didnt realise that the url was going to be automatically edited out...
As the whole point of my post . . . . . The whole point about the *** in the name is because it is banned for some particular reason. You may want to contact a mod and ask directly why the url is banned as opposed to posting the name as you have.
DigitalXWeb 02-11-2002, 06:53 PM It never ends :)
The Laughing Cow 02-11-2002, 07:27 PM I know exactly who you are talking about.
They are not too bad if you know what you are doing- in fact they are quite good. However the support is not very good IMHO.
I signed up with them 3 weeks ago, and have had no problems at all, other than support not being very quick responding to emails. But I am pretty pleased with it all in all.
scott2 02-12-2002, 04:48 AM Am I the only one who is confused by the posts which seem to be ***'ed out now? I can understand if it was a post by the host, but it seems a little strange when it is a question about the host. (or is this post the same host posting about themselves too???)
Are these all censored because they have spammed this forum in particular? Or are there other reasons a host's name has been asterisked? It would be helpful to know something about them if they are really so bad. This way how will I know who to stay clear of and who not to?
I do know I'm not going to sign up with ***.com since they seem to be a real bad guy :D
XTStrike 02-12-2002, 05:00 AM Originally posted by scott2
Am I the only one who is confused by the posts which seem to be ***'ed out now? I can understand if it was a post by the host, but it seems a little strange when it is a question about the host. (or is this post the same host posting about themselves too???)
It automatically censored by the bulletin board, no matter who posts the name it will come up with ****
Are these all censored because they have spammed this forum in particular? Or are there other reasons a host's name has been asterisked? It would be helpful to know something about them if they are really so bad. This way how will I know who to stay clear of and who not to?
Everyone is censored for a reason, usually because they have annoyed members, spammed the board or disobeyed the rules on several occasions. The person that is censored will know why they are censored and it is their job to redeem their reputation (if at all possible)
I do know I'm not going to sign up with ***.com since they seem to be a real bad guy :D
thats the effect its meant to have, it acts as a good deterrent, i mean nobody can say the rules of WHT arent fair, someone has to particularly stupid to get the mods so annoyed that we censor the entire URL.
Abu Mami 02-12-2002, 05:20 AM Originally posted by orsm
This is my first time posting in here so I hope you dont think this is spam.Umm, am I missing something? Why would we think this is spam? Why would the poster be afraid this is spam? Unless... Hmmm.
Originally posted by Abu Mami
Umm, am I missing something? Why would we think this is spam? Why would the poster be afraid this is spam? Unless... Hmmm.
I thought the "not spam" disclaimer would be a good idea and the right thing to do considering I am a complete newbie to this forum. In my countless hours spent on Usenet i've found people to be totally intolerant and cynical when it comes to spam.
As I said above - apologies for breaking the rules, however, I must admit that I didnt read them properly when I created my account. I wont make that mistake again! :)
I've found it impossible trying to find information on particular hosts in every avenue that I have explored and as I am coming close to forking out somewhere in the vicinity of US $2500-$3000 for 12months hosting, I thought it best to do as much research as possible.
Anyways, no, I am not a spammer and I thank those of you that have helped.
Regards,
Orsm.
Abu Mami 02-12-2002, 08:55 AM Originally posted by orsm
I thought the "not spam" disclaimer would be a good idea and the right thing to do considering I am a complete newbie to this forum.OK. I admit - I understand how it feels posting for the first time.
I In my countless hours spent on Usenet i've found people to be totally intolerant and cynical when it comes to spam.Cynical - no. Intolerant - YES!
As I said above - apologies for breaking the rules, however, I must admit that I didnt read them properly when I created my account. I wont make that mistake again! :)Well, you of course didn't break the rules if you didn't know the URL was banned. Seems innocent enough to me.
I've found it impossible trying to find information on particular hosts in every avenue that I have explored and as I am coming close to forking out somewhere in the vicinity of US $2500-$3000 for 12months hosting, I thought it best to do as much research as possible.:)You've got it absolutely right. I read the posts here for quite some time before deciding on a company.
Anyways, no, I am not a spammer and I thank those of you that have helped..:)Well, sorry again. Enjoy WHT - I certainly do. I've learned a lot here. ** For example, today I think I learned not to jump so fast. :-)
StephenRS 02-12-2002, 08:36 PM This place wouldn't be k***o networks, would it :)
Blanking our the URL does make searches impossible, so how can people spread the bad word about a vendor?
Whats SO bad about them?
Regards,
Orsm.
|