Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Kopykatz!!!!


Lonny
02-09-2002, 12:12 PM
have a look at

http://www.findsp.com

now have a look at:

http://www.findtophosts.com/index.asp

What the hell is going on???

311
02-09-2002, 12:34 PM
ohhh, geez this is becoming a huge issue, too much site copying...:crap:

mkaufman
02-09-2002, 12:36 PM
What the hell is going on???


I think they're trying to copy your site... :rolleyes:

Anyway, that sucks - did you contact them?

Lonny
02-09-2002, 12:43 PM
you THINK they try to copy our site? :)

They copied it complete!!!

including the host center!!

and in the media kit they show our site!

unbelievable..

I just emailed them...

Walter
02-09-2002, 01:05 PM
All "ads" show the url http://www.tsoftsolutions.com/
and if you do a WHOIS - both are the same:

Michael Tindall
Tsoft Solutions, LLC

What a reputation for this host.

Chicken
02-09-2002, 01:05 PM
You should have emailed them first, but... yeah, pretty much another slime.

Lonny
02-09-2002, 01:12 PM
I emailed them several hours before I made the post

Vortech
02-09-2002, 01:44 PM
Ok loney you sure you did not copy them.. I mean they have a nice little logo going back to findtophosts.com on there hosting site tsoftsolutions.com.

I don't know this is a hard call who copied who..

Vortech
02-09-2002, 02:03 PM
These fools took our banner right along with findsp.com
Our banner
http://www.findtophosts.com/Banners/tsoft120x60-2.gif

We called both all there phone #'s and funny thing is every # is a damn cell phone..

Sending off my nasty letter next.. hehe

Chicken
02-09-2002, 02:40 PM
Originally posted by Chicken
You should have emailed them first...
Remind me to phrase things as questions ;) -hopefully they'll take it down without incident.

iamdave
02-10-2002, 05:05 AM
That's sad. I think it's okay to take an idea from another website and use it for your own web site, but this is just tooooo much.
By the way, did any of you get in touch with them, about this?
There site is stupid and useless anyways, because they only link 1 provider in every link, and thats Tsoft.

SMERSH
02-10-2002, 05:27 AM
It looks like the whole FindTopHosts.com site is a mock up so tsoft could give themselves an award.

Looks like the tsoft discussion forums are pretty baren... maybe somebody should post something to liven things up? :D

Vortech
02-10-2002, 01:31 PM
I did they deleted the darn thing as soon as i did.. LOL

Studio64
02-10-2002, 08:56 PM
From:
http://www.findtophosts.com/Info/MediaKit/

Why advertise on FindTopHosts.com?
Our web site is visited primarily by webmasters, and IT professionals, searching for a hosting company for their businesses or personal sites. We divided our site to a few section, to ensure that your ad will reach only the audience who are interested, in your services, you can reach your potential customers with text links, banners and more.


From:
http://www.findsp.com/Info/MediaKit/default.asp
Why advertise on FindSP.com?
Our web hosting channel, is visted ONLY by webmasters, and IT professionals, in quest for a hosting company for their businesses or personal sites. We divided our site to a few section, to ensure that your ad will reach only the audience who are interested, in the type of solution you provide, from text links to skyscrapers and newsletters, we got them all!


And then again

From
http://www.findtophosts.com/Info/Contact/

Thank you for your interest in FindTopHosts.Com.
We are looking forward to hear your comments, suggestions and ideas. To contact us you can use the form below or feel free to send us an e-mail at info@findtophosts.com.

From:
http://www.findsp.com/Info/Contact/

Thank you for your interest in FindSP.Com.
We are looking forward to hear your comments, suggestions and ideas. To contact us you can use the form below or feel free to send us an e-mail at info@findsp.com.




I'm sure there more... I'm just bored now :)

cmonayeaha
02-11-2002, 01:39 AM
All I see is that the icons on the front pages are similar. I dont expect either of you have permission from microsoft or cold fusion to use their logo's.

I've seen tons of sites with similar layouts.

This is a free market society, unless they're using your registered logos you're pretty much S.O.L.

I'd let it go if I were you, because if they find out you're posting slanderous material on here you WILL have a HUGE problem.

But what do I know I'm just a lawyer.

Lonny
02-11-2002, 01:46 AM
A lawyer? yea right...

The HTML and the systems are similar - this is illigal.

What do I know I'm just the site owner...

cmonayeaha
02-11-2002, 01:54 AM
Easy, hey just trying to help you. I'm not on anyone's side. I was merely posting the facts. What you FEEL is illegal, and what is actually illegal are 2 different things. I do not wish to get into any arguments with you I'm just an innocent by stander.

Lonny
02-11-2002, 02:07 AM
thanks for the information...

But hey, it's just isn't right...

I'd like to request the moderators to close this forum for now...

bigmattyh
02-11-2002, 02:39 AM
Originally posted by cmonayeaha
I'd let it go if I were you, because if they find out you're posting slanderous material on here you WILL have a HUGE problem. Last time I checked, it's only slander if the claims are false.

Chicken
02-11-2002, 10:14 AM
Thread starter will handle issue off-forum and has requested the thread be closed.