Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Watch out for this fraudster


coight
12-07-2004, 01:54 PM
Some people are just stupid:


Contact Information
-------------------
First Name: Michael
Last Name: Bullington
Company or Domain Name: Brandalan Ltd
Address:
411 Summer St
Martin, TN 38237 US

Phone: +1.81573258383
Email: bobby.gualman@gmail.com


Purchase Information
--------------------

killrockstars..biz

Account Information
-------------------
Referred by: Friend
Username: joe666
Password: XXXXXXXXX
-------------------
URL: https://secure.myacen.com
Login/Email: bobby.gualman@gmail.com
Password: XXXXXXXXXX


Comments
-------------------
Thank you


Billing Information
-------------------
Payment Method: WORLDPAY



Order From IP: 66.219.108.117

Timestamp: 2004/12/07: 05:31:46




Contact Information
-------------------
First Name: JAMES
Last Name: B. BERNARD
Company or Domain Name: Killrockstars Ltd
Address:
8200 OFFENHAUSER #123e
RENO, NV 89511 US

Phone: +1.81573258383
Email: resha.juhari@gmail.com


Purchase Information
--------------------

killrockstars.biz

Account Information
-------------------
Referred by: Friend
Username: kill666
Password: XXXXXXXX
-------------------
URL: https://secure.myacen.com
Login/Email: resha.juhari@gmail.com
Password: XXXXXXXX


Comments
-------------------
Thank for your service


Billing Information
-------------------
Payment Method: WORLDPAY



Order From IP: 66.219.108.117

Timestamp: 2004/12/07: 05:21:51



66.219.108.117 resolves to nameservices.net

netrage
12-07-2004, 10:13 PM
ummmm and what exactly is wrong with this customer?

Mike V
12-08-2004, 12:12 AM
I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say that it's suspicous that two very different people signed up from the same IP 10 minutes apart :)

Pheaton
12-08-2004, 12:23 AM
We've had one person signup for 4 accounts with the same IP within one hour. Too bad that all the others came from a different name, location, and credit card. :)

rois
12-08-2004, 12:24 AM
And its got the same phone number :)

netrage
12-08-2004, 12:39 AM
Oh I guess I didn't feel like waqing through all that info. to figure it out.

IQStudio
12-08-2004, 01:40 AM
Could it be a designer that is adding his clients to your hosting? He is using their billing information, but his contact number?

rois
12-08-2004, 04:13 AM
But the referrer joe666 and kill666 looks really strange unless of course he's had the 2 accounts with that name. And if thats the case then coight would have let it through.

coight
12-08-2004, 10:42 PM
Originally posted by CDXSolutions
Could it be a designer that is adding his clients to your hosting? He is using their billing information, but his contact number?

Using the same domain?

Hogbeast
12-09-2004, 05:40 PM
I'm new here, but have already learned a lot from other people's situations. Thanks for posting the fraudsters... we'll watch out for them on our site, also. We're dealing with one that may be fraud right now, it's such a sticky situation.

ironcom
12-10-2004, 12:05 AM
Thanks for the Tip. I'd hate to have someone try to scam me. Its hard enough running a proper hosting company without having to worry about which clients want to ruin your bank account

bryonhost1
12-10-2004, 07:57 AM
Hi!
Perhaps completely automated account setup is as bad an idea I thought it was... :) Thanks.

Bryon

ironcom
12-10-2004, 01:03 PM
Bryon,
I agree to an extent. I ttakes away the work you need to do, but does have that additional layer of problems
For customers who choose credit card payment, and there payment goes through, the account activates right away. For customers who choose any other payment method, or if the system detects any duplicate accounts/names/etc it will flag it for review