View Full Version : What's happened to WizardsHosting?
avara 02-02-2002, 01:08 PM What happened to their web site? They advertise on WHT, but yet their web site has been down for the past few weeks for me at least:
http://www.wizardshosting.com/
I'm not trying to badmouth them. In fact I've only heard good comments about them. I'm just curious why their site is not accessible.
mdrussell 02-02-2002, 01:12 PM Their site works fine for me...;)
dektong 02-02-2002, 01:15 PM working fine for me too ...
cheers,
:beer:
avara 02-02-2002, 01:18 PM Still isn't pulling up for me.
dektong 02-02-2002, 01:21 PM what's the error your are getting? Probably you got blcoked by their portsentry?
cheers,
:beer:
avara 02-02-2002, 01:22 PM I'm getting the following error:
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access / on this server.
Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Apache/1.3.20 Server at www.wizardshosting.com Port 80
Seems to me like some kind of server misconfiguration? :eek:
avara 02-02-2002, 01:24 PM Originally posted by dektong
[B]what's the error your are getting? Probably you got blcoked by their portsentry?/B]
That might be the case if I did a portscan or something on their server, which I did not. I just typed in their web site address as normal, that's all.
Incognito 02-02-2002, 01:39 PM Their site works perfectly and has everytime I've checked it. And another person comes with an inflammatory headline.
avara 02-02-2002, 01:50 PM Originally posted by Incognito
Their site works perfectly and has everytime I've checked it. And another person comes with an inflammatory headline.
That was not my intention, I'm sorry you feel that way. As I said in my first post, I've only heard good comments about WizardsHosting, and am not trying to put them in a bad light at all.
However I have not been able to access their web site, so I was curious to find out the reason for this (I still haven't). When I click an ad here and it doesn't work for weeks, yet it used to work, you can't blame me for asking about it.
Unlike some people who seem to jump on here and post just because a site has been down for a few hours (yes you know who you are), I never do that.
Matt Lightner 02-02-2002, 02:22 PM Well, I know that quite a few hosts here block access from IP ranges that are known to be from certain parts of the world. The obvious reason for this is to prevent fraud coming from those countries (some countries have a much higher fraud rate than others--and it may be worth it to some companies to just block access from all of their IP ranges and risk losing one or two valid sales from that region).
I can tell you this: a 403 forbidden error would NOT be the result of a portsentry block. That is a message from the webserver--which means you are making a successful connection to the machine, but it has been instructed to deny you access for some reason.
Check with Wizardshosting to see if they are blocking any IP address ranges from accessing their site. If you send them your IP, I'm sure they will be happy to grant you access.
Hope that helps.
avara 02-02-2002, 02:38 PM Thanks Matt. If I lived in the Philippines, eastern Europe, former USSR, or some place like that I would have thought of that. However, I don't. I'm now guessing my IP address range must have been accidentally added when they were entering those countries.
Can someone please give me a valid email address where I can contact them (remember, I can't see their web site)?
ebird 02-02-2002, 04:35 PM Here is its support forum, powered by wbb.
http://whsupport.com/
CRego3D 02-02-2002, 10:25 PM Hi Avara
Sorry you are having trouble accessign us, but like Matt so rightfully explained we did block access to some countries because of the level of Fraud and Spammers we where getting
We are thinking of changing that and instead of blocking the site we thinking of just blocking the signup page
I apologise, unfortunately people like you ended beeing blocked because of the abuse caused by some of your contrymen :(
CRego3D 02-02-2002, 10:27 PM Hi Avara
I just noticed you say you DON'T live in those countries .. please let me know your IP range, it is probably listed by mistaque in our deny list then .. :)
|