NMCB
11-25-2000, 03:45 AM
Hi. I received an unsolicited e-mail to move my parked domains to clickfinders.com and in return I get to share the ad revenue. Has anyone done business with them? Thanks.
![]() | View Full Version : ClickFinders NMCB 11-25-2000, 03:45 AM Hi. I received an unsolicited e-mail to move my parked domains to clickfinders.com and in return I get to share the ad revenue. Has anyone done business with them? Thanks. etLux 11-25-2000, 04:41 AM Let me get this straight... they want to put advertising on your parked domains? GeorgeC 11-25-2000, 04:45 AM No, but I would be wary if I were you, even if the proposal was an authentic one. Basically, the question you have to ask yourself is, are you ready to transfer control of the domain over to a stranger for a cut of ad revenue that may or may not ever materialize (they never promised they could generate money off of it)? etLux 11-25-2000, 04:48 AM You've got a point, there, George. Something sounds flakey about this. My first thought was, well, given that a dormant domain is apt to have somewhere around zero traffic, how are they going to make money off it? GeorgeC 11-25-2000, 06:49 PM I guess the domain must be one of those generic ones, where they figured traffic will flow naturally to it. Still, like you said, the proposal sounds flaky. When will people realize the domain game is over? :) Félix C.Courtemanche 11-25-2000, 07:22 PM Originally posted by GeorgeC When will people realize the domain game is over? :) The same day people will stop to send SPAM to waste bandwidth and HD space. Did anyone here ever _bought_ anything coming from spam? BC 11-25-2000, 07:27 PM No, but then again I'm not part of the 1% of the Net population who finds it tasty :) etLux 11-25-2000, 07:29 PM Buy anything from them... lol? On sheer spit, never. I have cultivated the habit, however, of tracing the header back to the source, looking up the admin in WHOIS, and then sending them back their own spam with a bold note to this effect... THIS IS SPAM YOUR DOMAIN IS BEING REMOVED FROM THE INTERNIC REMOVAL FROM THE INTERNIC WILL REQUIRE SEVEN TO TEN DAYS THEREAFTER, YOUR DOMAIN AND EMAIL WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE IN NORTH AMERICA As most of the spammers are ignorant beyond belief, I've gotten many, many delightful replies, pleading with me to re-instate their domains... lol. BC 11-25-2000, 07:34 PM ROFLMAO! And now for my next party trick... :D (must remember that etLux..) Jag 11-25-2000, 07:37 PM Classic, this sounds like something we should do to a spammer (former client) of ours. They sent over 600,000 emails out. Perhaps you could drop them your pleasant notice :) etLux 11-25-2000, 07:37 PM I think the part about it taking seven to ten days is a nice touch. Chicken 11-25-2000, 07:39 PM Originally posted by etLux I've gotten many, many delightful replies, pleading with me to re-instate their domains... lol. Too funny... email them back saying, "Ok, but you're being given this onnnnnnne last chance! Don't screw it upnow!" etLux 11-25-2000, 07:41 PM I generally email back with this: EMAIL BLOCKED INTERNIC ERROR 515-17 Please contact support@networksolutions.com BC 11-25-2000, 07:42 PM Touche. |