Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Legal Advice?


gertiebeth
01-30-2002, 06:29 AM
A URL submission company has added one of my CGI scripts to their software without my permission and has ignored my e-mails asking them to remove my address. The company is Submit Wolf http://www.trellian.com/swolf/index.html and I need some advice on how to proceed. Their site lists a phone number for support contact, but it isn't toll free and is in Australia. I am in the US. I will call them if I have to, but I thought I would check here first and see if anyone has any advice for me.

Thanks in advance.

Chicken
01-30-2002, 09:59 AM
I remember you mentioned this before, and I can't remember if you 1) renamed the script, 2) added a referrers requirement, 3) ???

gertiebeth
01-30-2002, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by Chicken
I remember you mentioned this before, and I can't remember if you 1) renamed the script, 2) added a referrers requirement, 3) ???

All of the above, plus I added a random password option. But that doesn't stop the fact that I am getting 500+ CGI calls every hour...

zupanm
01-30-2002, 10:30 AM
Your best bet is to look through the yellow pages and make some calls to lawyers. You'll want to find one that knows about the Internet, or better yet has taken some Internet cases. Also one that does like copywrite proctection and such. If they get a letter from a lawyer chances are they will stop. If not takes further steps.

allan
01-30-2002, 11:19 AM
You might want to contact Ivan Hoffman:

http://www.ivanhoffman.com/

He's pretty well known around Internet circles, and is pretty good about giving sound advice.

gertiebeth
01-30-2002, 11:24 AM
Originally posted by uuallan
You might want to contact Ivan Hoffman:

http://www.ivanhoffman.com/

He's pretty well known around Internet circles, and is pretty good about giving sound advice.

Thanks uuallan. I'll check it out...

gertiebeth
01-30-2002, 09:36 PM
SubmitWolf wrote back, but now are accusing me of spamming them!! <shakes head> The messages they are getting from me are request denials for sites being submitted through there own software...

Hello,

We sincerely regret any inconvenience this may have caused you and we will immediately REMOVE your website from the Engine Scripts of SubmitWolf PRO. It is possible, though unfortunate, that due to maintaining such a large database that this site may have slipped through. We are aware of the problems that this may cause and will see to it that this kind of thing does not occur again.

On the other hand we ask that you immediately cease ALL activities regarding illegally spamming our Sales and Support Department inboxes with unsolicited mail. This activity will not be tolerated regardless of the issue at hand and we strongly suggest that you stop at once otherwise we will be forced to take further action.

Thankyou in advance for your understanding in this matter :)
Kind Regards,

Torsten Loebert
mailto:support@trellian.com
Trellian Support
http://www.trellian.com


So, they obviously haven't removed my address, otherwise they wouldn't be getting any email denials from me.

Should I say "screw it" and forget the whole thing?

Tim Greer
01-30-2002, 10:37 PM
Firewall their site's (engines) IP from accessing your server and you'll not have to worry about them hitting your site anymore. Or is this user's seeing your site indexed and visiting the link?

gertiebeth
01-30-2002, 10:58 PM
Originally posted by Tim_Greer
Firewall their site's (engines) IP from accessing your server and you'll not have to worry about them hitting your site anymore. Or is this user's seeing your site indexed and visiting the link?

The user is a software company that added my URL to their software database. Submissions are coming from all different IP addresses... <shrugs>

allan
01-30-2002, 11:22 PM
Originally posted by gertiebeth

The user is a software company that added my URL to their software database. Submissions are coming from all different IP addresses... <shrugs>

Oh, like one of those:

"We'll add your website to 250,000 of the most popular search engines and guarantee you top 2 placements on the 5 most popular search engines!! All for a one time fee of $19.95 -- Act now, and we'll throw in a set of Ginsu Knives!!"

trellian
01-31-2002, 02:29 AM
Hello,

We have received your request and have removed your sites as requested from SubmitWolf. Email submissions forwarded to us is not required.

The update of this can however take some time for our customers to download the latest search engine list, who have been notified.

For immediate results we recommned to either amend the location of the submission pages or make changes to the actual scripts as this will stop the submisions going through.

For more information and instructions please email:
sales@trellian.com

Thank you.

Kind Regards
Lisa Pendlebury

venomx
02-04-2002, 08:45 PM
LOL They responded here because I pointed them to this post.

They told me in a reply that you are spamming THEIR customers. LOL

RapidColo
02-04-2002, 10:12 PM
Anther good reason why i went with AddWebPro, trellian.com
SUCKS all around now.. LOL

JDF
02-05-2002, 12:02 AM
Originally posted by trellian
Hello,

We have received your request and have removed your sites as requested from SubmitWolf. Email submissions forwarded to us is not required.

The update of this can however take some time for our customers to download the latest search engine list, who have been notified.


:angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:

How about you ask people before you add their sites to your little list!!

priyadi
02-05-2002, 04:42 AM
Originally posted by trellian
Hello,

We have received your request and have removed your sites as requested from SubmitWolf. Email submissions forwarded to us is not required.

The update of this can however take some time for our customers to download the latest search engine list, who have been notified.

For immediate results we recommned to either amend the location of the submission pages or make changes to the actual scripts as this will stop the submisions going through.

For more information and instructions please email:
sales@trellian.com


It is a very irresponsible thing to add other people 'search engine' to your list without their permission. You should ask for a permission first. And I guess you don't even bother to verify that the site is really a search engine.

250000 search engines? I don't believe there are so many search engines out there.

allan
02-05-2002, 07:48 AM
Originally posted by priyadi

250000 search engines? I don't believe there are so many search engines out there.

I don't think so either, but I am fairly certain I have seen spam with that number...of course you have to consider the source :)

Domenico
02-05-2002, 09:45 AM
I must say that they are the only one having LOCAL versions wich are very cool and WORK!

I'm content with trellian(local version) allthough the thread starter is right offcourse.