Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Whois false: any hope obtaining?


bear
10-31-2004, 03:03 PM
I've been interested in a domain that would be a nice complement to my main one, but it's already registered. Thing is, the whois looks to be false.
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Thomas Domains
Domainstrada
Domania, NA 90021
KY
+2421242154

Is there any recourse for me to request this name from the registrar (or at least that they demand real info or delete it), or is it a monumental waste of time even trying? It's been registered since 2000, and is due for renewal in Feb of this coming year. Chances are they will renew. Domain resolves to a search portal...yet another decent name blackholed into a search site.

Lubeca
10-31-2004, 03:20 PM
You can submit a Whois Data Complaint here:

http://wdprs.internic.net/

- but that doesn't mean that you'll get the domain as a reward!

bear
10-31-2004, 03:34 PM
Wouldn't that be nice...?
I understand, and thanks for the link. Might be worth the trouble anyway.

thai-internat9
11-01-2004, 10:45 AM
A Whois Data Complaint ?
And if some domain thieves do stolen your WHOIS data to register the same domain name but with another TLD, like .info ?

See the thread > Domain Whois ID Theft

It seems, that there are so many victims from enom.com and sipence.com

eSology
11-01-2004, 10:50 AM
Originally posted by thai-internat9
A Whois Data Complaint ?
And if some domain thieves do stolen your WHOIS data to register the same domain name but with another TLD, like .info ?

See the thread > Domain Whois ID Theft

It seems, that there are so many victims from enom.com and sipence.com

Victims? Give me a break. eNom is wrong in what they did because of the way they went about doing it. But to say "victims" would be stretching it...they ended up being FREE.

thai-internat9
11-01-2004, 11:05 AM
Nothing ist free, of course !

We have registered with a reseller from enom.com several domains with TLD .net Some time later we have seen, that exactly the same domains, but with the TLD .info have been registered, abusing of our name and all data and, of course, without our authorization nor information.

On the WHOIS our real paid .net domains has exactly the same entry als in the .info domains. They simply used all our data without our permission. Free? We have received nothing for free !

Just read the thread > Domain Whois ID Theft

eSology
11-01-2004, 11:13 AM
I have read that thread. These domains are FREE! You need to contact your reseller because they can push them to your account for FREE. If they don't then they are the crooks not eNom.

bear
11-01-2004, 11:16 AM
:topic:
Umm....issue solved guys. Find another venue....;)

eSology
11-01-2004, 11:17 AM
I would if the guy wouldn't blast the same message in 5 different threads.

thai-internat9
11-01-2004, 11:34 AM
acts837 wrote "These domains are FREE! You need to contact your reseller..."

Of course, we have done it. Despite our various mails and complaints to our reseller, to sipence.com and also to matt@enom.com, info@enom.com, support@enom.com and more, enom.com never has only answered !

Issue solved guys? Nothing from all, unfortunately, bear.

We have right now instructed an attorney-at-law to file a legal complaint !

bear
11-01-2004, 11:41 AM
Kids these days..:rolleyes:

Issue solved, as in *my* issue. You seem to have issues of your own, however. Maybe your own ran...erm, thread would be appropriate?

4solutions
11-01-2004, 12:10 PM
Originally posted by bear
Issue solved, as in *my* issue. So, don't keep us in suspense, bear... how did you get the whois info? ;)