Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : ICANN : aplus.net


Kerry Jones
10-25-2004, 12:22 PM
Does ICANN even have a clue of what i'm trying to report? It looks like the typical dribble they would send on any topic. I reported aplus a few months ago and the sad thing is it will take another 6 months to get a reply from them again.

Thank you for your inquiry concerning unwanted solicitation from a company offering domain name registration services. Please note that the company that sent this spam is not an ICANN-accredited registrar.

Many companies that are not accredited by ICANN offer domain registration services -- some are reselling names obtained from accredited registrars. However, ICANN does not accredit resellers or hosting companies. Please see <http://www.icann.org/registrars/accredited-list.html> for a complete list of ICANN-accredited registrars.

We share your concerns regarding spam. If you have not already done so, we encourage you to address your complaint to the sender's Internet Service Provider. You may also want to address your complaint to private-sector agencies involved in addressing customer complaints, or governmental consumer protection agencies (i.e. The Better Business Bureau).

Best regards,

ICANN



_____

From: **********@aol.com [mailto:**********@aol.com]
Sent: Monday, August 02, 2004 5:11 PM
To: icann@icann.org
Subject: aplus.net



To Whom It May Concern:

It has come to my attention that Aplus ( http://www.aplus.net ) is using whois records to market designing and web hosting services by abusing the whois system. It seems they use a program to download the whois records for domains recently registered and then begin calling and disturbing these indivduals. I would like to see ICANN sue Aplus for the violation of ICANN's rule of using the whois system for marketing purposes. These guys have been doing it for months and I would like to direct you to multiple topics about this shady tactic. In some chats you will see Aplus representives admitting to this tactic.

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=243286&highlight=aplus.net
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=304060&highlight=aplus.net
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=303577&highlight=aplus.net
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=297472&highlight=aplus.net
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=261388&highlight=aplus.net
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=263132&highlight=aplus.netBig Thread
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=263132&highlight=aplus.net



They have alot of complains about their registering service and as a violation of the organzations terms I would also like to see their registering privelleges revoked for their misuse of information. Please sue or contact Aplus on this behavior and teach them a lesson not to be using this information for their personal gain. I look forward to ICANN's response on the matter.

Regards,

Kerry Jones

KIA-Joe
10-25-2004, 12:28 PM
The thing is though aplus.net is not ICANN registered so they can't do anything about it.

Kerry Jones
10-25-2004, 12:41 PM
I'm sure they can do something to limit their control on domain registerations. If ICANN won't stop people and go after them for mass marketing the whois what stops me from joining them?

I of course have the intergrity not to market, but i'm sure there is people out there who would market on the whois.

KIA-Joe
10-25-2004, 12:46 PM
The next thing you should do is find out who aplus.net's ICANN registrar is and contact them about their actions.

Most likely they won't do a thing because I'm sure aplus.net is one of their biggest resellers.

ub3r
10-25-2004, 12:52 PM
names4ever.com is the registrar, who seem to be the same company as aplus.net


Domain Name: APLUS.NET
Registrar: ABACUS AMERICA, INC. DBA NAMES4EVER
Whois Server: whois.names4ever.com
Referral URL: http://www.names4ever.com
Name Server: NS2.ABAC.COM
Name Server: NS1.ABAC.COM
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Updated Date: 11-jul-2004
Creation Date: 10-aug-1998
Expiration Date: 09-aug-2005

Domain Name: NAMES4EVER.COM
Registrar: ABACUS AMERICA, INC. DBA NAMES4EVER
Whois Server: whois.names4ever.com
Referral URL: http://www.names4ever.com
Name Server: NS2.ABAC.COM
Name Server: NS1.ABAC.COM
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Updated Date: 27-may-2004
Creation Date: 15-jul-1999
Expiration Date: 15-jul-2012

KIA-Joe
10-25-2004, 12:54 PM
You would need to report it as

"ABACUS AMERICA, INC. DBA NAMES4EVER"

because ICANN won't be hassled to look into the issue.

sid007
10-25-2004, 02:30 PM
Go For it Kerry.

If you make a petition, I'll gladly sign (Physically or eSign) it.

Aplus.NET has harrassed us as well.

reanncw
10-25-2004, 03:07 PM
Can ICANN sue? Even though it isn't a legal authority?

Kerry Jones
10-25-2004, 03:11 PM
I have sent ICANN another email regarding the matter that took place many months ago. I see what they say and give you a reply on it.

ldcdc
10-25-2004, 06:40 PM
Can ICANN sue? Even though it isn't a legal authority?I don't know about that, but they were the ones who have given ABACUS AMERICA, INC. DBA NAMES4EVER the title and the right to act like an accredited registrar.

http://www.icann.org/registrars/accredited-list.html

I suppose it is within their power to take that away from them.

You're doing a good thing Kerry!

Kerry Jones
10-25-2004, 07:21 PM
You're doing a good thing Kerry!

Its one of many things I do to make the internet a place of constant harassment, indentity theft, and fraud. I've seen some more emails with the information you guys have provided me. It will be a breath of fresh air when Aplus is barred access to the whois search.

I do believe ICANN can sue them for damages because in the agreement it specifically says marketing with the whois database is strictly prohibited, so I assume they must of violated the agreement.

4solutions
10-25-2004, 09:37 PM
I think you're wasting your time with ICANN'T... their employees are only concerned with making arrangements for the next of their infamous and expensive junkets which we all pay for. Face it folks, ICANN really doesn't care about us or domain names. They only care about maximizing revenue for the "accredited" registrars. ICANN knows who butters their bread.

Kerry, I respect what you are trying to do, but I don't think you will get any intelligent response or action from ICANN. I know that I never have.

dmaven
10-26-2004, 09:10 PM
Icann is pretty much useless in these matters. I have been harassed by these people for a while whenever a register a name without whois protection.

Hard@Work
11-03-2004, 07:50 PM
Who are your best allies? Do you think that GoDaddy and Tucows want Abacus America (Aplus.net) employees calling their clients? ICANN is bombarded with complaints, in order to take action pressure has to be applied. The other registrars have already taken notice and action against Aplus.net, but I'm sure the consumer complaints would help add some weight to the matter.

I am not aware of any legal recourse against soliciting from the whois. I am aware of the intense political game the registrars play. If you want to do something about this you may look into that arena instead of being a solo guy/gal complaining to an overworked and over-beurocratic governing body.

kohashi
11-05-2004, 05:10 PM
Its not worth their time, there are more important issues at hand than advertising the whois. Godaddy does it to (or used to) on their expired domains they catch.

4solutions
11-05-2004, 06:24 PM
BTW... I had two telephone solicitations from Aplus.net today. The first one I blew the guy off because I was busy, but the second, came during lunch so I had some fun with him.

I was asking what "web hosting" was and could he explain to me how the web worked now that I had my *first* domain name. Cheap entertainment. :D

dmaven
11-05-2004, 06:42 PM
Originally posted by 4solutions
I was asking what "web hosting" was and could he explain to me how the web worked now that I had my *first* domain name. Cheap entertainment. :D

4solutions - you are so cruel

:D

kohashi
11-05-2004, 06:46 PM
rofl. those guys are just plain spammers. harvest whois and call people about it.

eSology
11-05-2004, 07:26 PM
Originally posted by 4solutions
BTW... I had two telephone solicitations from Aplus.net today. The first one I blew the guy off because I was busy, but the second, came during lunch so I had some fun with him.

I was asking what "web hosting" was and could he explain to me how the web worked now that I had my *first* domain name. Cheap entertainment. :D

Ebil, very ebil number cruncher! ;)