Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : new scam? NameRegistar.com


dmaven
10-14-2004, 09:51 PM
DOMAIN NAME REGISTRATION : xx***********

We are writing to inform you that registration of the domain xx*********** is available for you to secure.

To register and secure this domain through NameRegistar.com simply complete the online form below. The domain will be registered for 2 years. You will receive confirmation of the transaction by email.

Domain names have become important intellectual property assets, we encourage you to consider the potential future value the above domain name could have for your organization compared to the small registration fee.

This form can also be printed and faxed to +1-646-365-3058


I am getting spam from these guys on names not even available. Do not know much about them but a heads up

Dave Zan
10-15-2004, 10:19 AM
Their name's registered with Tucows. A Tucows reseller, perhaps?

ajaspers
10-15-2004, 09:15 PM
They misspelled registrar :stickout:

4solutions
10-15-2004, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by ajaspers
They misspelled registrar :stickout: I think they did that on purpose for branding. ;)

Interesting thing is that their name was registered not so long ago on 04-Sep-2004 with eNom. AND their website hasn't even been working for me over the past 3 hours. Not a good start for their business

On a more serious note, I really don't mind POSTAL MAIL solicitations like this. I mean if they want to pay for the postage, then they can play the direct mail advertising game and share my mailbox with all the other junk mail. But if they are sending this out by email, then they should be boiled in oil! Email gets my immediate attention - and that's the way it should be.

Bashar
10-17-2004, 05:42 AM
got 7 emails from this spammers with the same contents

they email xowners of dropped domains :angry:

gghosting
10-17-2004, 10:13 AM
I get e-mails from all kinds of companies and also letters in the mail about: renew your domain name for another 2 years, this domain is available, be the first to get it, etc.

I hate them!

dmaven
10-17-2004, 06:01 PM
I get this kind of nonsense time to time. I cannot stand these kind of companies.

Sean@Articgaming.
10-17-2004, 08:16 PM
I've been getting it alot lately, it's bypassing my spam filters.

Bashar
10-20-2004, 08:43 PM
Originally posted by Sean@Articgaming.
I've been getting it alot lately, it's bypassing my spam filters.

because they are contacting you directly and new non reported mailserver to spawn (or any spam databases)

dmaven
10-21-2004, 10:03 AM
yep, just send to spamcop when you do get it.