Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : web-x.net ???


Scooter
01-19-2002, 11:12 PM
Has anyone hosted with Web Extreme ( http://www.web-x.net/ ). I have not found much when doing a search.

Information so far:

- Domain registered on 20 June 2001.

- They have bandwidth listed as unlimited, but their T & C's are clear in defining what is an abuse of unlimited traffic.

- The BBB lists them as "satisfactory".


Any comments are welcome.

Chicken
01-19-2002, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by Scooter
They have bandwidth listed as unlimited...
I stopped reading right here. I wish someone would reassure me that it isn't this easy to sucker people into buying packages. I hope it isn't, but I fear the worst...

voxtreme - philip
01-20-2002, 12:44 AM
Looks like they are ***** resellers so once set-up you are at the mercy of the ***** support staff.

Just noticed ***** offers unlimited transfer to its resellers.

The website is a dumbed down version of *****'s site with all references to "*****" replaced by "Web Extreme".....looks like being a ***** reseller means you can rip all their website content as well.

bluarcher
02-26-2002, 09:44 PM
I really don't like bashing anyone but after the experience we are having with Web-X now, I would recommend avoiding them.

After reading their Terms of Service, we contacted them regarding our site because of high bandwidth. We asked them to review the site because it was transferring 5-6 GB/week and they came back and said we "would not be charged for overages and would not be locked out". Needless to say at 20GB, we were locked out.

We had to send a copy of the e-mail they sent us telling us we "would not be locked out" and they re-activated our account.

This month we contacted them in advance of 20GB asking for additional bandwidth so we would not be locked out and we have yet to hear from them after repeated phone calls and emails and we have been locked out again--of course.

DO NOT EVER SIGN UP WITH A HOST OFFERING UNLIMITED OR DOES NOT HAVE A PHONE NUMBER CONTACT. The phone number I have I got from the Network Solutions WhoIs lookup.

If someone can help me, please contact me!

Ed Bindler
bluarcher@yahoo.com