Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Eryxma


aussiejosh
01-12-2002, 10:27 AM
I'm thinking of moving to a new host if I can find the perfect deal (I'm with WorldzonePro... certain things there are making me feel like it's time to go) and I found http://www.eryxma.com.
Their plan looks perfect (for me) but some things are putting me off a bit. They say on the news page that they haven't been "live" for long but on their "about us" page they say they have all these big customers (including Microsoft...). I'm pretty suspicious of things lately, because I "worked" for Nuke.to and the owner just pulled the plug for no apparent reason and with no prior notice.

So, what does everybody else think of them? Would you go with them? I suppose I could try it out with the 30 day money back guarentee, but I'm in Australia so $35US translates into around $66AU (I'm unemployed) and I can't risk them not coughing up a refund if I decide to leave. Not to mention my dad would never lend me his card again.

I'd love to hear from anyone with experiences with them (even pre-sales experiences).

Thanks in advance, :)
Josh.

P.S. I have done a search, but I didn't find anything other than someone with the username "eryxma".

(Edited to fix some errors)

Incognito
01-12-2002, 11:29 AM
Sorry, but can't resist this comment...Eryxma sounds like a skin disease or something...

Ah, site indicates it means "What's Next".

Can't help you re: this host...had never previously heard of them. And, unfortunately, their site doesn't give much information as many links aren't yet working, says nothing about their network.

As to the inconsistencies....for themselves probably new, but perhaps for the NOC or the company they resell for lots of clients.

And I do get tired of seeing the pics of the same man (in this case) or woman on sites around the net.

I would suggest searching further on this forum to read about many excellent hosts.

aussiejosh
01-12-2002, 11:37 AM
Thanks, Incognito :)

I have the same feelings as you regarding the lack of information on their network, though. I did a WHOIS on their domain and saw something about site5.com, so maybe they're reselling/leasing a server from them?

There are a lot of hosts I know of that are really good, but out of my price range... which is why I'm looking at reasonably cheap hosts (you get what you pay for though :( ).

If I had my way I'd have a dedicated server for the fun of it.

Thanks again :)

Josh

BenDoherty
01-12-2002, 11:54 AM
Josh,

I would agree with Incognito as i see no way of ordering hosting from the site as their doesnt seem to be an secure ordering and many links as Incognito said are not working :(

Search the forum, im sure there are lots more hosts that do the same sort of package.

Good luck

Kindest Regards
Ben

aussiejosh
01-12-2002, 11:58 AM
Damn, I hoped you'd say they were the best host in the world and be able to prove it. :D
Oh well, you're both right. I'll look elsewhere. :)

Thanks Ben :)

Josh

avara
01-12-2002, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by Incognito
Sorry, but can't resist this comment...Eryxma sounds like a skin disease or something...

Well that, or some kind of medication... :eek:

Mester
01-12-2002, 01:22 PM
Hmm that works out to $3/month....
What features to you need, exactly?
I'd suggest these hosts:

www.dollarhost.com <-- budget host
www.tera-byte.com
www.phenominet.com
www.one2host.com/hosting.htm <-- "unlimited trasfer" - a rep told me this was limited to 5gb, but $4/month not bad

I hope this helps :)
(edit - fixed an URL)

aussiejosh
01-12-2002, 01:33 PM
Thanks Mester :)

I've heard of most of those but for some reason didn't even think of them.
Although, I've managed to find hosting since I posted this thread. Ben and Incognito both contacted me offering help, and I'm going with Ben because I was speaking to him first (futurehosts.co.uk... is this considered a (illegal) plug? uh oh...).
Thanks to both of them and everyone else! Who needs the hosting requests forum? :D

Josh

HostInspect
01-24-2002, 07:17 PM
I guess I have to talk about these people...

I work for these people, and I have to set up and talk.

There has been a set date for us to open on the 18th...and well as things always go it didn't right as planned.....little behind schedule and too many things that its being involved here it has been a big ride.

I don't think eryxma will be ready just yet as I figured out a sec ago my boss got really , really mad at our web designer about 2 days ago about some design he did for us.

I have been told the company should be ready in about 2-3 days...so give it some time. I believe with me around I can make this great :)

Justin S
01-24-2002, 08:46 PM
You might want to inform your boss that his web designer isn't exactly "original." Compare the footers of the following two sites:

http://www.eryxma.com

http://www.sitepoint.com

Not a complete site rip-off, but that's pretty substantial.

madmatty
01-24-2002, 11:48 PM
Not just the footers. The whole thing looks ... well similar.

HostInspect
01-25-2002, 02:18 AM
Remember that argument I told you about my boss bit*** at the designer? This might be it, I am not to sure but sure sounds like it.

:eek:

I will talk to him about this tomorrow.

CRA
01-26-2002, 03:01 AM
Originally posted by madmatty
Not just the footers. The whole thing looks ... well similar.

http://www.eryxma.com./support.shtml
http://www.your-site.com/host-one.html

Finding one copied image, I wonder if the others are copied. A lot of the pics on eryxma have a certain style that the ones on YS have.

But anyways...



"Darwin Streaming Server 4"

:eek: This was exactly what I was searching for.

On the one hand, makes sense that a cheap host would support Quicktime streaming since the Darwin server is free, over RealMedia (how much is G2?).

On the other hand, a lot of hosts who've answered my questions don't support Darwin Streaming or G2 because of the bandwidth these kinds of streaming could eat up.

hm, contemplating whether eryxma could act as an alternative to VideoRelay (http://www.videorelay.com) or PlayStream (http://www.playstream.com).

:confused:

Angel78
01-26-2002, 07:49 AM
Originally posted by CRA


http://www.eryxma.com./support.shtml
http://www.your-site.com/host-one.html

Finding one copied image, I wonder if the others are copied. A lot of the pics on eryxma have a certain style that the ones on YS have.



Perhaps they both got the same pic from...hm corbis.com or something like that...

CRA
01-26-2002, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by Angel78


Perhaps they both got the same pic from...hm corbis.com or something like that...

In that case, I'd like to know which stock photography collection all these companies are using so that when I place an order in to Eyewire (http://www.eyewire.com), I don't make the mistake of getting what everyone else is using.

;)

HostInspect
01-26-2002, 03:09 PM
I was told by our new webdesigners is by comstock.com the images we use for Eryxma Networks.

equiller
04-13-2002, 02:12 PM
I have seen that picture of the guy around other places, too. Apparently, it is from stock. I don't see any problem with using stock photography, it adds to the design when you see photos like that, and we all know that no site actually took the pictures themselves! As for the design copying thing, it appears that wasn't eryxma's problem but just the webdesigner's...

Neo3Net
04-13-2002, 05:22 PM
They stole that picture of that girl from CafePress.com Don't bother looking because CafePress.com changed their layout recently.

Just thought you would like to know.

Neo3Net
04-13-2002, 05:23 PM
Sorry didn't read the posts. Big Mistake Disregard last post.

Thanks