Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Copy-copy-copy


Martie
01-06-2002, 02:13 PM
resolved

The Laughing Cow
01-06-2002, 03:09 PM
It does look very similar. Especially the copyright notices at the bottom of the page

Though I have used a similar design on a site i made at http://mdnhw.co.uk (If you click one of the links and enter the website you will see)

Though I had never seen your site before. I think paypals site is quite similar too or was.

serve-you
01-06-2002, 05:50 PM
Send a nice little email, with a CC to legal, or abuse @hostcaters.com. They usually get the picture. I deal with people copying one of my sites at least once a week. If nothing else, point out the sections that are blatently stolen (using your email addy, your images etc) they will at least get this changed. Not much else you can do unfortunately, because there is nothing protecting your site from this.

-Dan

(SH)Saeed
01-06-2002, 07:14 PM
I don't know if I would call that a "copy", more like an "inspiration". The blue frame around the page is a common design and I have seen similair ones on many websites before. The buttons are copied, except they change on mouse over.

Just my $0.02

Martie
01-06-2002, 07:33 PM
well more than anything it was the usage of my email, as well as order hosting everywhere....but Ive emailed, and since posting this he must be uploading things as he makes changes...kinda funny, the lengths some people will go to!
It is annoying though that our humanclick is still embedded there.

Chicken
01-06-2002, 11:32 PM
Originally posted by Mr. Amazon
I don't know if I would call that a "copy", more like an "inspiration". The blue frame around the page is a common design and I have seen similair ones on many websites before. The buttons are copied, except they change on mouse over.

Just my $0.02
Well, I checked the code and it is more than an inspiration (linnks to hostcaters secure cert, etc., but other than emailing them (and provider, etc.) blasting them for ripping the site, not sure what else you can do.

Person edited it in Frontpage (and obviously has no design skills), so I don't think he can remove the 'hidden' code the isn't WYSIWYG.

Martie
01-07-2002, 12:04 AM
Originally posted by Chicken

Well, I checked the code and it is more than an inspiration (linnks to hostcaters secure cert, etc., but other than emailing them (and provider, etc.) blasting them for ripping the site, not sure what else you can do.



Exactly my point, the links, reference etc., thats more than bold, eeeh?!
Well we will see if it gets changed....:rolleyes:

perpetual
01-07-2002, 01:47 AM
just wondering.. .how did you come across this?

----------------------------
PerpetualHosting.net - Affordable, Reliable, Perpetual

serve-you
01-07-2002, 01:49 AM
My guess would be referrals in stats :eek3:

-Dan