Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : OMG! Talk About Blatent Theft!


Shawn (GEcom)
01-05-2002, 05:47 PM
This is the most blatent theft I have ever seen in my life.

First, check out GamingExcellence.com (http://www.gamingexcellence.com), run by myself and several other hard working individuals.

Now, check out this site a came across (http://www.anbike.com)

Talk about blatent theft! They removed the logo and everything, and replaced it with an ad of their own. Pathetic!

Look at this webpage: http://www.anbike.com/pc/features/awards/2000/index.shtml

Also, the whole site of theirs is an exact copy of ours several months ago. That image on the main page was made my myself. If you try to login to the "Media Center", the page will not be found as they could not access our secure areas to steal the pages.

They even left the image with our name on it. Also, check the META tags of every help document, they forgot to replace one of the tags.

If anyone here can help me track down an e-mail address or some method of contacting them, it would be appreciated. From the WHOIS, it says they are located in CHINA, and if so, this is going to be a pain in the butt.

Kind Regards,
Shawn Snider
Editor, GamingExcellence.com

Rewdog
01-05-2002, 05:55 PM
Wow, thats too bad.
Not even a good job of ripping, and not even the best layout to rip off (no offense ;) ):(

Shawn (GEcom)
01-05-2002, 05:57 PM
Its not just the layout. That is all of our content as well. I have no clue how they managed to spider the whole site and get all the pages so quickly...

Rewdog
01-05-2002, 05:57 PM
http://www.anbike.com/contact/index.shtml

You probably looked there anyhow. I did a DNS lookup on their domain name:


Address lookup
canonical name anbike.com.
aliases
addresses 202.101.165.59


Domain Whois record
Querying whois.internic.net with "dom anbike.com"...

Whois Server Version 1.3

Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

Domain Name: ANBIKE.COM
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Whois Server: whois.inww.com
Referral URL: http://www.inww.com
Name Server: DNS2.HICHINA.COM
Name Server: DNS1.HICHINA.COM
Updated Date: 05-nov-2001


>>> Last update of whois database: Sat, 5 Jan 2002 05:10:41 EST <<<

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and
Registrars.


Querying whois.inww.com with "anbike.com"...

Domain Name.......... anbike.com
Creation Date........ 2001-04-10
Registration Date.... 2001-04-10
Expiry Date.......... 2002-04-10
Organisation Name.... teng jing fei
Organisation Address. No.1 Zhongda Plaza Hangzhou,China
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. xiaoshan
Organisation Address. 310003
Organisation Address. zhejiang
Organisation Address. CHINA

Admin Name........... tengjingfei tengjingfei
Admin Address........ No.1 Zhongda Plaza Hangzhou,China
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ xiaoshan
Admin Address........ 310003
Admin Address........ zhejiang
Admin Address........ CHINA
Admin Email.......... tjf@zhongda.com
Admin Phone.......... 0571-5923361
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ Shi Zheng
Tech Address......... 11/F Bldg Fuhua Mansion
Tech Address......... No8 Chaoyangmen North Ave
Tech Address......... Donggcheng Dist
Tech Address......... 100027
Tech Address......... *
Tech Address......... CHINA
Tech Email........... zcy@hichina.com
Tech Phone........... 86 1065546191
Tech Fax............. 861065542377
Name Server.......... dns1.hichina.com
Name Server.......... dns2.hichina.com


Network Whois record
Querying whois.arin.net with "202.101.165.59"...

Querying whois.apnic.net with "202.101.165.59"...

% Rights restricted by copyright. See http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html
% (whois6.apnic.net)

inetnum: 202.101.165.0 - 202.101.165.127
netname: HANGZHOU-DATA-CENTER
descr: Hangzhou Telecommunication corporation Internet Data center
descr: Hangzhou,Zhejiang Province
country: CN
admin-c: CZ61-AP
tech-c: CZ61-AP
mnt-by: MAINT-CHINANET-ZJ
changed: master@dcb.hz.zj.cn 20010405
source: APNIC

person: CHINANET ZJMASTER
address: no 378,yan an road,hangzhou,zhejiang
country: CN
phone: +86-571-7015441
fax-no: +86-571-7027816
e-mail: master@dcb.hz.zj.cn
nic-hdl: CZ61-AP
mnt-by: MAINT-CHINANET-ZJ
changed: master@dcb.hz.zj.cn 20001219
source: APNIC

Shawn (GEcom)
01-05-2002, 06:00 PM
http://www.anbike.com/contact/index.shtml

Check out http://www.gamingexcellence.com/contact/index.shtml

Somehow, I don't think those addresses are valid...

I'll shoot off an e-mail to those addresses. Hopefully, someone can speak English. I don't want to deal with a lawyer if I can avoid it.

-Shawn

JayC
01-05-2002, 06:21 PM
Originally posted by Shawn (GEcom)
shoot off an e-mail to those addresses. Hopefully, someone can speak English. I don't want to deal with a lawyer if I can avoid it.Hopefully you can make enough noise and get them to shut down, but it's clear that they know what they are doing and are doing it intentionally.

I don't know if it'd accomplish anything, but that's a commission junction ad link... you might try contacting the Compliance Department at CJ (fraud@cj.com), and maybe get them to cancel the agreement -- so at least these guys aren't making money off your site. In fact, you might want to try that before contacting the anbike.com people and tipping them off.

I have no clue how they managed to spider the whole site and get all the pages so quickly...There are a number of programs that would make doing that very easy.

Shawn (GEcom)
01-05-2002, 06:33 PM
I've just sent an e-mail to the CJ Legal Dept, and hope they will assist in getting their revenue supply shut off.

MarcD
01-06-2002, 12:35 AM
shawn if u need ne more help
give me an email
marc@gamingmods.com


=)