mhuka
11-10-2000, 05:03 AM
The following is part of an e-mail I got the other day, is this genuine or some kind of scam? I thought I ask you gurus out there, these days its hard to take anything for granted.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
http://www.reservemydotcom.com today.
************ REGISTER/RENEW YOUR OWN DOMAIN NAME TODAY ***********
************************* FOR ONLY $15 ! *************************
*********** Sign Up at http://www.reservemydotcom.com ************************
NOTE: This is an auto-generated email message. Please do not reply.
KDAWebServices
11-10-2000, 05:30 AM
Probably real, only thing is it is also probably for one year only.
mhuka
11-10-2000, 05:46 AM
Are there many Registrars out there with such competitive prices? Any reommendations anyone?
schweiz
11-10-2000, 06:44 AM
You can find many other established registrars offering domain registrations @ this price or even less. dotster.com, 000domains.com, joker.com, gandi.net ... just to name a few.
lets.pretend
11-10-2000, 07:52 AM
Take a look at http://www.icann.org/registrars/accredited-list.html for a list of accredited registrars. I think you'll find quite a lot of registrars with low prices on domains - especially http://www.gandi.net/.
You could also go to http://www.opensrs.com/ and ask to be redirected to one of their resellers. It wouldn't surprise me if the offer you got was from one of their resellers as they pay only $ 10 a year per domain.
Farnsworth & Thomas
11-10-2000, 10:04 AM
I don't see why not.
We pay quite a bit less than that, so now we just give our clients a FREE domain name if they sign up for a year of service (starting at $9.95/mo). Domain Names are quite the commodity these days. I think you'll see more and more of this as time goes by.
I believe that the actual Registrar is charged around $8 for the domain. So reselling it to you for $15 still leaves them with quite a bit of profit.
GordonH
11-10-2000, 11:30 AM
We buy from Joker.com.
You pay 12 euros which is about $10.10 and its a good, reliable service with no need to pay up front in bulk.
If you are prepared to send them money up front they give even cheaper prices.
Gordon
akashik
11-11-2000, 09:23 AM
It's probably quite real as $15 a year isn't all that out of the ordinary (or the cheapest). What they don't tell you is that they are offering something that a lot of other people do... It's kind of like saying "We offer gas at $1.40 a gallon!!", and just not mention that most other gas stations do exactly the same thing.
I've never heard of those guys, and the fact they seemed it a perfectly ok thing to spam you to tell you of their 'wonderful' offer makes me think they aren't worth dealing with.
000domains.com seems to get a lot of good feedback.
joker.com seems to be prefered by some
dotster.com is who I use and have never had a problem
all of which are either equal to or better in price to the one you mention.
Greg Moore
Chicken
11-11-2000, 01:04 PM
Agreed. I don't know why but in general I delete these types of messages even if it interests me. If you choose another registrar, and this is the reason, email 'em letting them know. :)