Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Spammish Signups?


Mitu
08-10-2004, 05:36 AM
Hrm, over the past few days I've started getting lots of "fake signups". For example, all the signup fields contain nothing but a random string of letters like "ydfuhsgdhsghsuh". It's just getting rather annoying!

Do others tend to get this sort of thing as well? I'm just curious. :) I just don't understand why anyone would bother to fill in an entire form with random nonsense. :/

Amdac
08-10-2004, 07:53 AM
They could just be testing your billing scripts, I've done that myself in the past using the word "test". Not yours though. ;)

Mitu
08-10-2004, 09:29 AM
Ah ok, thanks Amdac. I just found it a bit odd!

Oh, and if you don't mind me asking (and if it's not too stupid a question!), exactly what were your reasons for testing billing scripts? :)

webhostingchat
08-10-2004, 09:41 AM
Yes, I was supporting to one fo the client and go lots of fraud orders last week. did they give yahoo email account?

Amdac
08-10-2004, 10:02 AM
Originally posted by mitu
Ah ok, thanks Amdac. I just found it a bit odd!

Oh, and if you don't mind me asking (and if it's not too stupid a question!), exactly what were your reasons for testing billing scripts? :)

I've been trying some of the popular ones to help decide which to use. I'm currently using my own billing script I created. It looks like I'll be switching to whois.cart though, the features seem rather impressive ;)

webhostingchat
08-10-2004, 11:18 AM
Nowdays auto sigunup is danger. We better go with manual creation specially if you signup for a year.

Mitu
08-10-2004, 06:55 PM
Originally posted by webhostingchat
Yes, I was supporting to one fo the client and go lots of fraud orders last week. did they give yahoo email account?

Ah okay, at least I'm not the only one! :) And no, I didn't have any with yahoo email accounts. The email address fields often seem to be random strings of letters as well, although I had one which was a Hotmail address.

VN-Ken
08-11-2004, 04:26 AM
mitu,

We have been receiving many 'spammish'/Fraudulent orders as well, and came to conclude that most are coming from WHT, if not all. We have taken some steps forward to prevent us from getting any more fraud orders, by using VariLogix, which is an Anti-Fraud calling system.

Good luck!

[inx]Olly
08-11-2004, 07:44 AM
Yep,

I'd bet money it's competitors checking out your ordering system.

VN-Ken
08-11-2004, 10:42 AM
mmm, I don't think so. Actually I highly wouldn't even conclude that. But it is possible.

ResellerPlanet
08-11-2004, 12:00 PM
Well I used to have some signups a while ago, with a hotmail address, some fake street address, with a package of $40/month selected. Those damn frauders!

Mitu
08-11-2004, 12:06 PM
Hm, I just got another one. This time most of the fields were filled in correctly (apart from their street address/city/country), although their desired domain name was kazaa.com. Hmmmmmm!

Dacsoft
08-11-2004, 07:43 PM
Originally posted by TheNetway
mmm, I don't think so. Actually I highly wouldn't even conclude that. But it is possible.
I haven't seen too many fraud account use garbage for the email. Without an email account how do they get notified of the account activation? I would bet on people checking out your billilng system - for whatever reason.