
|
View Full Version : Reliable Hosts -- Really???
cpals 12-31-2001, 12:39 AM OK, I posted a thread on here a week or so ago and I have received 4 replies from different webhosts. They all seem to be very well designed and would probably do what I need them to do. However, there are a couple of things bothering me.
1. One of the hosts looks to be a reseller for VO. I noticed since they used the exact same prices page as VO has. Wouldn't it be better just to go straight with the source (Ventures Online)?
2. I did a WHOIS on all of the servers and the earliest of them out of the four was registered in 2000. The rest were all registered in mid or late 2001. Is this risky to go with a host that has been barely in business? Any suggestions on what to do?
Should I list the hosts to see what comments are? I didn't want to point any hosts out now...
Thanks.
Eryxma 12-31-2001, 12:48 AM I rather go straight to the source.
I believe the older the host is the better, new host usually don't last very long, I seen MOST host last 2-3 months some even hit a lucky 6 months and boom gone...and lots of angry customers because they lost money...
Chicken 12-31-2001, 12:57 AM Well, if they do resell for VO, it seems like that is a pretty well liked host, so that is a good sign. The reseller might just be building up accounts on their way to a dedicated server or be able to support you better than the main provider. Not that VO is too shabby, just that the reseller might have 10 customers so it is more like buying from a friend, so to speak.
About registration, while it might be true that they are new, it could also be a new domain. Just a possibility. Anything come up on a search for them? Any referrals from current clients? Good feeling about it? Bad? Acceptable response times?
dbnet 12-31-2001, 01:04 AM Just list the names of the host you are looking at.
And see if you can find info on each one here.....
And sometimes the reseller will offer you more personal help than the main host offers, due to the volume of clients the main host has.
Just watch out for host that have the word unlimited/transfer or space in the plans they offer :D
cpals 12-31-2001, 01:31 AM Since these are the only four hosts that contacted me, I feel it's fair that I look at them first. Listed in no particular order ;)
1. Nirmani (www.nirmani.net)
2. Focal Hosting (www.focalhosting.com)
3. Even Host (www.evenhost.com)
4. Horizon Hosting (www.horizonhosting.co.uk)
Eryxma 12-31-2001, 01:38 AM 1. Not too reliable
2. Too expensive
3. Isn't this the one that ChampionHost stole the layout from, or these people also stole the layout.
4. Looks like donhosts resellers, I am not too sure...
cpals 12-31-2001, 01:43 AM Originally posted by Eryxma
1. Not too reliable
2. Too expensive
3. Isn't this the one that ChampionHost stole the layout from, or these people also stole the layout.
4. Looks like donhosts resellers, I am not too sure...
1. Why do you say not reliable?
2. Did you see their specials: http://www.focalhosting.com/services/specials.shtml
3. Not sure, but VO reseller.
4. Got me...
Eryxma 12-31-2001, 01:45 AM 1. Just because it isn't a company that it is backed up. ONly 1 person running the show not enough customer support yet.
2. Holiday Special 1:
- 5GB Data Transfer
- 400MB Web Space
- 20 POP3 email accounts
- Unlimited forwards, autoresponders, and aliases
- 2 MySQL databases
- 5 Subdomains
- 10 FTP accounts
- Comes with Gift listed below
$14.95/month
$179.95/year
DAMM!!!
Still to expensive.. try valuablehost.com, hostyard.com (my personal fav, in the past)
Relyc 12-31-2001, 02:47 AM Well, trying to get back on topic here:
If you see a company that offers plans that are the same/similar to VOs, I wouldn't necessarily think they are a reseller. Those are well priced plans, and many people offer the same on their own dedicated servers (or more specifically: many people with servers from VO offer the same plans)
As for when the domain was registered, it could be either one, new company, or new name. You could always try contacting the company and asking. If you search elsewhere as well, and find out that they lied about it, simply don't go with them.
(I've emailed you at your WHT email in regard to this thread)
Good luck with your search :)
-Aron Nimani (No connection to nirmani ;))
cpals 12-31-2001, 03:22 AM Originally posted by Eryxma
1. Just because it isn't a company that it is backed up. ONly 1 person running the show not enough customer support yet.
2. Holiday Special 1:
- 5GB Data Transfer
- 400MB Web Space
- 20 POP3 email accounts
- Unlimited forwards, autoresponders, and aliases
- 2 MySQL databases
- 5 Subdomains
- 10 FTP accounts
- Comes with Gift listed below
$14.95/month
$179.95/year
DAMM!!!
Still to expensive.. try valuablehost.com, hostyard.com (my personal fav, in the past)
Regarding Nirmani... where did you hear this? This is a direct quote from an icq chat I had recently with him. We have 5 people full time
Second part of your message... 14.95 isn't that expensive for those features. I was paying a lot more than that for a lot less.
ADEhost 12-31-2001, 03:36 AM Originally posted by Eryxma
2. Too expensive
He might be my competitor, but his prices are well in reason to cover all his cost.
Hey by the way focul guys. that's a nifty site.
Mike.
Eryxma 12-31-2001, 03:45 AM http://www.adehost.com/
Your prices ain't too bad either.
I have seen that server pic before I just can't recollect where....
ADEhost 12-31-2001, 03:48 AM The server picture, How dare you look at my wife and say she is spread out on the net
LOL just kidding
Your going to have to talk to asher. He will know.
but the pricing is in line with long term growth.
Mike
Bogdan 12-31-2001, 05:07 AM ADEHost's design always reminds me of: http://veoweb.net
If it is the same web designer, he must have been out of ideas.
mdrussell 12-31-2001, 06:36 AM Horizon Hosting afaik is not a reseller for donhost...
Asher S 12-31-2001, 09:53 AM About that server. You can see it on dozens of other sites :)
In about 30 if i recall correctly.
cpals 12-31-2001, 11:19 AM Anyone know anything about Nirmani? How come you said their was just one employee? He told me he had 5 working.
Eryxma 12-31-2001, 11:24 AM Hey hey these are my personal opinions... I coudl dig up the facts, but this takes time..
I said that he was a donhost reseller because once I looked at the DNS IP 66.***.**.** and they look like a block from donhost servers.
And as for the other one, the website has grammatical errors, bad design (doesn't matter), but if they have 5 people they could have done better, is that is how much they care about the customer to me it isn't reliable, sounds like if they want money and leave, just as I have seen it before.
Also because the guy has his own little webdesigner link, and to me sounds like a one man deal.
My 3 cents!
Eryxma 12-31-2001, 11:26 AM Man, once I read back my post, they sound horrible and hard to understand, I mean when I type these out they sound good in head. Ohh well I always hated English.
I speak fluently English/Spanish/Korean.
cpals 12-31-2001, 11:45 AM Originally posted by Eryxma
Also because the guy has his own little webdesigner link, and to me sounds like a one man deal.
My 3 cents! [/B]
I'd rather have proof than go on someone's feelings.
The Laughing Cow 12-31-2001, 12:22 PM Hi,
Just noticed this one here,
Thanks voxtreme-matt, You are correct, We are not a Donhost reseller.
allera 12-31-2001, 01:27 PM He might be my competitor, but his prices are well in reason to cover all his cost.
We refuse to lower our prices to the prices of many of our competitors (not all!). Rackspace and quality bandwidth costs money, not to mention the servers and our time and knowledge. :) Even with our 'high' prices we compete pretty well with the other guys.
Hey by the way focul guys. that's a nifty site.
Thank you :)
Chicken 12-31-2001, 02:30 PM Originally posted by Eryxma
Hey hey these are my personal opinions... I coudl dig up the facts, but this takes time..
I think you need to cut back on the 'feelings' posts. Got you in trouble with the last thread (cyberwings), and just posting rumors isn't enough. Please check your facts *before* you post, or skip the thread.
MotleyFool 01-01-2002, 09:24 AM cpals,
Whatever I have read of Focal hosting and also my own almost daily pre-sale interaction with allera [Alex Llera] has been very very good...
I am yet to take a server with them but whenever I have a tech doubt regarding FreeBSD or tinydns or qmail, Alex has spent a lot of time with me clarifying things [my brother often says that teaching a mathematician anything but math is well nigh impossible!] and based on direct personal experience I can heartily recommend Focal Hosting for both a supportive attitude and in depth technical knowledge
Cheers & Happy New Year
Balaji
|