Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : They are a very solid host


sidifi
12-30-2001, 06:30 AM
I have been with your-site for about 2 months now and so far there have been no downtime at all. Their customer service is excellent replying you in no time. Once i email them and them gave me a respond in about 15-30mins. They always answer you in a very friendly way(like a friend) even though my question was so damn stupid. you can view their customer testomnial and visit their site and see how fast it runs.

Nicholas Brown
12-30-2001, 06:51 AM
can you provide a url for your site?
It just seems a little strange that a person wih 1 posts is praising a hosting company that I personally have never heard of, and we are a skeptical bunch on this board ;)

CRA
12-30-2001, 08:37 AM
Originally posted by Nicholas Brown
can you provide a url for your site?
It just seems a little strange that a person wih 1 posts is praising a hosting company that I personally have never heard of, and we are a skeptical bunch on this board ;)

www.your-site.com

Actually, 2 of my friends are using your-site right now, trying to get their various webzines more popular. And one other guy I know used to but doesn't anymore since he didn't bother to maintain and keep his site, but still highly recommends this host.

On these friends recommendations, I would go to your-site -- it's not a bad deal for $5/month and my friends have never had any problems.

But, I'm not going to your-site 'cause I'll want more than 50 MB storage.

I'm with Geocities right now and feel so cramped with the 25 MB I have to work with [1]. Between a written journal, photo journal, and portfolio of multimedia projects I'm doing in school, I'm already figuring I'll need a bit more than 50 MB, and I don't want to be in the position of thinking "Oh, I wish I could add that, too, to the website, but can't" again.

And so, I'm looking for as much as I can get for under $15 and preferably 100-150 MB (or more) storage, but am not worried about bandwidth for now. And so I search on. Aletia sounds like a good deal, but right now, none of my friends use it and all the recommendations I've gotten have been off various websites' forums. ;)



--
[1] I, uh, upgraded my Geocites free account to a paid Pro account before I got the brain to shop around. So it kills me that my friends pay less for their plans than I do for mine and they get more features than me.



--

ebird
12-30-2001, 05:47 PM
Wow, tow people with only one post praise a rarely heard host at the same time. That's suspicious.

By the way, when Nicholas asked for an URL, he meant the url to sidifi's site with that host, not the url to the host.

JG
12-30-2001, 05:52 PM
Originally posted by ebird
By the way, when Nicholas asked for an URL, he meant the url to sidifi's site with that host, not the url to the host.

Could that be his site? :D

ADEhost
12-30-2001, 05:58 PM
I really don't got the gut's but I've got to roll the dice on this

same guy post

4:7 odd's that this is the same guy

IP's will match

I won't go near it.

Ebird made the first call. 2 newbe's on the same tread. I wish I could see the IP addresses

Mike

TimPD
12-30-2001, 06:05 PM
I actually just got a client from your site they suck she didn't like them lol. She said We was MUCH better then them and is glad she is with us :).

hayes
12-30-2001, 06:41 PM
wow, weird how people think that we wont pick up on this.... reading that first post the first thing that came to mind was "well this guy obviously owns this hosting company"....

pretty weak!

BC
12-30-2001, 07:23 PM
Before we all get horribly cynical again..... The IPs of the two new posters are completely different (both of them are half a world apart from each other and nowhere near Canada, which is where Your-Site is based) so I strongly doubt they'd work for Y-S.

Y-S has actually long had an excellent reputation for customer service. Some digging up of threads on usenet://alt.www.webmaster will reveal plenty.

hayes
12-30-2001, 07:34 PM
seems preety weird that they are both new to the forum and have nothing but good things to say about the host, yet have never stated what their website is that is hosted by this company.

As for the IP addresses they could have used safeweb.com or the annoymiser (sp)...... it would not be that hard to hide the IP addresses.

Dont you think it is a little strange?

hayes
12-30-2001, 07:38 PM
are they really based in Canada?
this is the address listed on their site:
YOUR-SITE Virtual Servers
126 Fenn St.
Pittsfield, MA 01201

also does the address info overlap when you look at it? it does for me... http://www.your-site.com/sup-contact.html

BC
12-30-2001, 07:54 PM
They were originally based in Canada when they first started up. They've obviously since moved to MA....

As for the IP addresses, none of them were Anonymiser/Safeweb IPs - one points directly to a major Singaporean ISP, and another one points to a Californian ISP.

I agree it's a bit strange that the two posts are first posts + newbies, but please don't try and sweep all newbies with the same brush. :) I totally understand your point of view, but...

AH-Tina
12-30-2001, 08:14 PM
Your-site.com is not new...they've been around for a long time. I actually had an account with them about 2 years ago - for the sole purpose of testing their customer service. They passed with flying colors and have a pretty good reputation.

I also have had a chance to speak to the owner of your-site.com on a few occasions and I can't imagine him ever posting "reviews" about his company anonymously. This is a very professional company. He has far better things to do than post fake reviews. :)

--Tina

hayes
12-30-2001, 09:49 PM
well there you go......
:)

CRA
12-31-2001, 06:51 AM
Originally posted by hayes
seems preety weird that they are both new to the forum and have nothing but good things to say about the host, yet have never stated what their website is that is hosted by this company.

As for the IP addresses they could have used safeweb.com or the annoymiser (sp)...... it would not be that hard to hide the IP addresses.

Dont you think it is a little strange?

Uh, if you read my post carefully, you'll find that I'm outgrowing Geocities but won't be going to y-s -- going against 3 of my friends (2 still with y-s, 1 didn't want to deal with a website anymore) rave reviews.

If you're curious, my friends sites are dekadamag.com, wigglescape.com, and leadpencil.net. I have another friend who's got flim.com on brainlink.com but I haven't heard him rave about brainlink like I've heard the others rave about y-s. And geocities was fine, but now that I want more than 4 web-pages (geocities.com/carose_yb/applebutter/) with nothing but text and 2 MP3s and 3 pics...

Anyways, I figure: A text-journal won't take that much -- few MBs at the most. But a photo journal of pics will -- I've already got 20 MB of pics and thumbnails for this past year. What if I want to add a few years worth? And a portfolio of student projects might. Depends -- I can present a few MBs of my best stuff, or throw it all in there. And someday I'll also want a database of the couple hundred CDs I own and I have no clue how much space or traffic that'll take up.

Anyways, when I'm done with the rest of my site, I'm looking at oh, 60-100 MB?

CRA
12-31-2001, 06:56 AM
Originally posted by sidifi
I have been with your-site for about 2 months now and so far there have been no downtime at all.

Which reminds me... how do you monitor how much uptime your host has?

I never really cared since all I've ever had was a personal website. But, when I get a portfolio up, I'd really hate for a potential employer to get back to me with, "Uh, I can't access your website."

palmtree
12-31-2001, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by BC
Have a think about this : Programming is like sex. Make a single little mistake, and you'll be supporting it for the rest of your life.

LOL! :stickout

hayes
12-31-2001, 03:39 PM
Originally posted by CRA


Which reminds me... how do you monitor how much uptime your host has?



Try Red Alert!