
|
View Full Version : lightone.net??
Anyone heard of them?? I just talk to their sales. They told me they are managing just less than 400 servers at the moment.
I would like to know if anyone has experience with them and how's network uptime, speed and support?.
ckpeter 12-29-2001, 11:52 PM Well, I don't have a server. But I do have sales experience with them.
I was seriously considering them because of the special deal they had. I email the guy first question just before Christmas, and he replied after two days. I then emailed him another batch of question, and so far I have not receive a response.
I did check their background(whois, network, BBB, and even a map of their location). Everything looks alright.
The things that troubled me was the fact that 1)I have yet to receive a reply, 2)the person has yet to post another thread in WHT, 3)The site, while looks complete, only has two news(?) and a few broken links.
Lastly, I remembered all the horror stories I heard about bad support, so I kind of gave up on them, since my current provider, multipleimage.com, is excellent.
Peter
<edit>
I have been contacted by lightone regarding the validity of my statements.
I went to check the links and there is no broken, which means either 1)I remembered incorrectly, or 2)they have changed the links.
Also, my statement about bad support is not directed against lightone, as I have no server with them. However, it is my personal suspusion that if a host do not reply to messages in timely manner, I tend to not have any confidence in them. This in no way am I implying lightone has bad support, but I merely want to share with you my technique for evaluating a host.
I am not flaming lightone, I personally think that they have a great deal in terms of price.
</edit>
Micheal 12-30-2001, 04:55 AM Yes, Same thing here. I email and PM and don't here nothing back
brieretek 12-31-2001, 02:59 PM I have been a customer for 5 months, and the service is excellent. The uptime is awesome, and customer support is bar none. I am so happy with the service I will definately continue my service with lightone. Maybe that will help you.
Cheers,
ebird 12-31-2001, 03:49 PM May I ask how and when you heard of it, why you decided to go with it and what's your url?
Hope you are not one doing self promotion here.
mdrussell 12-31-2001, 04:04 PM According to his profile, his URL is:
http://www.brieretek.net/
Chicken 12-31-2001, 04:58 PM Originally posted by brieretek
I have been a customer for 5 months, and the service is excellent. The uptime is awesome, and customer support is bar none. I am so happy with the service I will definately continue my service with lightone. Maybe that will help you.
Seems to be exactly that...
Querying whois.gkg.net with "brieretek.net"...
Registrant:
Light Communications Corp
Chris Tibaldo
12130 huron st
#101
Westminster, co 80031
US
303-859-6469
hostmaster@lightened.com
Administrative Contact:
Light Communications Corp
Chris Tibaldo
12130 huron st
#101
Westminster, co 80031
US
303-859-6469
hostmaster@lightened.com
Querying whois.dotster.com with "lightone.net"...
Registrant:
Light Communications Corporation
6638 W Ottawa Ave
Littleton, CO 80128
US
Registrar: Dotster (http://www.dotster.com)
Domain Name: LIGHTONE.NET
Created on: 06-SEP-00
Expires on: 06-SEP-02
Last Updated on: 13-SEP-01
Administrative Contact:
Communications, LightOne support@lightone.net
LightOne Communications
6638 W Ottawa Ave
Littleton, CO 80128
US
800 789-9092
800 789-9092
lightone 12-31-2001, 07:42 PM Well,
Since this has gotten a bit out of hand, I would like to say we offer all of our customers free domains (dedicated customers). They are, however, just registered in our name.
Here is a short list of domains we have bought for our customers:
albinohost.com
brieretek.net
asspounderz.com
meatbook.net
stephenboniface.com
They all are registered using our stuff but when customers cancel, we transfer it over to them.
If you are still skeptical, I would be happy to email you our NDA and with the OK from a few of our customers, we would be happy to give you references.
brieretek 12-31-2001, 07:49 PM As per all of this nonsence, the reason it is registered under his company is due to the fact, he is nice enough to use his own CC# online, as I am unwilling to do so. And as far as the company is concerned I have no complaints and wish you guys would get off his back. He is one of the better customers, who actually keeps hiw word, and when you have a problem he is very prompt and forth comming. If you do not want to go with lightone.net , fine, that is your decision. But lets not knock his name around the groups. Thank you I am done venting,
Cheers,
Chris Briere
ckpeter 12-31-2001, 08:20 PM I take it as you two are both newbie to this forum.
I would like to introduce you to the atmostphere of webhostingtalk: This is a forum which pride itself on having genuine content and discussion. This is not a single spammer who was able to corrupt the forum; the mods are very very strict, protecting the reputation and the spirit of this forum.
All the members are proud of this tradition, and I think you can understand we do get suspicous when we see something not right. And I do apologize if our bahavior seems a bit harsh on you. This is a spirit you will undertand once you become accquanted with the forum.
To me at least, you two have explained yourselves quite nicely, and I have no issue with either of you.
I encouraged you to participate in this forum.
Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com!
Peter
Jedito 12-31-2001, 09:36 PM Originally posted by voxtreme-matt
According to his profile, his URL is:
http://www.brieretek.net/
Probably he host other domain with them too.
Because that domain was created 2 month ago, not 5
Domain Name: BRIERETEK.NET
Created on..............: 02-OCT-2001
Expires on..............: 02-OCT-2002
Record last updated on..: 15-DEC-2001
brieretek 12-31-2001, 09:50 PM Yes, I have other hosts I use with lightone.net , brieretek.net is a new venture I have started.
Cheers,
Chicken 01-01-2002, 12:23 AM Fair enough and thank you for the explation. We sadly have to deal with a few too many companies coming and recommending themselves. They often go to great lengths to make it seem like they are a satisfied customer in order to spam the forum.
Wolfy 01-01-2002, 06:27 AM Originally posted by ckpeter
I went to check the links and there is no broken, which means either 1)I remembered incorrectly, or 2)they have changed the links.
Actually the most of the links on the "Dedicated Services" page are broken at the moment .. /html/services .. seems not to exist.
But that minor problem asside - I did want to say that I was rather impressed with Chris/Lightone's quick reply to my email. I sent a few questions and I recieved a reply in only a few hours - and on New Years day!
Paul_H 01-04-2002, 03:39 PM i am thinking of signing up,
what is the uptime like?
do you provide php and mysql support?
Paul_h@x-kings.com
Varun Shoor 01-04-2002, 04:52 PM I signed up with them, so far the only thing I didnt like was a delay in the second hard disk.
I am in the process of moving my sites over. connectivity and support seems good, the max time it took for my email was 2 hours approx.
But this is too early for me to say stuff, I can give a real answer only after couple of weeks after I test them thoroughly :)
Varun Shoor
How did you sign up with them? They dont seems to have a sign up form and SSL. i still have no clue how I am going to pay them
Varun Shoor 01-04-2002, 05:30 PM Originally posted by Eiv
Varun Shoor
How did you sign up with them? They dont seems to have a sign up form and SSL. i still have no clue how I am going to pay them
Through phone, my partner called them and after we were through with the SLA he gave in the CC info.
|