sodapopinski
12-19-2001, 05:39 AM
Compare http://www.albertahost.com/ and http://deluxehost.com/
Just curious, who copied whom? :rolleyes:
Just curious, who copied whom? :rolleyes:
![]() | View Full Version : who copied who?? sodapopinski 12-19-2001, 05:39 AM Compare http://www.albertahost.com/ and http://deluxehost.com/ Just curious, who copied whom? :rolleyes: iwannabe 12-19-2001, 06:00 AM Whoa:eek: That's outright stealing who ever it is:mad: Seer 12-19-2001, 06:10 AM I'd say Deluxehost. Just look at the logo, the aliased text is usually a good sign they haven't a clue about graphic design. The alberta host one is a lot cleaner looking and has the annoying animation below it as well. Then again, I wouldn't be suprised if they're both copies of some other one. AlaskanWolf 12-19-2001, 06:41 AM I agree, Deluxehost is certainly the thief in this case MarcD 12-19-2001, 06:55 AM maybe championhost has changed names :D cyansmoker 12-19-2001, 07:11 AM Plus, there's a "mouseover" visual effect on Albertahost's menus. Deluxe is most definitely a pathetic copy... pitchford 12-19-2001, 09:02 AM If you look at the table to the right of deleuxehost's web site you'll notice that it is poorly designed... I've never see someone rip an entire SITE! Usually a partial site.... :) clocker1996 12-19-2001, 09:36 AM Originally posted by MarcD maybe championhost has changed names :D LOL fragga 12-19-2001, 09:41 AM Copyright 1999 Alberta Host . All rights reserved. Copyright 2000 deluxeHOST.com . All rights reserved. eagle-eyes fragga imago-allan 12-19-2001, 10:56 AM Huh? Incredible! I tried to see some clue with the whois info. Both are from U.S. Albertahost came first. Well, it has to be the original. And the copyright on Albertahost is 1999 and Deluxehost is 2000. Deluxehost: Record last updated on 18-Nov-2001. Record expires on 01-Jan-2004. Record Created on 01-Jan-2000. Albertahost: Record last updated on 09-Apr-2001. Record expires on 30-Dec-2001. Record created on 30-Dec-1998. Database last updated on 18-Dec-2001 21:11:00 EST. What's the legal implication? If there is no legal contest for so long, I can only conclude that both sites are owned by the same entity under a disguise of two different names. But then again, I may be wrong. :) universal2001 12-19-2001, 12:13 PM deluxeHOST has a secure page for ordering.. AlbertaHost doesnt use any SSL on their order page.. At least deluxeHOST cares about customers confidential info.. lol cperciva 12-19-2001, 12:53 PM Originally posted by sodapopinski Just curious, who copied who? ITYM "who copied whom?" sodapopinski 12-19-2001, 01:17 PM Originally posted by cperciva ITYM "who copied whom?" Ahh..thank you for your notify cperciva. Very sorry since English is not my first language :) jeremiah23 12-19-2001, 01:23 PM I am pretty positive they are the same company, they would have to be, nobody surly would steal an intire site and use it as their own. That would mean that they make championhost look like the patron saint of hosting and design ethics. S2 Web Design 12-19-2001, 02:10 PM I would have to give those two companies the benefit of the doubt until they've made statements themselves. Afterall, Juno.com didn't simply copy Netzero.com. ;) mahinder 12-19-2001, 03:44 PM why don't you guys email them and ask :idea: :blush: appletreats 12-19-2001, 05:26 PM Well they both claim to offer web site design. What happens when you try to get a design from the one who copyed? :spiny: :spiny: :spiny: :spiny: :spiny: EDIT: I realized that the new smile above is much better. mahinder 12-19-2001, 05:35 PM Originally posted by appletreats Well they both claim to offer web site design. What happens when you try to get a design from the one who copyed? :D the one who coppied the web site must be expert in copying and will supply customer with copy of some other web site may be from cnn or something ;) WebmastTroy 12-19-2001, 07:08 PM If I had to guess, I'd choose deluxehost as the one who stole the design...their text in their logo is really etchy, and it seems like if they were going to spend that much time putting those images together for the top that they would have spent more time on their name. I'm with pitchford...I've seen people rip off parts of sites before, but never the ENTIRE design and text. davidb 12-19-2001, 08:07 PM It was either deluxhost, or they are owned by the same people. I hosted with albertahost, over two year ago or so. Thats the same site design. Personally Im suprised they are still up. worldchanger 03-19-2003, 03:45 PM I know this is an extremly OLD post, but to set your minds at ease, Albertahost was the original website. I was there during the creation process of this site. I didn't create it, but I had a hand in picking which design we were going to go with. okihost 03-19-2003, 03:51 PM finally I can sleep at night!! :D sHosts 03-19-2003, 04:00 PM Originally posted by consul Huh? Incredible! I tried to see some clue with the whois info. Both are from U.S. Albertahost came first. Well, it has to be the original. And the copyright on Albertahost is 1999 and Deluxehost is 2000. If it is the same owner, the quality of the design would not be poor on one over the other. Deluxehost: Record last updated on 18-Nov-2001. Record expires on 01-Jan-2004. Record Created on 01-Jan-2000. Albertahost: Record last updated on 09-Apr-2001. Record expires on 30-Dec-2001. Record created on 30-Dec-1998. Database last updated on 18-Dec-2001 21:11:00 EST. What's the legal implication? If there is no legal contest for so long, I can only conclude that both sites are owned by the same entity under a disguise of two different names. But then again, I may be wrong. :) Umbongo 03-19-2003, 04:33 PM You are seeing this page because your account has been temporarily shutdown due to lack of non-payment or a bounced credit card.. Or Another possibility is that you are incorrectly pointing your dns at your registar to this system, or your dns has not yet updated if you recently transferred your domain name. To reactivate your account, go to www.2interactive.com/cc.html to enter payment. Tell us in the description box your account number if you know it, your name, and domain name. 2INTERACTIVE, LLC thats http://deluxhost.com Caffling 03-20-2003, 03:27 AM Umbongo: Try putting a www. before that. Jeffreyw 03-20-2003, 03:47 AM http://www.deluxehost.com/ http://www.albertahost.com/ A little confused here... Mekhu 03-20-2003, 04:11 AM lol, confused because the post is about 2 years old!!! cyansmoker 03-20-2003, 04:56 AM Originally posted by worldchanger I know this is an extremly OLD post, but to set your minds at ease, Albertahost was the original website. I was there during the creation process of this site. I didn't create it, but I had a hand in picking which design we were going to go with. Yeah I was right, yeah! Ionsurge 03-20-2003, 07:11 AM I doubt that it matters now: You are seeing this page because your account has been temporarily shutdown due to lack of non-payment or a bounced credit card.. Or Another possibility is that you are incorrectly pointing your dns at your registar to this system, or your dns has not yet updated if you recently transferred your domain name. To reactivate your account, go to www.2interactive.com/cc.html to enter payment. Tell us in the description box your account number if you know it, your name, and domain name. 2INTERACTIVE, LLC So we can guess that deluxehost.com were the rippers. Aussie Bob 03-20-2003, 07:18 AM Replied to a 2 yr old thread. :blush: :D worldchanger 03-20-2003, 08:53 AM I stated that at the beginning of my post :D Since I noticed the question was never really answered I figured I would answer it ;). BC 03-20-2003, 09:16 AM ... and with that we'll close off the thread. Please start a new thread in future and reference to the old thread instead. I really should start into looking at locking threads older than x months... |