rusla
12-18-2001, 11:42 AM
Date: 12/18/01
Hi!!
First of all, Web Hosting Network would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas!
This is just a quick notice that the person that gained access to the billing area has finally come forward (after almost 2 months)
He had no idea that we found out about him gaining access and that we had already re-secured our network.
We have forwarded the emails we got from him to the FBI, but its very likely they will not do anything because he is located in Russia.
His demands were "If you do not give me what I want, I will contact your customers." Basically he had no idea that we already notified all our customers and closed the security breach. It seems he went from host to host and when they wouldnt meet their demands, he figured he would finally come to us.
If you get any email from this person, we ask you to please forward it to admin@www-hosting.net as soon as possible. Its very unlikely he will try to contact you, but if he does, we are just letting you know.
We would also like to re-reiterate that we have closed the security hole and we have and no intrusions into the billing system since we last notified you a few months ago.
Thanks again for hosting with Web Hosting Network
Web Hosting Network
http://www-hosting.net/
http://forums.www-hosting.net/
http://www.whnsupport.com/
Hi!!
First of all, Web Hosting Network would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas!
This is just a quick notice that the person that gained access to the billing area has finally come forward (after almost 2 months)
He had no idea that we found out about him gaining access and that we had already re-secured our network.
We have forwarded the emails we got from him to the FBI, but its very likely they will not do anything because he is located in Russia.
His demands were "If you do not give me what I want, I will contact your customers." Basically he had no idea that we already notified all our customers and closed the security breach. It seems he went from host to host and when they wouldnt meet their demands, he figured he would finally come to us.
If you get any email from this person, we ask you to please forward it to admin@www-hosting.net as soon as possible. Its very unlikely he will try to contact you, but if he does, we are just letting you know.
We would also like to re-reiterate that we have closed the security hole and we have and no intrusions into the billing system since we last notified you a few months ago.
Thanks again for hosting with Web Hosting Network
Web Hosting Network
http://www-hosting.net/
http://forums.www-hosting.net/
http://www.whnsupport.com/
