Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : wisehost.net spamming WHT members


sqposter
12-18-2001, 04:29 AM
Well it's 3am and I get that faithfull e-mail "ping" so I check to see whom it might be. Oh boy a private message from the people at WHT. OK I'll look at that.

Well it seems that I got a private message for reselling services. I want to post the offender. WiseHost.Net which by the way has no post based on the ranking information on the side.

well it is 3 am and I can't sleep. I have a right to be grouchy :)

SI-Chris
12-18-2001, 05:04 AM
I got the same spam. Apparantly the WiseHost.net people thought it was okay to come to this board, contribute nothing, and spam the members via PM.

Seer
12-18-2001, 06:18 AM
Hm.. Not very wise.. :rolleyes:

XTStrike
12-18-2001, 06:36 AM
WISEHOST.NET

Yes indeed, we thank the members for reporting this, I have changed the topic to make it much easier for members to find info about wisehost.net

A message to wisehost, your attempt was futile, now not only will members come here to ask about your company, but they will come here and carry out a search and find out that you have spammed the boards members. Id say it was a bad move on behalf of the person that carried it out.

mahinder
12-18-2001, 10:16 AM
wow wisehost.net have a great flashyy intro, i like the intro music where did he get it from ? ;)

davidb
12-18-2001, 12:52 PM
I got 2 also. I honestly do not see how anyone would signup with this. Who wants to go from their own servers to be a reseller?

MarcD
12-18-2001, 12:57 PM
Originally posted by mahinder
wow wisehost.net have a great flashyy intro, i like the intro music where did he get it from ? ;)

its swish :D :D :D

SoftWareRevue
12-18-2001, 03:31 PM
Just spammed me on AIM:eek::eek2::eek:

Here's the conversation . . . . .

==============================================
WiseHst Inc: Hi.
o5H: Hello
WiseHst Inc: Was wondering if you were interested in reselling our services.
WiseHst Inc: Http://www.wisehost.net/index.shtml
o5H: nope
WiseHst Inc: Resell information: http://www.wisehost.net/reseller.shtml
o5H: no thanks
WiseHst Inc: Ok. Take Care
o5H: How'd you get my name?
WiseHst Inc: I'm a AOL Instant Messenger Admin. :-)
o5H: That gives you a right to spam users?

=============================================

I say spammers should be banned from this forum. :angry:

JustinK
12-18-2001, 03:38 PM
Unfortunately AIM took the logger away. I got an IM about an hour before I got the Private Message. He was very polite and told me where he got the AIM name from (here). So of course I looked up the username to find he had 0 posts and just signed up yesterday. ::sighs::

Once I got the PM I put him on my red list for good.

sqposter
12-18-2001, 03:42 PM
Is there a 3rd party AIM logger program ??

teck
12-18-2001, 03:43 PM
Banned yesterday.

SoftWareRevue
12-18-2001, 03:45 PM
Originally posted by teck
Banned yesterday. Too bad there isn't a way to ban a spammer before they leach all the IM names. :(

WebmastTroy
12-18-2001, 07:27 PM
...got me too.

Instant messaged me this morning on AIM. Asked me the exact same thing as noted above (with out the AIM Admin part).

(Just found this :D) :spam:

Troy

P.S. Good to hear their banned

Tetraboy
12-18-2001, 09:42 PM
Session Start (AIM - TetraBoyGA:WiseHst Inc): Tue Dec 18 19:19:22 2001
WiseHst Inc: Interested in reselling hosting?
*** Auto-response sent to WiseHst Inc: I'm idling...
WiseHst Inc: Http://www.wisehost.net/reseller.shtml
TetraBoyGA: Uhm where did you get my aim?
TetraBoyGA: ?
TetraBoyGA: I suggest you tell me if you're interested in getting my business.
TetraBoyGA: Guess you don't want it, that sok.
TetraBoyGA: The other places will be glad to let me resell for them.
Session Close (WiseHst Inc): Tue Dec 18 19:24:06 2001


Session Start (AIM - TetraBoyGA:WiseHst Inc): Tue Dec 18 20:05:36 2001
WiseHst Inc: We have a partnership with WebHostingTalk.Com.
TetraBoyGA: ok..
WiseHst Inc: When you create an account and submit you agree to have your information to be forwarded to their partners.
WiseHst Inc: I'm very sorry I took a bit.
WiseHst Inc: Please Understand.
WiseHst Inc: Would you be interested in reselling our hosting services?
WiseHst Inc: We offer Standard & E-Commerce Hosting Services to our Resellers along with our Reseller Panel, and End-User Control Panel for no additional cost.
TetraBoyGA: hold
TetraBoyGA: Right...
TetraBoyGA: It's usual for wht to partner with companies they ban from the board...
TetraBoyGA: And I'm having trouble finding that agreement.
TetraBoyGA: I see nothing about them selling my contact details...
TetraBoyGA: So you just lied to me right? Is that supposed to make me want to buy you're services?
TetraBoyGA: Hmm... Trying to figure out what lie to tell me?\

iwannabe
12-18-2001, 10:06 PM
I got PM, too.

Perhaps they should name themselves UnWiseHost.Net?:D

Cyberpunk
12-18-2001, 10:15 PM
Reward the good, kill the bad!

unwisehost should take time to learn the community spirit in forums b4 going for what is blatantly bad form.

Although given most forums community spirit pale compared to here its still no excuse.

Perhaps if they'd taken the time to look around.............

iwannabe
12-18-2001, 10:23 PM
Why didn't they use Advertisement Forum?

That's what I wanna know:confused:

SoftWareRevue
12-18-2001, 11:41 PM
I wonder if they actually gained from their spamming tactics.
Maybe it is a competitor just trying to make people dislike them.
I didn't like spam out of a can. And I like it even less from a host. :(

sqposter
12-18-2001, 11:52 PM
Boy did this guy open up a can of worms.

I'm gald that I singled him out.

I hope that other out there won't PM me with sales talk

-Sqposter / Michael

BC
12-19-2001, 02:55 AM
Originally posted by Tetraboy
Session Start (AIM - TetraBoyGA:WiseHst Inc): Tue Dec 18 20:05:36 2001
WiseHst Inc: We have a partnership with WebHostingTalk.Com.
TetraBoyGA: ok..
WiseHst Inc: When you create an account and submit you agree to have your information to be forwarded to their partners.


Pardon my frankness, but this guy deserves to be shot, hung and quartered for even claiming to be partnered with WHT.

For any newbies who are wondering, WHT has absolutely no affiliation with WiseHost, and never will, after this little saga. We do not pass out member info or the like to anyone at all and never will.

fragga
12-19-2001, 09:48 AM
Paging YourHostSucks, please proceed to this topic.

:uzi:wisehost:smash:

Cyberpunk
12-19-2001, 09:14 PM
SoftWareRevue has a good point, anyone know was it definately wisehost or someone looking to tarnish?

If it was, you might be getting the idea it was a bad move.....

SoftWareRevue
12-19-2001, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by Cyberpunk
SoftWareRevue has a good point, anyone know was it definately wisehost or someone looking to tarnish?

If it was, you might be getting the idea it was a bad move..... Well, just for clarification I asked through their on line form if they had someone from their organization with the username WiseHst Inc on AIM (the user that SPAMMED me).
They wrote back to say that he is them. :eek:

thewitt
12-19-2001, 11:38 PM
Now there's an interesting conversation.

"Hey you, jerk. Did you just SPAM me over on WHT?"
"Yeah, that was me. Wanna buy my service?"

:)

-t

Freedom
12-20-2001, 02:25 AM
Originally posted by fragga
Paging YourHostSucks, please proceed to this topic.

:uzi:wisehost:smash:


lol, someone linked me here. Now I see why...
This is definitely an Unacceptable action to be taken by anyone (host or not)....
This guy is obviously some yokel spammer more nocuous to his cause than good.
I would really pray people do not fall victim to such a host.

fragga
12-20-2001, 02:49 AM
Originally posted by YourHostSuck



lol, someone linked me here. Now I see why...


:D

XTStrike
12-20-2001, 05:23 AM
ok, i think this thread has had the intended effect, word should get around pretty quickly now :)

Its never the best thing for a business to have their name tarnished on WHT in this way.