Recently i stumbled upon this site:
http://www.cari.net/S_P/s_p.html
For $50.00 a month membership they allow you to resale all of those services at wholesale pricing and you choose the markup. Im really no interested in reselling there service, but signing up just to have those prices available to myself.
Has anyone had any experience with this company?
netsolutions
12-15-2001, 05:09 AM
It almost sounds to good to be true. Although they are owned by host2own which is a pretty big company
sqposter
12-15-2001, 06:09 AM
I think I found a catch but I'm not sure
1) section :6 subsection: bandwidth
if I'm right it's gig-bits not gig-bytes
so if I'm right then it is 1.00 per gigabyte
2) Miscellaneous Terms : t-1 local loop still is chargeable
i think it applies to everything else but the cab's
and it seems that it's only avbalible in CA
-Sqposter / Michael
Originally posted by jdp29053
Has anyone had any experience with this company?
I've not actually used cari.net's service before, but I've run into their service/abuse department after complaining about a website (www.greetking.*) that was hosted on one of their servers.
At first, they claimed that they'd removed the website from their servers. I replied saying that it was still there. They then asked me to perform an ns lookup on www.greetking.net and observe that it was no longer hosted by their company. I replied saying that it did indeed resolve to their name space, and that it was still responding and serving up the spamming site. They then apologised and said that the domain was already on their network a few months back, and that they removed him then. The spammer had opened another account with cari.net and was continuing their business practices! They said they'd take measures to prevent this from happening in the future.
The domain remained on their servers, and remained active, so I wrote to them with a formal notice of my intent to nominate them to the Real Time Blacklist. They responded saying that they had resolved the situation by removing the site from their network.
Of course, the site remained up, active, and running within their network. I wrote to inform them about this, cc'ing level3's abuse team to tell them about this too. Cari.net replied saying that they'd removed the spammer 3 times (!) and each time, he'd gone back and signed up for another server. They also claimed that they'd sent this information to the FBI, who were going to look into what they could do about the spam site.
After this, the greetking.net domain changed and started pointing to a verio ip address, so there ended my interaction with cari.net's service/abuse team.
None of this has any bearing on their ability to host websites or provide you with cheap rackspace and bandwidth, but...
P.S. i hounded verio about this for a while, then had more important things to do -- had already spent 2 weeks with cari.net.
P.P.S. woot! finally, my 100th post! I'm now a WHT addict, hehe.
gabeosx
12-15-2001, 09:17 AM
They also own www.sdcolo.com which has 10 and 100mbit switched lines to cabinets for really cheap.
archangel777
12-15-2001, 03:39 PM
Originally posted by gabeosx
They also own www.sdcolo.com which has 10 and 100mbit switched lines to cabinets for really cheap.
The T-1's are only available in the San Diego area. Also, the 10 and 100 Mbps lines are Cogent... I've seen better deals. The only great deal I see from them are their T-1 lines.