Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : SHAME on this company


mahinder
12-13-2001, 02:52 PM
Just have a look at this

http://*************/show_company.asp?id=50

you will find all reviews are comming from one ip address.

:mad:

SoftWareRevue
12-13-2001, 02:54 PM
Strange.

pcsteve
12-13-2001, 03:06 PM
Too bad the address is blocked.

:rolleyes:

mahinder
12-13-2001, 04:37 PM
*****
is

host - dir . com

pcsteve
12-13-2001, 04:58 PM
Oh i see now.

This is the same reason hostseach.com took down their review section. It's sad some hosts fake their reviews, but i guess in such a competitive industry it's bound to happen.

:o :rolleyes:

jeremiah23
12-13-2001, 05:10 PM
That is hilarious, at least he has good grammer, and really nice writing skills. I can't believe somebody would go to that much of an effort to do this, I couldn't find a link to their site, I would like to call them and congratualte them on the good work they have done ruining the honesty and integrity of the webhosting Industry.

Rewdog
12-13-2001, 05:16 PM
Hmm, lookey what is posted as a review now ;)

S2 Web Design
12-13-2001, 05:26 PM
Did he not see that his IP was being logged? :eek:

pcsteve
12-13-2001, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by Rewdog
Hmm, lookey what is posted as a review now ;)

Oh Rewdog.... :emlaugh:

jeremiah23
12-13-2001, 06:16 PM
I don't know what you guys are talking about :)

I posted my reviews of them and took a look at their butt ugly site



------------------------------------------
http://www.coastlandtech.com
Where we put the stupid in stupidity

sqposter
12-14-2001, 01:33 AM
I had to add one. It's just not right. so I did something "special"

-sqposter/ michael

Dahlia
12-14-2001, 03:28 AM
maybe i am just stupid (and after working all day and not sleeping much.. i do get pretty lame) but i don't see what you all are talking about.. what i thought was that the reviews probably came from their clients.. but the host posted them.

if you look at the email addys from the people the reviews came from.. most of the domains are hosted at Coastland Technologies since the final hop when you trace their domains goes to ns.coastlandtech.com (maybe i am being dumb and this doesn't even prove anything.. the host could have just registered all those domains to make them point to their servers afterall i guess). :rolleyes:

i just did a few, but as you can see some are real... i think...

http://www.msbask.com (trace (http://amail.co.uk/cgi-bin/atrace.pl?ip1=www.msbask.com&who=YES) - posted by Barbara--strange thing the links on her site are hosted on an AOL account :o)
http://www.quadgrafix.com (trace (http://amail.co.uk/cgi-bin/atrace.pl?ip1=www.quadgrafix.com&who=YES) - Hector Gonzalez--nice site)

you guys still think its a host trying to fake everyone out?

JustinK
12-14-2001, 03:37 AM
Be that it or not, it should be the clients posting and choosing which number to put, not that host.

Dahlia
12-14-2001, 03:59 AM
yeah, that's true.. or the host could have already had the ratings (using a similar system) on their own site.. so they knew before-hand and probably just didn't want to bug their clients and make them re-rate them over and over on all the hosting directories they are listed in. or the host could have just not been thinking (when you think you aren't doing anything wrong you usually don't think of all the possibilities of what others might think or do... especially that another hosting company would be pointing it out to the world (or just here at webhostingtalk) that the IP for all the reviews came from the same person (which anyone with eyes can see for themselves, even the hosting company who made them, im sure)...

who knows if this host is a scumbag or just a host that didn't think.. either way, all of you that posted in his review section about the IPs or the more colorful one which was just a fake review... you just did something really mean without really checking into things first. i just think its wrong that webhosts would post over there against another host for no good reason.. kind of like what chicken brought up here in the lounge earlier in another thread.. too many hosts trying to burn other hosts just to get ahead or for whatever reasons.. :( we all should try to play nice. :stickout

this is all just my dorky opinion.. i'm tired and you all may really have seen something that i just don't see right now. :cartman:

JustinK
12-14-2001, 04:29 AM
Originally posted by Dahlia
yeah, that's true.. or the host could have already had the ratings (using a similar system) on their own site.. so they knew before-hand and probably just didn't want to bug their clients and make them re-rate them over and over on all the hosting directories they are listed in.

But with this method it sure is awfully handy for the host to pick and choose reviews and magically give themselves all 10's instead of possible 8/9's or other info. Anyway, we'll see how mr/ms. posts-a-lot-of-reviews handles it when they find a sudden burst of other people reviewing them.

mahinder
12-14-2001, 06:07 AM
I don't want to offend coastlandtech but posting reviews like this is not a good business practice. The review section is built for the customers of hosting companies to post there experiences, themselves and not for the hosting company. :(

One time my customer sent me testimonial so I requested him to post it on hostsearch so that others can see. He told me to post that review on hostsearch but I did not, why ?. Simple, I could have ranked my review as 10 because it was from me and it would have been most disgusting point for reader, if somebody make out that I made this review. :o

Also, I did not post any thing about coastlandtech on host - dir .com web site. I just wanted to make into this in attention of my friends at WHT as we generally do in Lounge. ;)

Skeptical
12-14-2001, 09:16 AM
*Me wonders what all the fuss is about. I don't even know what the url is for heaven's sake* :(

SoftWareRevue
12-14-2001, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by Skeptical
*Me wonders what all the fuss is about. I don't even know what the url is for heaven's sake* :( You have to go to the site mentioned earlier and look.