okihost
06-16-2004, 08:26 PM
As I have been on WHT today I notice they have ads to quit smoking, spyware stopper and for some tanning sun lotion lol, I am wondering if these are legit or if this PC is running spyware that is somehow changing the banners on me?
Nullified
06-16-2004, 08:37 PM
You must have some spyware. I haven't seen any and have been online at WHT alot in the past week. I, actually, don't think I've ever seen any ads that aren't it related.
jasonkw
06-16-2004, 09:43 PM
None of those ads over here.
JKLIVIN
06-17-2004, 11:07 AM
We aren't running anything like that; has to be some type of spyware.
okihost
06-17-2004, 07:40 PM
Thanks for all of your help, I had just never seen any spyware that could change things like that before so I guess they are getting even worse. I ended up being infected pretty bad and this was the 'family' PC so the kids use it alot and this is not the first time so after learning from past experiences I made an image for this PC and it only takes about 20 minutes to reimage it when it happens.
Thanks again
Senthu@BM
06-18-2004, 12:10 AM
I just seen one banner for a dating service.
anon-e-mouse
06-18-2004, 01:12 AM
Yes I got it too :eek: It took a while to load. It is for friendfinder.
P3RPL3XITY
06-18-2004, 02:35 AM
Yea, I got the dating banner too. Strange to have a dating site trying to have exposure in a different field!
anon-e-mouse
06-18-2004, 02:57 AM
Some of the dudes who post here hardly ever see the sunshine, so to go on a date would be even rarer :P
Senthu@BM
06-18-2004, 03:05 AM
I was going to post this..hahah..
Christina
06-18-2004, 05:13 AM
spam stopper? sun tan lotion?
umm.....all I ever see is "servers this...1000gb that...First 3 months..$1...." ads for hosting.... hm.
JKLIVIN
06-18-2004, 11:01 AM
You may see a few Friendfinder.com banners, those would be running across the network currently, but no tanning or anything else that has been mentioned. I figured some of you guys/gals might benefit from it ;)
jheslop1
06-18-2004, 11:03 AM
Originally posted by JKLIVIN
You may see a few Friendfinder.com banners, those would be running across the network currently, but no tanning or anything else that has been mentioned. I figured some of you guys/gals might benefit from it ;)
thanks for clearing that up, i thought i was going mad :rolleyes:
but Friendfinder.com :eek:
Nullified
06-18-2004, 11:07 AM
they have many friendfinder sites. adultfriendfinder.com is one...
Gen-T
06-18-2004, 02:33 PM
Originally posted by anon-e-mouse
Some of the dudes who post here hardly ever see the sunshine, so to go on a date would be even rarer :P
Ohhhhhhh......
Mouse: 1
TheRestOfUs: 0/ZERO
:bawling:
Mark_TVI
06-18-2004, 02:40 PM
Originally posted by Gen-T
Ohhhhhhh......
Mouse: 1
TheRestOfUs: 0/ZERO
:bawling: No kidding!
I guess changing "dudes" to "chicks" would be cheating and unoriginal....:D