CallMeJ
12-09-2001, 10:13 PM
I just received a spam. I only looked at the headers because it is a relatively new email that hasn't really been anywhere. I noticed something very disturbing, referencing another site on my server.
Details...
-----------------------------------------------------------
Return-Path: <email-address>
Received: from idefix.rossmann.com (mail.lavancelle.rossmann.com [165.46.210.30])
by [ANOTHER-DOMAIN-ON-THE-SAME-SERVER].com (9.10.6/9.10.6) with ESMTP id fBA5LUT13635
for <[EMAIL-ADDRESS-THE-SPAM-WENT-TO]>; Sun, 9 Dec 2001 19:21:31 -0600
Received: from mta.excite.com (1Cust184.tnt26.dfw9.da.uu.net [63.75.179.154]) by idefix.rossmann.com with SMTP (Microsoft Exchange Internet Mail Service Version 5.5.2650.21)
id YJSFXJ62; Mon, 10 Dec 2001 02:19:29 +0100
Message-ID: <00000a462d0f$000064f3$0000485b@mta.excite.com>
To: <Buy-Click>
From: email-address
Subject: $10.00 off CD's, DVD's CFA
-------------------------------------------------------------
WTF?
I've just suspended [ANOTHER-DOMAIN-ON-THE-SAME-SERVER].com because I fear it has been compromised. Am I right?
What else should I do?
Details...
-----------------------------------------------------------
Return-Path: <email-address>
Received: from idefix.rossmann.com (mail.lavancelle.rossmann.com [165.46.210.30])
by [ANOTHER-DOMAIN-ON-THE-SAME-SERVER].com (9.10.6/9.10.6) with ESMTP id fBA5LUT13635
for <[EMAIL-ADDRESS-THE-SPAM-WENT-TO]>; Sun, 9 Dec 2001 19:21:31 -0600
Received: from mta.excite.com (1Cust184.tnt26.dfw9.da.uu.net [63.75.179.154]) by idefix.rossmann.com with SMTP (Microsoft Exchange Internet Mail Service Version 5.5.2650.21)
id YJSFXJ62; Mon, 10 Dec 2001 02:19:29 +0100
Message-ID: <00000a462d0f$000064f3$0000485b@mta.excite.com>
To: <Buy-Click>
From: email-address
Subject: $10.00 off CD's, DVD's CFA
-------------------------------------------------------------
WTF?
I've just suspended [ANOTHER-DOMAIN-ON-THE-SAME-SERVER].com because I fear it has been compromised. Am I right?
What else should I do?
