Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Stolen Web Design


StevieP
12-06-2001, 07:04 PM
Take a look at the copy at www.360board.com

then take a look at www.carbonbb.com and www.carbonscripts.com

360board just started using it on the 29th carbonbb had it for a long time.

thats bad.. very bad

Rewdog
12-06-2001, 07:05 PM
That bar is the same, but otherwise its not that bad. I'm not saying its right, there has just been MUCH more blatant copies.

jic
12-06-2001, 09:47 PM
Taking the layout of your site is not illegal but taking your images would be. If he stole your images then you get him otherwise your kinda SOL.

:(

cmoats
12-06-2001, 09:50 PM
Hi eveybody,
Ya I have seen things like this all the time. In the past we have had a lot of people stealing bits and pieces of our site and noc photos all the time.

Chris
Cobalt Racks.

Grog
12-06-2001, 09:58 PM
If you think that is bad look at www.bidbay.com.

Domenico
12-07-2001, 10:09 AM
I think 360board made it better and to be honest I really don't care if it is done this way.

We all get our inspiration and I only find it disturbing if they do a 100% copy including not working links and other things and the only thing they change is the logo.

I see copied layouts every day and what about this forum? Do you think it's layout is so original? ;-)

What I just want to say is that I don't care.

alchiba
12-07-2001, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by cmoats
In the past we have had a lot of people stealing bits and pieces of our site and noc photos all the time.

LOL. I can see why. Your "hurricane specials" page is great. Looking at that top image, the music from "Jaws" started playing in my head.

steve1228
12-07-2001, 11:18 AM
I was really bored last night and went to check out the stolen site. I saw this in their forums and I couldn't resist replying to their post:

360Board has recently undergone a site makeover that we believe reflects our company's image much more correctly.

I replied with:

If that is the case then you are all a bunch of copy cats.

Take a look at www.carbonbb.com and www.carbonscripts.com

Both of these sites have been up for months and they have just about the same layout, links, images as your new site.

Try and be original guys!


I went back to look at the post today and not only was my post deleted but they deleted my username along with the pages that mail the forum password and registration page. :emlaugh:


Steve

bullsquirrel
12-07-2001, 05:35 PM
Originally posted by Grog
If you think that is bad look at www.bidbay.com. I've seen that before...I wonder how they can get away with such blatant copying??! :confused:

Angel78
12-07-2001, 06:06 PM
Originally posted by steve1228
I was really bored last night and went to check out the stolen site. I saw this in their forums and I couldn't resist replying to their post:



I replied with:

If that is the case then you are all a bunch of copy cats.

Take a look at www.carbonbb.com and www.carbonscripts.com

Both of these sites have been up for months and they have just about the same layout, links, images as your new site.

Try and be original guys!


I went back to look at the post today and not only was my post deleted but they deleted my username along with the pages that mail the forum password and registration page. :emlaugh:


Steve

up for months?

Registrar: Go Daddy Software (http://registrar.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: CARBONBB.COM
Created on: 02-Dec-01

Varun Shoor
12-07-2001, 08:41 PM
Originally posted by Angel78


up for months?

Registrar: Go Daddy Software (http://registrar.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: CARBONBB.COM
Created on: 02-Dec-01

Interesting hehe, but the only thing I find similar is the top bar.. now the question is who ripped it off and from whom? because as he says 360board launched on 29th and those 2 domains were regged on 2nd dec.

bigmattyh
12-08-2001, 12:41 PM
I guess you could say that the site is a...

CARBON COPY!!!!

HA HA HA HA HA! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!! HA HA HA!!
Ha ha ha... hee hee. whoo.

Varun Shoor
12-08-2001, 01:38 PM
Originally posted by bigmattyh
CARBON COPY!!!!

:laugh:

ebo
12-08-2001, 05:48 PM
lol, either way, whoever got 'inspiration' from who, 360board looks alot better. Plus, like other people said, there have been much more blatant 'carbon copys' :) Like ChampionHost! Arent thos guys just great? :)