Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Could I have been taken for a ride by inic?


ranger
12-01-2001, 12:09 PM
I ventured into unknown waters and think I made a big mistake. After having many problems with Network Solutions concerning my registration, I went to a site called inic.org (thinking it was internic.org....geesh!) and initiated a transfer to them -- giving my credit card of course.

Inic does not seem to be an approved registrar, yet only creates the impression by displaying the internic logo on the site.

Of course I've heard nothing back from them for days and the company seems to be a mail box with an answering machine. The domain is registered by Joker.com, which is owned by a company in germany called CSL GmbH. After reachign them on the phone, they requested a letter, which I sent.

Still no answers yet. Is Inic.com a scam?

Pilgrim
12-01-2001, 12:26 PM
Hmm, strange setup. If you click on "transfer my domain" you are taken to the page secure.cnchost.com So it looks like they are resellers for cnchost.com

But when you lookup the page cnchost.com you are automatically taken to xo.com

Xo does not appear to have a reseller program AND sells domainnames for $ 20.- Which makes it kind of hard for inic.org to sell them for $ 12.50 and make a profit.

You could try sending an email to tcwaite@cris.com That is the email address of the owner of the domainname inic.org

Joker.com has nothing to do with it. They are just the registrar for the domainname cnchost.com

ranger
12-01-2001, 02:43 PM
Thanks for taking the time to look into this.

Yes, joker.com seems to be only the registrar.

CNChost the server, which is XO.com, also is cris.com.

Waite does not seem to have anything to do with cris.com either. Perhaps they have given him a mail forwarding.

But it all looks strange and may need to be reported. No way could they be selling domains for 12.50, or whatever it is.
I will give it a little time.

What do you mean, icq him?

Could my credit card number given now be used for fraud. Or was the information that I am looking for a new regitrar given out to others for soliciting? Should I be paranoid now?

Pilgrim
12-01-2001, 04:35 PM
I see now why you thought they were related to joker.com. They copied Jokers TOS to the letter and didn't even bother to change the contact information.

You can add concentric.net to the list of domainnames that point to xo.com btw.

Mr Waite should know something about the domain....he is paying for it.

domain: inic.org
status: production
origin-c: tcwaite@cris.com#1
owner: todd waite
email: tcwaite@cris.com#1
address: 2419 Mackinaw
city: Saginaw
state: MI
postal-code: 48602
country: US
admin-c: info@inic.org#0
tech-c: hostmaster@cncx.com#0
billing-c: tcwaite@cris.com#0
nserver: ns1.cnchost.com
nserver: ns2.cnchost.com

I wouldn't be paranoid about the creditcard yet, but the whole setup has an ugly feel about it. (not to mention they charge you $ 5.- each time they change the DNS for you)

I would contact XO about this. cnchost.com, inic.org, concentric.net all end up at xo.com

Also, the admin contact for cnchost.com is hostmaster@xohost.com so there is definatly a relation.

And if you go to www.xohost.com you go to.....you guessed it. xo.com

I bet you are one of the few ppl on this earth right now who wish their domainname was hosted by Netsol again :(

Call xo. 408-817-2800

ranger
12-01-2001, 06:27 PM
You bet, confused and awful as netsol is, at least they are legit and not crooks.

I pieced this togetehr and it does have the "smell" of the scam. I think they are also sellign my e-mail.

Meanwhile I contacted absuse@xo.com with the details. They seem to want to be on top of mususe (or abuse) of their name and services.


As for Mr. Wait? I've got his number.

Pilgrim, you've got a nice site an too bad I did not contact you first when moving my host. Maybe for another project I've got in mind.

Thanks for your feedback and the reality check.