Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Solusonline are scamming people [warning]...


LowCostGroup
05-21-2004, 04:10 AM
The company I do web development for part time received a phone call yesterday from a "domain name registra". They claimed that someone across in Germany had tried to register 12 domain names that incorporated their company name.

They were offering to register the domains on our behalf. Its a scam that I hadnt heard of / seen before, tell a company that theres someone else wanting domains to do with them to try and get them to register unrequired domains through you :angry:

The company in question is;

Solus Online Ltd,
5th Floor,
166-167 St Helens Rd,
SWANSEA. SA1 4DQ.
Tel : 0871 750 5951
Fax : 0871 750 5952
www.solusonline.net

I did a few checks on them;

1. They are registered with companies house, at the same address.
2. Website is hosted with Homestead (a free hosting place), why don’t they have proper hosting?
3. Email address is btconnect.com, why don’t they have a proper email address.
4. Their website looks like something a carpet fly could put together.
5. Their domain check facility doesn’t work.

Just thought I should post this on here in case any of the users that check these forums looking for recomendations/reviews of companies run a search for Solus online.

Ta :)

honestman
05-21-2004, 04:37 AM
Thank them and register the domains with your favorite registrar:rofl:

LowCostGroup
05-21-2004, 05:07 AM
Not going to bother registering the domains they claim are being put through, merely as I dont think there is a risk of them being taken. Oh you want to know the other funny thing? 12 domains for 10 years, they wanted £4800... I almost passed out with all the laughing!

honestman
05-21-2004, 05:25 AM
means £40 or $68.00 per domain per year What a nice offer :rofl:

£4800 = 1174 domains at eNom
Why don't you register names that incorporated their company name . and sell then sell back to them, but be kindhearted please ,sell them back for £30 per domain / a year :rofl:

LowCostGroup
05-21-2004, 06:27 AM
I know, tis damn funny :D

kohashi
05-21-2004, 07:40 AM
thanks for the heads up :)

Techno
05-21-2004, 09:45 PM
I heard something like this few years ago but they were targetting inividuals warning them that their name - bobsmith.com or similar was about to be taken and they had to grab it fast.

Jeffreyw
05-22-2004, 06:40 PM
Just look at the prices. http://solus.homestead.com/prod~ie4.html

Is this a spoof site or a serious scam site?

Bashar
05-23-2004, 03:04 AM
:rofl:

what a way to collect credit cards and use em for fraud.
they should use cheaper pricing to attract more dump users to buy from them :P

LowCostGroup
05-25-2004, 03:25 AM
I think the prices are that high as they are targetting mainly businesses.

Postmaster
05-25-2004, 05:33 AM
Ridiculous....