Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Hmmmm ...... could it be the cheapest dedicated around?


aaronx88
10-25-2000, 09:16 PM
I found the company thru Tommie post.

http://server-source.net

MUST GO AND SEE AT THEIR PLANS ... it seems to good to be true

aaron

War
10-25-2000, 09:35 PM
Linux Server Special
• Single Intel Celeron 600 MHz
• Unix / Apache OS **
• 128 KB cache
• 64 MB RAM
• 15 GB ATA/66
• 100 MBps Bay Networks Ethernet Card
• 32-Bit PCI Graphics Adapter w/ 2 MB RAM
• 8 IP Addresses
• 20 GB Transfer Per Month
• Pre-Installed Software
• Dedicated Server Warranty
• $1200 per year + $0 startup
• Requires 2 Year Pre Pay Contract


Hmmm $100 a month well I would not expect much for $100 a month and to be stuck paying that for 2 years

I would stay clear of this being stuck in a contract for 2 years is not a good thing if there service is not as good as they say.

Dylan
10-25-2000, 09:52 PM
Now why on earth do you start another thread?
There is already a thread for this wacked out deal.

sodapopinski
10-26-2000, 12:10 AM
http://server-source.net > IP Address: 64.177.29.3
Uhmm..their uplink provider is Alabanza.

US$ 100.00/mo?? Sounds too good to be true

Soda

Bogdan
10-26-2000, 12:51 AM
Their layout looks like http://hbwarez.com

cbaker17
10-26-2000, 11:27 PM
There are a couple of huge things that stand out when I look at this company.

1. THEY HAVE NO PHONE NUMBER, why would you want to go with any company you can not get ahold of on the phone.

2. They have been spamming some users of this group.

3. I checked on what hardware they use for their servers and its generic...

4. They offered 507 free IP address's to one of my customers if he would switch, Its hard enough for us ISPs to get 256 IP's much less for one server to get 507 IP's

5. Alabanza host, if they have their own facility to colocate why our they hosting at Alabaza

They are lying either way you look at it.

It irritates me to no end.

CRego3D
10-26-2000, 11:35 PM
naaa ... HBWarez looks ALLOT BETTER ;)

UNIXIELHOST
10-27-2000, 12:08 AM
even I can see they took the guy's face picture from ***** which is copyrighted. hmmm

http://www.*****.com/?zone=products/home thats where the pix is coming from

plus they copied the EXACT format of server words from *****.com dedicated server page, go take a look!

or or or or a ***** reseller? ya never know

beware of this

JTY
10-27-2000, 01:30 AM
As far as monthly fees go, http://www.server4me.com/ has the lowest i've seen.

kunal
10-27-2000, 08:21 AM
THEY SEND EMAILS WITH A VIRUS!!!!!! I spent the whole of yesterday trying to get rid of the virus from my POP account, without loosing all email. I finally did, this morning.

Mirco
10-27-2000, 05:29 PM
you mean it looks like microsoft's corp website :)

webfors
10-28-2000, 07:36 PM
hahahahahahaha :stickout

it has stolen pics from *****, uses the MS corporate template and servers have the exact configuration of ***** servers. I'm sorry if this sounds mean, but did someone do this as a joke?? Seriously??

[Edited by tabernack on 10-28-2000 at 07:39 PM]

SpeedyServe
11-10-2000, 03:49 AM
This account has been disabled..
To have the account restored, contact Customer Service.

That is what I get when I go to their site right now.

Chicken
11-10-2000, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by SpeedyServe
This account has been disabled..
To have the account restored, contact Customer Service.

That is what I get when I go to their site right now.

Yes, it seems server-source.net isn't off to a flying start. Ohhh well.