Defender1
11-24-2001, 08:14 AM
Has anyone ever heard of these two hosts?
If so, what are you opinions of them?
www.websitecreations.net
www.featureprice.com
If so, what are you opinions of them?
www.websitecreations.net
www.featureprice.com
![]() | View Full Version : Websitecreations and Featureprice Defender1 11-24-2001, 08:14 AM Has anyone ever heard of these two hosts? If so, what are you opinions of them? www.websitecreations.net www.featureprice.com Peeps 11-24-2001, 04:10 PM Stay away from featureprice. They stink in service. I see they have redeisgned their pages. If anyone is swayed by this little gem, they should get a lesson in Web Hosting 101. "We do not provide cheap "virtual hosting" or "virtual server" solutions as many of our competitors do. Here you get FULL PHYSICAL HOSTING. What does this mean? This means that with this physical hosting account you will be able to host your very own domain name: www.yourname.com Explore the benefits of physical hosting! Your website will be reachable via both http://www.yourname.com as well as http://yourname.com. You will not have to carry our name in your website's address - your website address will ONLY show www.yourname.com. In addition to that you will get your very own FTP server at ftp.yourname.com and your very own mailserver for email services at mail.yourname.com (includes SMTP services). " From http://www.featureprice.com/?c=2&p=6#details Don't ever go with a host that insults your intelligence or tries to differentiate themselves from everyone else by making it seem that the others aren't providing exactly the same service. Virtual hosting is exactly what they do. Just for that piece alone you should look elsewhere. Chicken 11-24-2001, 07:55 PM Originally posted by Peeps "We do not provide cheap "virtual hosting" or "virtual server" solutions as many of our competitors do. Here you get FULL PHYSICAL HOSTING. Explore the benefits of physical hosting! Your website will be reachable via both http://www.yourname.com as well as http://yourname.com. Here you get FULL FEATURED QUADRALITIC x9000 SUPER-MAMA-TOAD HOT-N-SWEATY PHYSICALplus HOSTING. What does this mean? Heck, we don't know, but it sure sounds good, don'it? If you ACT NOW, you will get not only youname.com but we'll also throw in www.yourname.com FREE! Hurry, this offer ends soon, and if you miss out, www will be an additional $9.95/mo. Don't walk, RUN to the phone! Operators are standing by. Explore the benefits of FULL FEATURED QUADRALITIC x9000 SUPER-MAMA-TOAD HOT-N-SWEATY PHYSICALplus HOSTING today! Sorry, normally I wouldn't write this, it is a joke, ha ha hee hee nudge nudge, I could just swear I've seen this on an infomercial at 2 a.m. muppie 11-24-2001, 08:10 PM Originally posted by Chicken Hurry, this offer ends soon, and if you miss out, www will be an additional $9.95/mo. Don't walk, RUN to the phone! Operators are standing by. L-M-F-A-O :D :D :D Defender1 11-25-2001, 12:31 AM Besides they're poor advertising schemes, what problems are there with their hosting? The 500 meg plan looks pretty good to the naked eye. JeremyL 11-25-2001, 12:37 AM I have not hosted with them but I know someone they bought out who now works for them. They have major $$$ to spend on advertising and are filling up about a full server a day in signups from what the person I know says. Peeps 11-25-2001, 01:11 AM "filling up about a full server a day in signups from what the person I know says" Sure they are. Do a search on google groups for featureprice. Look at their spam, first, from earlier this year. Then take a close look at "unlimited". Anybody here can tell you it doesn't exist. Lies in one area do not compensate for antyhing else. http://www.hostspot.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000470.html http://www.hostsearch.com/board/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=1022&FORUM_ID=3&CAT_ID=3&Topic_Title=Never+host+with+www%2Efeatureprice%2Ecom&Forum_Title=Web+Hosts+Comments+%26+Reviews http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10466 http://www.sitepointforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=33669&highlight=featureprice http://www.sitepointforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=11803&highlight=featureprice http://www.freewebspace.net/forums/showthread.php?threadid=384&perpage=15&pagenumber=2 Oh, and one more, Defender1. Then we can all ask you why you're asking about them when you say in the thread below that you've moved over to them in October. http://www.sitepointforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=35837&highlight=featureprice JeremyL 11-25-2001, 01:47 AM I never said I could vouch for the service they provide but they are doing that much business. Up until a little while ago you go do a search for "web hosting" and find them #1 or #2 with verio at the top advertised there. Peeps 11-25-2001, 02:53 AM Um, being #1 or #2 in some list on a search doesn't mean anything. I for one don't believe for a second that they are filling a server a day. They would be a major player like Interland or Verio or somebody if they were and would be adding six thousand clients a month if that were the case (based on a very conservative 200 clients a server times 30 days). That would be 72000 clients in a year. Even ***** only claims 125000 clients on their site. JeremyL 11-25-2001, 03:00 AM Originally posted by Peeps Um, being #1 or #2 in some list on a search doesn't mean anything. I for one don't believe for a second that they are filling a server a day. They would be a major player like Interland or Verio or somebody if they were and would be adding six thousand clients a month if that were the case (based on a very conservative 200 clients a server times 30 days). That would be 72000 clients in a year. Even ***** only claims 125000 clients on their site. OK don't believe it. I'm not gonna argue. But they weren't #1 or #2 on a search listing. I am talking the top ad spots on google that cost big $$$. All I know is my friend has no reason to lie about it and they are definitally a major player if they have an advertising budget large enough to spend almost $5 per click on goto.com for the term Web Hosting. They are probably paying a few thousand dollars a day for GoTo alone. If you can affrord that you are definitally selling a huge amount of accounts. Peeps 11-25-2001, 03:09 AM Tell that to all the dot coms that went bust by blowing through absurd amounts of money. "They spend a lot of money on advertising ergo they are getting a lot of business" fails basic logic. But, hey, believe what you like. Another funny thing about these guys. In addition to the funny quote from their site about not providing cheap "virtual hosting", I'd have to ask why they call it just that on the left hand side of their page with the other navigation buttons. Hilarious, and contradictions do not make for a good impression. :emlaugh: Defender1 11-25-2001, 07:10 AM I never said i didn't host with them. I just wanted to know your opinions on the hosts. I used to be on websitecreations, but the tech support SUCKED big time. mdrussell 11-25-2001, 07:47 AM Defender - the general consensus is not to go with Featureprice, but yet again Peeps has taken this subject off topic, and as per usual is causing trouble. abacoian 03-26-2002, 07:40 PM I just found these forums today because I looked at gearhost and thought they were great, but posted for some feedback first. After I found this forum I decided to see if there were any posts on feature price, my current host for over a year. Feature price is fast, friendly support, a seperate control panel for each extra domain. I was looking at gearhost only because their packages are cheaper for hosting more than one domain, but I see that for now I should stay with feature price who I trust because I've been with them for soon to be two years. If there is a reliable host with cheaper prices that hosts four domains with seperate control panels let me know. Happy with feature price, Ian |