Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : How to tell if it's a webhost or reseller?


Lain
11-21-2001, 12:34 PM
I don't know if this should go in the Resellers' Forum or not. I want to know how you can tell if a person is a webhost or a reseller.

One of the message boards I go to, a large majority of the members are girls, especially new domain owners. There is a forum where they ask for suggestions on a good webhost. There is an individual by the name of "Timmy" who, every time a member asks for good webhost suggestions, plugs his "business" paradise-designs.net In addition to plugging his site, he also bashes the other webhosts the other girls suggest. A great deal of the domains are hosted by Hostrocket, and he says HR sucks. He has nothing to back up what he says. It's all hearsay. On the other hand, I am a current client of HR, and I can offer my experience with them.

Now one of his current clients posted a request in the Hosting forum, asking for someone to host her domain, because hers is always down.

To which Timmy replies
"listen, it is not my fault. We emailed registerclub the domain registar about this. They're saying the system is refusing the ips why I don't know for sure. They're going to put them directly in the system instead of the way they did with the automatic system. It is not mine. It is the registar. They're working on it so it will be changed. It will be taken care of hopefully today."

I ask the person if paradise-designs was a reseller, and she said:
"no its a stupid hosting service. (a scam.) among other things. i know someone else who left p-d.net with me. so its not JUST me."

Timmy replies:
"It is not a scam. No we're not a reseller we have a Dedicated Server. We not a scam. I have other clients that you can ask. Yes amy from TaintedJayne left cause she got sick of waiting on the dns changed and among a few little things. Try us out if you want you get a 7 day trial and 30day money back guartee so. If you don't like get your money back geesh."

My experience with this individual:
Months ago, I encountered him over AIM when I was at school. I didn't know he was Timmy at the time. I thought he was some teenybopper. He told me he got my name from the board (I was an admin then). He was harassing me to help him with the chromeless window script, even though I never have used that script before. Finally, I don't hear from him again.

I forgot all about him until I opened geek-chic.net. At the time Athena and I were excited about starting the e-zine (now that project is dead). We put up a list of available positions, one being advertising editor. He IMed me, saying he wanted to be in charge of advertising. I told him I'd have to discuss it with Athena. Then he said that I didn't have to, that Athena already said that he could be an editor.I know Athena would never do that, and later on my hunch was right. Athena IMs me, saying if some guy named Webmonster86 tries to IM me, block him. Too late, I told her. I already blocked three of his names. In that time he had hinted that not only did he wanted to be part of our design team (which was by invite only) but he also had the gall to ask to be an editor-in-chief and an admin on our forums!

My experience with this person has caused me to take every word he says with a grain of salt.

It is my opinion that he is taking advantage of the new domain owner's ignorance of hosting. The problem is, how can I back up what I'm saying? How do I know for sure that he is a reseller, not on a dedicated server, as he claims? It's my word against his.

netsolutions
11-21-2001, 01:09 PM
Next time just put the question.

I don't know if this should go in the Resellers' Forum or not. I want to know how you can tell if a person is a webhost or a reseller.

The best way I can think of doing this is a trace route. Another way is check the DNS to see if it's their own name servers. If they are that doesn't yet mean their a real host. Check to see if they offer other services like collocation, dedicated hosting. Most resellers won't offer these services. Finally if you really want to know, ask them. Most of the time they will be honest.

El Nino
11-21-2001, 02:19 PM
Originally posted by Lain
I don't know if this should go in the Resellers' Forum or not. I want to know how you can tell if a person is a webhost or a reseller.
....
"It is not a scam. No we're not a reseller we have a Dedicated Server.

In that case, he's got a dedicated server from OLM

Chicken
11-21-2001, 02:30 PM
Timmy seems to use the services of Burst.net and OLM.net though I can't tell you if he's a reseller or if he has servers through these companies (or resellers of these companies).

otherground
11-21-2001, 04:42 PM
top tips on how to spot a reseller:

1. their site sucks

2. they offer "photo repair", as well as web hosting

3. 90% of the links on the site do not work

4. All clients listed in the "Portfolio" section are hosted on free servers

5. The "about us" section is under "redevelopment"


i think it is safe to say Timmy is not an Enterprise Level Hosting Provider

Brian Farkas
11-21-2001, 05:28 PM
Looks like they do have a dedicated server... You can usually telnet to port 25 (the SMTP port) and that will usually display the host name. If they are reselling, the host name would generally be different than their domain name. In this case, however, the host name is paradise-designs.paradise-designs.net and the IP block points to OLM... So as El Nino said, he probably has a server from OLM.

Bradman
11-21-2001, 05:57 PM
The best way to tell if they are a reseller is if 1. They have the options for you to lease/buy a dedicated server. 2nd if they have a good reseller plan. 3rd which is typically the easiest if there links are working there dns nameservers are torwards them and of course if they carry atleast average support.

DeLaNo
11-21-2001, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by otherground
top tips on how to spot a reseller:

1. their site sucks

2. they offer "photo repair", as well as web hosting

3. 90% of the links on the site do not work

4. All clients listed in the "Portfolio" section are hosted on free servers

5. The "about us" section is under "redevelopment"


i think it is safe to say Timmy is not an Enterprise Level Hosting Provider
lol :D i thought you're kidding, but after visiting....if thats a webhost then i'm the president of the usa....
:stickout

TimPD
11-23-2001, 02:49 AM
ok. This is how it is.

I was on OLM.net with a shared server. We was growing and we had to mvoe into a dedicated away from olm due to some problems we was having and the enism we didn't like it. I found out about burst read what I seen here about them and dedicated to try them. They have been great to us so far. We moved all sites to burst net dedicated. I emailed registerclub.com the registar provider of paradise-designs.net and the nameservers. When they was changing the nameserver ip to burst they was having trouble. The system was refusing the ip. Ok. This is not my fault. I was going to move ips but I figured it would be alot of trouble so I called them and got them to tell me exactly what was wrong and why it wasn't changing. 66.96.214.210 the new ip they was saying was in use by ns1.globalhostingcenter.com. It was back sometime ago but now I own it. Now the nameservers are finally resolving after fighting them. Therefore it wasn't my fault. I did everything in the world I could do to get it working. Didn't work. Finally they forced the entry to the registar system and got it working. But please don't say it was all my fault. read everything here that happened. This is exactly how it happened also. RegisterClub was having trouble getting it to change. Not my fault. Please understand. Thank You for your time and reading this....