Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : 'interland' just sent me a domain notice...


Spurvus
11-16-2001, 06:41 PM
...that says my domain is ABOUT TO EXPIRE. I checked with NetSol (ugh) and they say: Feb. 28 2002. I've heard of Interland before, they send me ads about their hosting monthly. Yeah, as a hosting seller I sure need a good host, because I wouldn't dare host with myself! j/k, of course... :D So my question is, can I trash the letter? NetSol has sent me renewal letters in the past, and I expect they will send me one this time. Unless of course Interland ("A Network Solutions Alliance Partner!!!!!") has decided they will be taking my cash... So anyway. Letter in trash?

Jason Ellis
11-16-2001, 07:41 PM
You can safely trash the letter and wait until you get an invoice from NetSol.

If you read the fine print, chances are by renewing your domain name with Interland you also give them the right to transfer your web site to their hosting service. We've had a number of customers hit by this - some of which didn't even know about it until they contacted us for support and we had to break it to them that their web site wasn't on our servers anymore.

It looks like a legitimate invoice, so if a company has an accounting department that is separate from the IT department, the accounting people pay it and it leaves the IT people to fix the mess later.

<personal opinion>
I don't like to speak ill of my competitors, but it is perhaps the most dodgy, sleaziest marketing campaign I've ever seen, and I hope enough complaints get sent to the FTC that they slap Interland down so hard they'll think their feet are stapled to the floor.
</personal opinion>

Anyway - trash it. It's meaningless.

Jason

Chicken
11-16-2001, 11:54 PM
Originally posted by Jason Ellis
<personal opinion>
I don't like to speak ill of my competitors, but it is perhaps the most dodgy, sleaziest marketing campaign I've ever seen, and I hope enough complaints get sent to the FTC that they slap Interland down so hard they'll think their feet are stapled to the floor.
</personal opinion>

Jason, I have to agree. This ad campaign is purposely misleading and made to look like an invoice from NetSol. How NetSol would allow their name to be on this one is beyond me. One thing I find particularly possibly fraudulent is that if you transfer your domain away from NetSol, you *still* get this same invoice looking renewal statement.

If you have Sprint long distance, it si like MCI sending you a bill for that month, and if you mistakenly pay it, they switch your long distance. Really low, down, and dirty, sleezy marketing.

MarcD
11-17-2001, 07:12 AM
o man register.com is the worst for that
last year i had mabye 150-200 domains which i was listed as the owner and each one they decided to send me mail on. it was horrible had to pick mail up at post office a couple times
and when i called they said i had to give them each .com individually over the phone to be removed from the mailing list
ya right.

after a few well placed calls i recieved a nice apology phone call from them and was promised i would never recieve any more mail